Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely situation on the Thames

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The outdoor dining area
I had expected a top rated room but don't think we got it. My husband had mobility issues but we were allocated a room at about the farthest point from reception. Not what we were expecting but it was OK for 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

excellent option for heathrow on the thames

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: could use a room safe
Location: Boat rides, windsor castle great place for day tripping to south/southwest of England if you have a car.
Beautiful setting on the banks of the Thames. Food reasonably priced and very helpful staff. This was my second stay will definitely use again. By the way I visit UK often to visit family. This is my Hotel of Choice for before departure back to US. like a mini vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nothern ireland

beautiful old world hotel on axing grounds

Posted Aug 7, 2015
we stayed at this hotel in the east wing woth our 4yr old and 10month old was worried that it would be a bit fancy for the children but they loved it and the staff where so friendly and courteous with the kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Lovely grounds not sure rooms were as good as were expecting
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overwhelmed by summer weddings

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The place itself is fun - and the set of some classic British movies.
Cons: Separating the large crowd, individual traveler experiences would be good.
It's a lovely place, set in big grounds bordering the Thames. The old house has been decorated with care, and the new wings - which are large - are well appointed, if a bit characterless. So you can see why folks choose it for big wedding parties, and I'm sure the big wedding parties with whom we were sharing the hotel had a lovely time, but those of us tucked around the edges, less so. So, if you see a large number of folks in full fashion-forward outfits, consider eating elsewhere...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Beautiful historic building and rooms. Loved it!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Location: Windsor Castle is close and Windsor Village is charming. Brae is close with The Fatted Duck. Make reservations in advance. 3 Pubs there as well.
It was a wonderful old castle looking hotel, on the river Thames. We rented an electric boat from the hotel to putt around in for an hour in the rain. Brought on some wine and snacks, was great fun. Staff was extremely pleasant. Public rooms were extremely beautiful. We played cards in a marvelous greenhouse room in the evening. We ate on the lawn under a tent that was heated, with open sides. An unforgettable experience. The shortbread cookies were great. The club sandwich amazing. Our room was huge and beautiful but hot and humid, but great views. They have fans to borrow. Other family members had cold rooms, so just be sure to ask for rooms with plentiful AC, if you are like my husband and I and like it cold. We would definitely go back. Breakfast was phenomenal, decor was awesome and you could not ask for a better menu. You will love the way they have it set up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Joy, Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to receive such praise and please be assured that I have passed your fantastic comments onto everyone involved. In order to review and monitor feedback may I kindly ask you to post a review on Trip Advisor if you haven’t already? We hope to welcome you back to Oakley Court in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westpfalz

Englisches Flair

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Wie vorab gebucht, wurden uns zwei Zimmer mit Einzelbetten zur Verfügung gestellt. Diese befanden sich im Ostflügel des Hauses (quasi in einem Anbau des Haupthauses) und zwar im Erdgeschoss. An der Ausstattung der Zimmer, der Sauberkeit, dem englischem Einrichtungsstiel und der Qualität der Matratzen gab es nichts auszusetzten. Überhaupt verströmt jedes Zimmer des Hauses und jede Ecke des Gartens dieses englische Flair, welches man anhand der Bilder im Internet erwartet...fantastisch! Besonders an lauen Sommerabenden kann man wunderbar in der Bar auf der Gartenterrasse verweilen oder in dem herrlichen Garten auf Liegenstühlen entspannen, etwas trinken und dem ruhigen Treiben auf der Themse zusehen...einmalig! Die Preise für Essen und Trinken in der Bar und auf der Terrasse sind, wie zu erwarten, für deutsche Verhältnisse etwas gehoben. Im hauseigenen Restaurant waren wir nicht essen, weshalb ich hierzu auch nichts sagen kann. Das Personal war freundlich und nicht aufdringlich. Grund zur Kritik gibt es aber dennoch in unserem speziellen Fall: Unsere beiden Zimmer lagen im Erdgeschoss. Dort können die Fenster nicht geöffnet werden, weshalb es eine dreistufige Klimaanlage im Zimmer gibt. Ich persönlich fand das unangenehm, weil die Luft nicht wirklich "frisch" in den Zimmern war, außerdem hört man die Anlage auch in der Stufe "low" deutlich...wer also mit diesem Geräusch nicht schlafen kann, muss die Klimaanlage ausschalten und noch schlechtere Luft im Zimmer in Kauf nehmen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting lovely place

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Haven't been for 3 years, was lovely before but now it's even better will be going regularly again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to receive such praise and please be assured that I have passed your fantastic comments onto everyone involved. In order to review and monitor feedback may I kindly ask you to post a review on Trip Advisor if you haven’t already? We hope to welcome you back to Oakley Court in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alessandro from Oakton, VA

On the banks of the Thames

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is an old country manor on the banks of the Thames River, a wonderful setting for sightseeing and relaxation. The restaurant is good. The room we had, however, was configured strangely. Too big to be a typical double room yet too small to be a suite, it featured a few items of furniture scattered about willy-nilly. A bit of imagination could have made the room more useful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, refurb needs to continue!

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Mixed feelings about our 3 night stay. Some of the bedrooms were clearly tired and in need in urgent refurb. We were upgraded after discussion. Room was fine but nothing exciting and air con ineffective. Left windows open which triggered hay fever! Staff again mixed- the one person who made our trip and restored our faith in the hotel was a young chap, Daniel. He honestly was naturally very attentive and helpful. A great asset to the hotel! The grounds were stunning and we highly recommend a trip on the boat. Overall a good trip but made by one staff member in particular who made us feel welcome whenever we randomly bumped into him. Thank you!