Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: everything!
Location: Peaceful. well located for Reading.
The hotel rooms are in desperate need of modernisation. 'Tired' doesn't begin to cover it. Comfortable bed. Clean room but really feels neglected. Nice peaceful location. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours in the room above, so not as peaceful as it should have been. Room very hot. Midgets a problem so couldn't air the room properly.
1 out of 5
by D

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Bates motel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
It was like spending a night in. A horror movie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Half the hotel was burned down

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Forget 4 star, this hotel should not be listed unless it is very clear to guests what to expect. Last November half the hotel was burned down (plenty pics on the Web if you Google it) and one wing is a burned out skeleton. Not exactly the warm welcome we expected. A reassuring notice in our room said the contractors had tested the electrics and all is ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location Right on the Lake

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful spot right on the lake
Cons: The hotel now needs a renovation, to uplift it to the high level of finishing it once was.
Location: Very close to the center of town, and convenient to the Green Park Business estate.
Although the drive was somewhat windy, and through the countryside, they have an idyllic location, right on the lake. A beautiful spot to wake-up in the morning, as it is very tranquil. Lovely to sit and watch the water birds whilst you eat your breakfast. The hotel is well established and has been there for a longtime. However this means it is now time for a renovation, new carpets, soft furnishings and wallpaper are needed, along with general re-tiling to bathrooms etc. Very clean and tidy, and staff were pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

do not stay at the reading lake hotel!

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
overall experience was shocking. food was terrible, presentation dreadful. my partner had food that had mould on it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised as - No Gym or Pool currently

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
A little disappointed - on arrival, the drive up to the hotel was very scenic, however facilities advertised on the website included "•Fitness room with state of the art equipment" - yet due to a fire in November 2015, the wing where the gym and pool is totally in disrepair and in negotiations of repairing and updating the hotel. Such as shame as a colleague and I are in the area on business, working shifts and had planned to have our down-time and use these facilities during the day!
5 out of 5
by Mr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by CATHRYN from tyne & wear

NOT AT ALL GOOD!

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
AWFUL STAY! No mention on here when booking that the hotel had recently had a fire. Took a photo of one part of hotel with no roof!Just a mere notice in the room saying the room I had booked for colleague was ok. NO WIFI AT ALL despite what it said. Would not be recommending, and would like to hear what management had to say about this misleading advert