Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Amazing!! Beautiful room in a lovely setting. Staff where very accomadating and professional. The restaurant we had a great start to the meal, I would highly recommend the goats cheese salad the peacan nuts where perfect a well balanced dish every component was perfect unfortunately that's where it ended, my fillet steak was over cooked I asked for medium rare it came medium well garlic mash under seasoned spinach to salty and was the jus and the chocolate dessert was ok but to much going on the while thing was bland it looks like mains and dessert the presentation was more important then the flavour and marriage of food. But that said it was far from terrible but I just expected more as the starter was perfect in everyway as was everything else in the hotel. Will definitely go back!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointed!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Location okay
We paid for the forbury but stayed in a building that was a mini high rise away from hotel. Apartment was dirty. Waited over an hour for a table for dinner after being told 30 mins, had to chase the waiter up. Lots of spare tables. Disappointing as this was our 1year anniversary and wanted something special. This was not special in the slightest
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We stayed in one of the apartments and it was gorgeous! The staff were friendly and very helpful as well. There were, however, some small details that needed to be addressed such as a leaky facet and broken lamp. I spoke with the staff at check-out and they were very receptive of the feedback and I got the impression things would be sorted for the next guest. We also had a slight issue with billing at check out, but again the staff were quick to fix the error! These little things are the only reason I haven't given our stay a full 5/5. I would highly recommend staying here though as we had a really lovely stay!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gravesend, Kent

Super hotel and serviced apartments in the centre

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Serviced apartment meant we weren't tied to restaurant meals or eating times and could do simple things as and when we wanted to.
Cons: Signage and directions to the car park, not much else needs changing.
Location: Hotel is located very centrally so lots nearby like the the Oracle shopping centre and the great restaurants and cinema at the Riverside there.
I was looking for somewhere to stay in Reading over the exceptionally busy August Bank Holiday weekend...exceptionally busy due to the Reading Music Festival that my kids were going to. Found rooms available at this hotel at HALF the price of the local Premier Inn. Booked a two bedroom serviced apartment. The apartment was excellent, with 2 bathrooms, and a separate toilet, large kitchen and lounge, and two large double bedrooms. All hotel facilities were available to guests in the apartments e.g. room service. Some small niggles - extractor fans weren't working (one of the two was fixed after we raised the issue), fan in the corner of the room was broken, 2 seater sofa and one armchair meant of the party had to sit on a kitchen chair, difficult to find the car park at the back of the hotel - but these did not detract from the overall enjoyment of our short stay. Some lovely little touches like a coffee machine (rather than just a kettle) and a dishwasher (if you needed it).
4 out of 5
by Hollie from Newport Pagnell

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
We booked an apartment but were told we were upgraded to a superior room, not sure which would be better as the room we had was fairly small but very well furnished, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious but very dark as was the room with dark furnishings and dark wood. A little disappointing there was no milk for the tea and coffee but other than that the room was lovely. My only gripe was I called ahead to ask for a recommendation for a pub/restaurant for a good Sunday roast, I was told either a weather spoons or the hotel restaurant, we booked a table in the hotel restaurant only to be told they do not do Sunday roasts once we had sat down, please keep your reception team up to date with local knowledge/restaurant knowledge
5 out of 5
by Darren from Oswestry

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant and convenient
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Coast, UK

Nice hotel adjoining the Forbury Gardens.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The decor, the quiet atmosphere, the proximity to transport and the river Thames.
Cons: At breakfast the piped radio seemed to be predominantly about football. Some music played at low volume may be preferable for some people.
Location: The adjacent Forbury Gardens are the site of Reading Abbey, built by Henry 1, the first son of William the Conquerer. Boat trips on the Thames.
The quietly impressive entrance to the hotel is a faithful indication of the hotel's overall quality. The mostly young staff were a pleasure to deal with; occasional signs of inexperience forgivable. Our room was inviting and pleasantly appointed. It was a pleasure to return to after a day's outing. Our included breakfast, served on large plates, was of good quality and well prepared.
5 out of 5
by Felix

Excellent Hotel - Great Family Appartment

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
We got a 2 room apartment perfect for familes. 2.5 bath! Kitchen, living room , over 1000 SQ ft. Breakfast was excellent. Location is perfect in center of town
4 out of 5
by David from Newport/Casnewydd

Almost perfect

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
There were only tiny things wrong with this apartment; the curtains in the back bedroom didn't fully close (though I think this may have been an inadvertent piece of minor damage from my husband), and the toilet in the en-suite attached to that bedroom had some odd draining behaviour. Those, however, are very small criticisms. The apartment was extremely spacious, and while some might complain the apartment block is a separate building without the "romantic glamour" of the older one, I knew this coming in and frankly preferred the modern aesthetic (even though this stay was for our wedding day!) Furthermore, it meant that we could stay with my husband's mother (and father, were he not unable to make the trip for health reasons) in one apartment, for a combined cost in the same bracket as two remotely decent hotel rooms in this notoriously expensive place for weeknight accommodation. The apartments aren't always that affordable, and I'm not sure I could recommend them when the price spikes. But with the space, location, and service - our wedding cake was delivered to reception, staff informed me as such when they spotted me on the lovely balcony, and even carried the awkward box into the apartment! - I'd certainly suggest that anyone staying in Reading start their search here.