Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: everything
excellent hotel good location for airport and windsor castle etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Beautiful place. Friendly staff.. Awesome butler service. Definitely will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Time to relax

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere - not rushed. Friendly staff.
Cons: The reception is a bit tucked away, small and seemed a bit drab up to the rest of the Hotel
Just stayed for one night - got there early as we came up from Devon for a funeral. We were able to check in early and freshen up before we went out. Lovely atmosphere in the Hotel, all the Christmas decorations very tasteful. Breakfast was great and the pantry room were all the breakfast goodies are, is very quaint. Liked it so much we'll be back next year to visit in the summer and enjoy some time on the river. Compliments to the Management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Milk and cookies and considerate staff.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Milk and cookies in the room when we arrived with our 6-year old daughter.
Cons: The room was very warm so we had to keep the air con running continuously which was very noisy.
Location: We stayed here to visit Legoland
Nicely done up without losing the charm of an older hotel. Well appointed / well equipped room. Very helpful staff. The special children's toiletries and dressing gown on our daughter's pillow as well as a kiddy welcome pack from the concierge were all lovely touches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with great views of the river

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We had a really lovely stay at the Oakley. The only downside to a beautiful stay was the variety of food options available for dinner. Luckily we are early and could eat at the outside terrace, however this closed at 7.30pm and the only other option is the one restaurant where simple food is not on the menu. We had a really lovely stay though and breakfast was fantastic!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brenham, TX

The views cannot be beat!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Even if this wasn't a beautiful, gracious hotel, one would not be able to resist the amazing lawns and gardens leading to the Thames. Amazing and relaxing views. This imposing gothic Victorian beauty truly steps you back in time. The plasterwork on the ceilings and walls is stunning. Beautiful wood floors and stair rails with patina that cannot be replicated. There are some beautiful antiques, but it isn't a museum...every comfort has been included. There were multiple reception rooms to have tea, a drink or just enjoy the views. Our room was large with twin beds, large tv, plenty of storage....the only thing that kept the hotel itself from receiving 5 stars from me were the beds. They need an upgrade in our room at any rate. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. Check in and check out was efficient and quick. We had a room service and although the menu is very limited the food was there in the 20 minutes as promised and very tasty. The bar meal was also delicious. Dinner in the restaurant did not live up the the reviews I had read. It was a menu that seemed like the chef was trying too hard with unusual combinations - roast chicken that was served with grapes and peanuts?? Turnip with crab? Just didn't get it. Overall, though for our 3 night stay was so enjoyable and I just keep going back to the amazing building and beautiful lawns and gardens on the river. I would certainly return!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel is not too far from Windsor. It set in an exceptional ground. The service is very good. We stayed with our son. In our room we found a special toiletery set for children; later on a lady brought him a glass of milk with cookies. Very nice touch. The biggest disappointment, however, was the pool. I booked this hotel partly because it had a pool. However it was closed for family swim at 6.30pm. Neither website nor staff at the reception inform us about these restrictions. Our boy was really upset as he was looking forward to a swim after long day. Never mind, sitting in deck chairs on the bank of river Themes made up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Fantastic location, great facilities

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Grounds, range of activities. Kids activity pack and milk and cookies at bedtime made our little guest feel special too
Cons: Maybe blankets for evenings on the terrace
Location: Great for Windsor and Legoland
Stayed for a few sunny days in August mainly as a base for Legoland. What a mistake not to stay longer! We agreed it's the only hotel we've stayed in that we didn't want to leave. Managed to make use of some of the facilities but felt we had so much more to do and enjoy. The grounds sloping down to the river are an amazing place to unwind in a deck chair. The Pantry for breakfast is inspired. Main building is classic yet (tastefully) quirky at times, a delight to walk around. Rooms clean, comfortable and spacious for a family of 3. Can't rate it highly enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, lovley setting next to the river,

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: the setting
Cons: the chef
Location: all good
In general the hotel was good but the food and some of the bar staff was terrible, the food turned up stone cold and some of the staff were very under trained, all of which very much lets down the hotel in general
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West London

A really nice hotel and great surroundings...

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great rooms and scenery. Bit disappointed about the hotel maids/staff. We had not had our towels replaced and asked the maid to do so but her response was 'No english' and walked away from me. Funny but true. But the place itself was very nice. Really enjoyed the stay. Would recommend it truly.