Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Mill Theatre evening

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Within easy walking distance to theatre.
Cons: Breakfast at the Coppa Club was disappointing. Marmalade unavailable for our toast and croissant and coffee refills slow to arrive.
Location: Attractive location
Very large, newly reburshished bedroom of a high standard, not expected for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queensland Australia

Good hotel on the river bank

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location, right on the river bank. The staff, friendly and helpful.
Location: Good location for walks along the riverbank. We took the river boat from Sonning to Henley for a day out. This is an excellent day out.
Enjoyed staying here. Large well appointed room in a quiet part of the building. The hotel is currently undergoing a major building project but this did not detract from our stay. From check in to departure the staff were helpful and professional. The hotel restaurant, The Coppa Club, serves excellent meals at breakfast and in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham , lincs

Handy for the mill at Sonning

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Thats a good question , i've thought about it , but nothing comes to mind that could have improved our stay .
Location: We have family in Camberley and Reading , so very handy for visiting both .
I think that the staff have probably been the most friendly we have ever come across , and i have travelled to Australia , States , europe and the Philippines . I will definitely come back and probably bring some more family with us .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Little find

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Cons: Nicer soaps etc
Excellent hotel with really good restaurant next door in which we had dinner. Breakfast was first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Very nice stay breakfast was great like the refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful english countryside.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Reception, room, situation all excellent. Restaurant/bar very good, with excellent menu. Breakfast had plenty of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales. UK

Lovely Riverside Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: It's location by the river & in nice quaint old town. Lovely refurbishment. Very large bedroom with en suite in the Clock Tower building. Free parking
Cons: Feel strongly quality the tea & the toast at breakfast let down an excellent hotel & restaurant. Did not sample dinner but menu looked interesting!
Location: Own agenda for the stay but enjoyed a walk in the gardens & by river. Excellent Indian Restaurant though we walked through the graveyard to access it!
Large hotel, which I believe had been modernised fairly recently, on the bank of the Thames in the lovely old village of Sonning. The hotel has a very smart decor, is comfortable, clean & extremely welcoming. with free parking. Only disappointments were at breakfast where the toast was exceptionally hard (white & brown) & very difficult to eat! Also, the tea was served in special infusion teapots which were not suitable for teabags of a very poor quality, resulting in a very weak, insipid nectar!! However, the orange juice, porridge & the smoked salmon with scrambled egg are to be highly recommended!!! Lol Had super weekend enhanced by the reduced price deal which also included the breakfast - a real bargain!!! We shall definitely return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Under renovation

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The rooms were a good size. The location was beautiful. The staff very courteous. I unfortunately stayed in a room right next to the traffic lights on a hot night and needed to keep the window open. Only settled down when the traffic subsided. Quite late. The curtains didn't quite shut out the light from the traffic which beamed around the room. Workmen Were very evident from 7am onwards. Breakfast was disappointingly minimal even for premises without a kitchen. They could most definitely have been more creative with the spread. They could have a added some fresh fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cold meats for instance. The bathroom soaps were so very drying I couldn't use them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character in perfect position

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Very reasonable rates considering the standard of service, the location and the quality of the food
Cons: The evening dining room
Location: Sonning is a pretty village adjacent to the Thames. It has a lovely church, an old inn, an Asian restaurant, and it's great for walks along the river
My wife and I stayed at this hotel whilst visiting our daughter, her partner and our new granddaughter. It's situated in Sonning, a village full of charm and character on the banks of the Thames. My wife and I had no trouble locating the hotel, it had plenty of parking, the reception staff were very welcoming and efficient and once we arrived at our room we were pleasantly surprised by it's spaciousness, cleanliness and comfort. It has a 3 star rating, but we think that is an injustice. 4 star at least in our opinion. we breakfasted twice during our stay, once, "full English", and once "continental". Both were delicious and were served in a lovely dining room overlooking the gardens next to the river. We ate dinner on just one evening, and this is where our only negative comment comes in. It was served in a small room at one end of the property on what appeared to be "cafe" type tables. Perhaps they don't get many in for dinner? and consider this room adequate. The food was excellent and the service, superb We would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Great location

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Location, size of room, friendly staff
Cons: As often the case in hotels, the cups were not clean - obviously just rinsed out under the tap.
Location: Lovely location, right on the Thames and Thames path
Booked last minute as going to The Mill and didn't want to drive home. Had great room in the Clock Tower. We did worry that it might be noisy as we were next to the lift, but we didn't hear a thing. We only ate breakfast which was good - especially as we sat looking out onto the Thames.