Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Lovely, relaxing stay in a pretty location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Really friendly staff Pretty rooms beautifully decorated Food from the bar was delicious and served in the gardens under the old apple trees Would recommend - less than 30 min drive to legoland from here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2015
A fine hotel but rather overpriced for the offering, restaurant was nice but service very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by michelle from Brighton

Wedding Bliss

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here for a wedding. My room was in the main building. I couldn't fault the room. it was big, modern, very cosy and clean. I had problems checking in and checking out, in fact I was overcharged when I checked out but have since obtained a refund. There are a couple of members of staff that are very attentive (guy who welcomes you, looks after you a breakfast) but in general I think they need more staff and more training. However saying this, it wouldn't put me off staying there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ricard from Brussels

Nice place

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very quiet hotel and nice people. Great place, great surroundings. The restaurant, being good, have a short menu an is expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not What We Expected

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location and bar area.
Cons: Most of it.
When you visit a classic old English hotel, the staff are a big part of the experience and reason to be there. Being met by a Chinese trainee receptionist with an efficient but ice cold manner, then served in the restaurant by a chap also clearly several thousand miles from home, we felt we could have been anywhere. The rooms are billed as having been extensively made over by a big name designer, but ours must have missed that refresh. It was all OK - other than being super hot - but a long, long way from being five-star quality. Three star, at a push would be more like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice quiet location

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice quiet location. Staff were very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cotswolds Mike from Cotswolds

A real treat

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels
Some previous reviews caused concern that I'd selected somewhere that had service problems; not so! Everything was well up to standard. It's an interesting, unusual, boutique establishment with great accommodation, wonderful food and friendly and helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyable and we'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rec guru from Chepstow

Ok but in need of improvement

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
The stay was ok, but I found the main bar area pretty unwelcoming, it is an old coaching house with open fires - it might be an idea to light them during the winter months !!!! I did not enjoy eating my 3 course dinner with my coat on!! The food was excellent, everything prepared well, and this was worth the money the service was a little slow. The rooms were OK, but did smell musty/ damp and got cold very quickly - the bathrooms were of good quality and it was clean.