Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and well located

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Room had high ceilings, very nice, museum quality art, good lighting, comfortable bed. Bathroom paneled in wood and mirrors, with a stone trough for a sink. Lobby was in a building down the street, breakfast room in "my" building with a good breakfast buffet, very friendly service. Location: not much to do in the immediate surroundings, but good access to public transportation. Area is upscale residential, and fairly close (20 minute walk, Berlin is very spread out) is a Whole Foods meets East Village demographic, with lots of healthy little cafes, imaginative and/or all natural home decor, and parent and child oriented businesses (music schools, bookstores, natural fiber clothing, etc.). Lots of dads with Snugglies and strollers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

More than you will expect !!!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Spacious, charming, excellent location!! Must stay here! Boutique hotel with all you could expect and want from hotel. Price vs quality is guaranteed.
Cons: Honestly very difficult to find something to criticize.
Location: Soho house!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A Berlin oasis with an incredible staff!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
My stay at Ackselhaus in the Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg was simply wonderful. From check-in to check-out, every detail was just perfect - largely due to the amazing staff. Pleasantly located on a quiet, tree-lined cobblestone street, and steps away from many quaint restaurants, cafes and boutiques, Ackselhaus is a best kept secret (shhh..don't tell anyone). My apartment was so charming, clean and spacious with a lovely view overlooking the gorgeous, serene garden. The Ackselhaus breakfast restaurant, with indoor and outdoor dining, serves a delicious, ample breakfast with a wonderful array of choices and the ambience is so tasteful, serene and delightfully European. There is also a very special restaurant "Pan Am Oli" next door to the Ackselhaus (again, indoor and al fresco dining) that is open for dinner with delicious food, wonderful service and ambiance. The walkable neighborhood of Prenzlauer Berg is away from the bustle of Mitte (yet still within walking distance) and is filled with quaint restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Be sure to stop for a Matcha tea at the "Matchashop" on the same street as Ackselhaus...stroll to a wonderful breakfast at Anna Blume...while exploring Mitte, stop for a coffee and to-die-for, warm-from-the-oven cinnamon roll from "Niet fuer Brot" (among other incredible baked goods)! I felt so fortunate to have found Ackselhaus and can't wait to return. Thank you for a beautiful stay, Ackselhaus and your very special Staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guiseley, England

Funky comfort in Mitte

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Travelled many miles in our stay so the hotel was great to relax in , quiet,well equipped and sitting amongst half a dozen great cafes and restaurants less than 100 m away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Fantastic. Made our trip wonderful. Rom was a beautiful room. Make sure you have breakfast it was delicious. Ten out of ten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Location, Amazing rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and feels really personal. I loved my room so much, and was so happy with the staff and the whole atmosphere.
Location: It was on a very sweet, quiet block, but was within walking distance of the bustling areas of the city. I loved being able to walk around the area!
The room was beautiful and the staff was so polite and helpful. I loved every minute of staying there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Perfection

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: As above.
Cons: Very little.
Location: It's very close to the underground and near to good shops. The restaurants around Kollwitzplatz nearby are very good.
I stayed in the Blue Home which is two doors up from the Ackselhaus. It's a lovely hotel, the best I've been in in Berlin (and I've stayed at the Hilton before). The breakfast was great. The room had character, was very quiet and nicely appointed. I'm definitely going again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City, MX

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
It is one of the best hotels I've been. It's extraordinary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Sydney NSW, Australia

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Dec 21, 2012
Pros: Decor, comfort of rooms and the bed - heavenly!
Cons: Wi-fi reception was a bit erratic
Location: Quiet street a short, easy walk to the city centre, and also very close to U-bahn and trams.
Convenient location about 10 minutes flat walk to Alexanderplatz, but also close to trams and U-Bahn when going further. Very quiet street in really nice part of town but close to city centre. Very comfortable bed and spacious living room , with quirky, interesting decor, all newly renovated. Breakfast had great selection and was fresh and excellent; dining room had an open fire which was welcome as the weather was cold. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was sometimes slow and dropped out a couple of times but otherwise this was the perfect hotel. Hotel provided really great pocket information cards about the sites of interest which included maps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Room

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Stayed for 3 nights in the Beach House - what a wonderful room.