Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Cozy and friendly hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016
I stayed here 2 nights with my family. It´s not a luxury hotel, but the whole experience was great. Location is good, close to the 142 bus (Berlin central station) and in front of the 4 tram (Alexanderplatz), so great connectivity. Staff was very kind and friendly, helped us with directions to the main sites we wanted to visit. Breakfast is awesome! and you have 2 very good restaurants one on each side of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again in the future!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunny Camberwell

Absolutely fine

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Good location when flying into Schoenefeld. Easy access from Alexanderplatz by bus or tram. Room was clean, comfy, spartan perhaps but well equipped for a few nights stay. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast plentiful and good quality. Prenzberg not as lively as I expected! But not far to bars and restaurants (and the Vietnamese place next door is really good).
3 out of 5
by Rene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Tyrone, Ireland

Great location as base for exploring Berlin

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: It is in a quiet location so no disturbance/noise at night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were a family of five with three teenage/youn
Cons: Perhaps a mirror in each of the bedrooms was the only thing lacking.
Location: The Alex Hotel is well located as there is a tram stop right outside the hotel which in a few stops has you at Alexanderplatz in a few minutes.
It was easy to get to Alexanderplatz, not knowing the area we realised it was excellent for a base to get around Berlin. Breakfasts were more than adequate, all in all a wonderful experience at the Alex Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter from Scotland

Close to transport links

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Proximity to transport and city centre
Nice hotel. Tram stop just across from hotel with good links in to central Berlin. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from London

Alex Hotel

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The staff are very helpful and the rooms are very clean with a comfortable bed and with a wide range of good foods for breakfast.
Cons: It might be helpful to provide more comfortable chairs in the rooms.
Location: There are good travel connections immediately outside to museums and other visitor attractions.
The Alex Hotel is pleasant with good staff and serves a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn from Michigan, USA

Friendly staff and close to Alexander Platz

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: It's central location and friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was also fantastic.
Location: Close to Alexander Platz and Prenzlauer Berg. Also close to S-Bahn connections to any other part of town.
This is a very small, basic hotel at a great price. Don't expect any of the extra amenities found at more expensive hotels, but then there is so much to see and do in Berlin that there's really no time to sit in a sauna anyway! A streetcar stops right in front of the hotel, or you can walk the short distance to Alexander Platz which offers connections to every part of the city. We found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast offered to all hotel guests was complete and satisfying. Our room was a little small, as we had expected, but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and even though the hotel is located on a major street, it was very quiet at night. We would definitely not hesitate to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Keith from Boston

Solid option for a lower-price hotel in Berlin

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
Pros: Right across the street from the M4 tram - two stops to Alexanderplatz. Fair price for what you get - clean and private room, free european style breakfast (assorted meats, cheeses, bread), helpful and friendly staff, free wireless. Don't expect a ton of amenities or luxury. Cons: Drapes don't block out much light at all. Shower is a bit small.