Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Pleasant hotel near city centre

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Small, quiet, friendly
Cons: As noted above, the hot water system may need attention.
Location: City centre location near many restaurants, pubs, and shops. The hotel is a 15-minute taxi ride from Highclere Castle, where Downton Abbey was filmed.
The Chequers was well located and friendly. It has an in-house restaurant and a small, quiet bar. Staff were helpful in arranging taxis and providing local information. We would give it a higher rating except for one issue--on one of the mornings we were there we had no hot water in the shower--the warmest we could get was somewhere short of lukewarm. When we mentioned this at reception, the young man explained that the hotel kept the water temperature sufficiently low to avoid dangerous burns; however, this is obviously not an acceptable explanation for the absence of anything close to hot water. The next morning it was fine--we guessed that the system simply couldn't handle the number of people who may have been using showers at that particular time of day. Nevertheless, the hotel is a pleasant, traditional facility within walking distance of many restaurants, pubs, shops, and the pedestrian areas of the city centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex

Nice hotel in central Newbury. Worst restaurant me

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Room, décor, staff, bar.
Cons: Restaurant menu atrocious!!! Burgers, chips, past Bolognese and garlic bread, not exactly fine dining!!!
Location: Highclere House, Kennet and Avon Canal. Luckily Newbury town boasts lots of nice restaurants!!!
Room was large twin room with large en-suite. Loveley, really liked it. Comfy and clean even had iron and ironing board.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel good location but very very tired.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Have stayed there 3 times before but this visit, room smelt musty and bathroom smelt of stale urine, we was given an apology and a much better room. A heater replaced central heating but bathroom was cold as radiator was not on. Will look for another hotel next time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice location in the town centre

Posted Apr 7, 2017
It's time that the hotel was refurbished as paintwork needs attention as well as the shower needs upgrading as it's too ancient and doesn't operate properly. The breakfast was a joke and wasn't worth what was paid. Furniture is also in need of replacing as it's all too old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Town centre

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Staff were brilliant and friendly. Sorted my early check in without question. Nothing was too much trouble. Very very comfy bed. Large room, lovely bathroom and perfectly clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Close to the town

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel is situated close to the town with a good sized free car park. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable.
Cons: The fabric of the room was rather tired.
Location: Location is good for access to the town. We were visiting family so did not look for things to do but the hotel had lots of information if needed
My husband and I were visiting Newbury to see an elderly relative and booked an overnight stay at The Chequers. We booked room only for a very acceptable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Near to where I was working the following day

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: close to town centre
Cons: Lift to upper floors
Location: only slept there overnoght
Adequate for business stay. / good breakfast pleasant staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chequers Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Have visited several times. Always a good experience. We were given room 210 this time and found the steps in the room quite dangerous as we are in our 70s. Also radiator wasn't working. Luckily it was a warm weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to shops

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: most things
Cons: change detectors in rooms to less sensitive device
Location: town centre
very nice hotel very quite quite old so creaky floor boards smoke detectors in bedrooms very sensitive went off when boiling kettle but apart from that excellent
1 out of 5
by John

Horrible

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Paintwork is chipped and flaking. Carpets are bare. Dirt is everywhere. If you enjoy impersonal service grunted your way by awful, awful staff, then visit the Chequers Hotel. I really enjoyed the way the single-glazed windows let both the cold, and the noise of the traffic, into the hotel. Bar, restaurant and rooms. No, not enjoyed. Hated. I really hated the way the single-glazed windows let both the cold, and the noise of the traffic, into the hotel. Bar, restaurant and rooms. I stood in the empty bar for ten minutes waiting for service. Then when a staff member finally came in, she seemed unhappy I wanted serving. Then she seemed perplexed when I wanted to pay by card. She excused herself for a couple of minutes and retrieved, what must have been, the only card reader in the hotel from wherever it was hiding. There was more atmosphere in the Apollo 13 after it got busted up. The tv in my room is either really far away or really tiny. Turns out it's both. A 20" screen and three entire bed lengths away from the head of the bed. I can't actually make out the guide from the bed it's that small and far away. Which leads me nicely to the only positive - the bedrooms are quite large. But dirty. There were hairs in the bathtub. Grim. And in need of decoration and repair. I daren't look at the mattress too closely. I'm sleeping on the floor.