Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Due to my allergy of feathers my stay was not a comfortable one. The hotel did not have a large enough supply of synthetic duvets or anything to replace the feather one. They gave me a woolly blanket more like a travel rug. I then had to ask for a sheet to go over us first. I can't understand why hotels have feather bedding as this is a very common allergy. The lack of help and understanding they gave me was very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Stamford

A sad decline

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Sadly I've seen a real decline at this hotel as have been a regular visitor since 2012. Today's fire alarms at 10:30 am - why not test when guests have checked out? Why knock room service at 10:00 am when we're not booked in another night - we will be gone in one hour? I shouldn't have to call down at close to 11pm to have you ask smoking guests to limit the noise. To have to wait 10 minutes at reception to have confirmed what I already knew - that I'd paid, simply because you understand, is unacceptable. The service and attention to detail here now is poor at best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Stay at Olde Bell.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel reception staff helpful and friendly checking in and out. Waiting staff in dining room were excellent. Quality of food was superb. Would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn , great location

Posted Sep 17, 2015
We had my 50th birthday celebrations here, dining and accommodation were excellent and staff very attentive. I will definitely visit again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hmm...

Posted Sep 2, 2015
The stay was sort of OK however: 1. The room was not part of the main building as the external doors were closed and I had to go up and down stairs to get there, not a good start. It is also very dark at the rear of the building and the ground is uneven be careful if you have had a few lemonades. 2. The room was small and next to the main road at ground level the window opened on to the pavement. 3. Either the noise carries through the building or other guests were quite loud 4. The main issue was that the room needed a thorough clean, the bed and linen appeared clean but the everything else had at least one layer of dust. The floor to the shower looked like a football team had just used it this was not just dust but dirt. 5. The property has a lot of potential and I am sure it does very well however I feel it has a long way to go; if cleanliness is an issue then they are struggling. It is no way near 5 star, from my experience at present it suffices as a quite expensive crash pad and is in no way comparable to the Crazy Fox along the road. 6. As a busy traveller stopping in the area 3 days a week I will probably give it a miss. I was a little wary when I booked the stay in consideration of earlier comments however gave them the benefit of the doubt unfortunately they had failed to rectify the issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Dale from Sussex

Noisy and Old - Not for a business trip!

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
The Wifi was so slow is was painful, the noise at night made for an terrible night sleep! Nice hotel and good food, but certainly not the hotel to choose for any type of business stay.
2 out of 5
by Nicola from Home town

Dissappointing and not good value for money

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Bit disappointed given the cost of the stay. It says that you can check in from 2pm but at 2:45 my room was still not ready. The room itself was not in the building but in a separate building across the road, OK for the summer but not sure I would want to do that in the winter. The pub was dreadful, dirty and unkempt. Menu in the restaurant was expensive, the pub menu was standard but both menus were very limited. Staff were ok and the room itself was ok but nothing special. The phone in the room didn't work and the TV made a terrible buzzing noise. Not the worse hotel ever, but certainly not the best and not good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Lovely, relaxing stay in a pretty location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Really friendly staff Pretty rooms beautifully decorated Food from the bar was delicious and served in the gardens under the old apple trees Would recommend - less than 30 min drive to legoland from here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice location should be better

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
the staff where very helpful,the hotel as a new manager who was very helpful, the toilet was loose and the overall cleaning of the room was below a standard one would expect from this type of hotel