Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

close to transportation

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The room boasts a floor to ceiling window which gives a unique view on the surrounding area. The bed is comfortable and the room a good size. I would say that the room is quiet except for hearing the tram go by occasionally. This didn't bother me but it might bother others. It is close to both a tram line and an underground line making it easy to get anywhere you wish in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to tram line

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Lovely room, clean and comfy. Friendly staff and hotel not far from attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Theke salad bar which is on the same street is great. Lots of places to eat nearby, The Barn coffee shop is also walking distance on Augustrasse.
I loved staying at the Arcotel. It's in a fantastic location - very close to subway stations like the Oranienburger and it's not as touristy as Friedrichstrasse area, so you get a nice mix of tourist area turning into more so a residential area. It's also a 15 mins walk to the Hackerschek Market which was very convenient. I loved the vibe of the place. The hotel itself was really great. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfy with fresh linens. The reception staff on duty in the later afternoon of Friday Oct 21 were fantastic. My room didn't have a teapot in it, so they went out of their way to find a teapot and cups/saucers and right then and there, I gave the place 5 points - even if the view from my room was that of a construction site :D The wifi wasn't great on the first two nights but significantly improved. The hotel itself is great value for your money and I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and room

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: clean room and well equipped, helpful staff, excellently placed in Mitte
Cons: Wifi was a bit flaky and aircon didnt seem very effective
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A really good stay

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Got a free upgrade for room stay much to our surprises. Love the panel windows and really comfy bed. Staffs are friendly and really helpful. Some problem with the wifi network. Overall a nice stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson, CA

Great hotel location for all the Berlin landmarks

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Staff was very helpful and overall hotel experience was good. Only warning is that in the room that i was in, bathroom only had a curtain to cover itself. (Aka great room for couples, not relatives or friends)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Noori Suhaib, Hotel Management
Dear Edrian, Thank you very much for you recent visit to the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to share your detailed feedback here on this social platform. We would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you given it means a lot for us. At first we apologize for the room situation. Just a tipp maybe for your next stay we offer in our higher categories seperated bathrooms. We put that information in your guest history that you like a seperated bathroom. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and that we have forwarded both issues to our management. But at least it’s great to hear that you enjoy the stay. Hope the helpful staff can satisfy you on your next trip to Berlin. We will be happy to welcome you again. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and very enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Tea/coffee making in the rooms :-)
Location: See above
Friendly and helpful staff, clean and bright room, with slightly quirky layout, but I liked it. Comfortable beds and fairly well sound proofed, (slept well every night). Breakfast is a little pricey, (only cos the pound has just taken a dive), but still very good. Very good location too and plenty of surrounding eateries. Most central attractions are an easy walk. Main Friedrichstrasse station hub is only one train stop away. Would recommend to anyone and quite happily stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016
We have stayed here several times, and everything has always been excellent. Some of the bathroom sinks are impractically designed, but when that's the only negative thing about a hotel, you know it's reliably great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Croydon, Surrey

Great location for transport links

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly and well priced.
Cons: Bar is only open Thursday-Saturday evenings which is slightly disappointing but this is mitigated by the close vicinity of the bars and restaurants.
Location: Only a 15-minute walk from DDR Museum, river cruises & other attractions in one direction & 2 underground stops from Checkpoint Charlie in the other.
Great location for U-bahn (underground) and also the overground trams. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of many restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Feedback Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for you recent visit to the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to share your detailed feedback here on this social platform. We would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you given it means a lot for us. To convince you with our location, room, and price makes us happy. Our Velvet-Bar is now in a conversion stage that is why we had only from Thursday until Saturday opened. Normally it’s a 5 day bar from Tuesday until Saturday. We believe the bar is ready for your next trip to Berlin. We will be happy to welcome you again. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 13, 2016
I very much enjoyed staying in that hotel for about six nights. It was at about 20 mins walk from the museum island, and just beside a metro and tram station. It was also quiet and very clean. The room was very comfortable and convenient. It was also close by nice cafes and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Suhaib Noori, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for you recent visit to the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to share your feedback here on this social platform. We would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you given it means a lot for us. It’s really great to hear that you enjoyed the stay. We will be happy to welcome you again. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team