Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gravesend, Kent

Super hotel and serviced apartments in the centre

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Serviced apartment meant we weren't tied to restaurant meals or eating times and could do simple things as and when we wanted to.
Cons: Signage and directions to the car park, not much else needs changing.
Location: Hotel is located very centrally so lots nearby like the the Oracle shopping centre and the great restaurants and cinema at the Riverside there.
I was looking for somewhere to stay in Reading over the exceptionally busy August Bank Holiday weekend...exceptionally busy due to the Reading Music Festival that my kids were going to. Found rooms available at this hotel at HALF the price of the local Premier Inn. Booked a two bedroom serviced apartment. The apartment was excellent, with 2 bathrooms, and a separate toilet, large kitchen and lounge, and two large double bedrooms. All hotel facilities were available to guests in the apartments e.g. room service. Some small niggles - extractor fans weren't working (one of the two was fixed after we raised the issue), fan in the corner of the room was broken, 2 seater sofa and one armchair meant of the party had to sit on a kitchen chair, difficult to find the car park at the back of the hotel - but these did not detract from the overall enjoyment of our short stay. Some lovely little touches like a coffee machine (rather than just a kettle) and a dishwasher (if you needed it).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Coast, UK

Nice hotel adjoining the Forbury Gardens.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The decor, the quiet atmosphere, the proximity to transport and the river Thames.
Cons: At breakfast the piped radio seemed to be predominantly about football. Some music played at low volume may be preferable for some people.
Location: The adjacent Forbury Gardens are the site of Reading Abbey, built by Henry 1, the first son of William the Conquerer. Boat trips on the Thames.
The quietly impressive entrance to the hotel is a faithful indication of the hotel's overall quality. The mostly young staff were a pleasure to deal with; occasional signs of inexperience forgivable. Our room was inviting and pleasantly appointed. It was a pleasure to return to after a day's outing. Our included breakfast, served on large plates, was of good quality and well prepared.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Nice quiet 5 star

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Wow This was definitely five star hotel.as good as advertised...would go again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Good location, short walk to city centre.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Great location and near to The Oricle Shopping Centre, just five minute walk.
We arrived for a two night stay in July for our daughters graduation. The room wasn't ready on our arrival, we were given complementary drinks in the bar, after an hour and ahalf our room was finally ready. Very spacious two bed roomed apartment, two very nice bathrooms. Lounge furniture needed updating, the sofa was very worn. Cleaning staff had left the dish washer on with all the dirty pots from previous occupant. The sheets on both beds had rips in them. The hotel was very nice, but we were in the apartments which are situated at the back of the hotel, I do feel our apartment was not five star. Parking was on site and £20 per day. The staff that we had cause to speak to were very pleasant and helpful. Overall a lovely hotel, great location, but in my view the apartment needed some TLC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Initially bumpy but worked out well in the end

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The professionalism of the management and staff to make things right and the care and attention we received. Definitely 5-Star treatment.
Cons: Improved communication between the hotel and Expedia regarding reservations made.
Location: The hotel is in an excellent location on Forbury Park close to the railway, town center and library. Shout out to Thai Corner at 47 West St.!
We had problems during check-in. The room rate on the check-in sheet was significantly higher that the rate paid in advance to Expedia. After I showed my copy of the reservation and the amount paid, it was explained that someone had entered the wrong figure and a correction was made to show the original room rate paid. Once this was cleared up and I was feeling secure that we wouldn't be charged additional money, we were taken to our room in the main hotel only to find that they had placed the three of us in single room with a king sized bed. Nice as the room was, it was not the 2-bedroom apartment we had reserved. So, back to the reception desk we went. Management came out to state that there had been a miscommunication between the hotel and the booking agent. However, they apologized and took full responsibility for the error, and they made things right by placing us in their 2-bedroom Penthouse Suite in the modern building at the rear of the hotel. Despite our initial and worrisome problems during check-in, our stay turned out to be an excellent one. The Penthouse Suite met all of our needs and then some with it's fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, sauna, claw foot bathtub, wonderfully comfortable beds, and spacious living and balcony areas! The staff we interacted with were very professional in their conduct and care. In particular, I would like to thank the gentleman who came to help us figure out how to make the oven turn on. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff, service and facilities .
Cons: More reliable WI FI
We stayed for one night in the apartments to the rear of the hotel. The service was excellent . The apartment was outstanding and we would definitely stay there again . Thanks Forbury for a brilliant experience .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The apartments were excellent. Nice and roomy, great kitchen
5 out of 5
by Nian from Ipswich

very good hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
very good, deserve the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel but the staff service is lacking

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very English
Cons: Staff quality in general, employee high quality recognised service people that can understand English.
Location: Good location for business in reading and train station.
The staff don't match the quality of the Hotel, most a imagrient workers. The restaurant service is just not there, the cleaning quality varies from day to day. Sometimes towels are missing, cleaning cloths left in the room. No water replaced. The restaurant food quality (in room) varies the same club sandwich went from being great one day to awful the next day.
4 out of 5
by Alex from Welwyn garden city

For one night stay, it's ok

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment was nice there were signs that it could do with a few renovations, plus my key didn't work which was really bad.