Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
the services were as expected and the overall experience was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Out of the bustle

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location on the river.
Cons: Maintenance required and the carpets are grossly stained (public areas and bedroom).
Nice location on the Spree and can walk to the main attractions of the city. At checkin there was a problem with room request made at time of booking ... it was addressed and an alternate room reluctantly assigned. Most staff were quite friendly and helpful. Hotel is a little dowdy, damaged walls and carpets were quite badly stained. Breakfast is extensive but a little expensive although not any reasonable options close by. Hotel is in a commercial area which is very clean and quiet. Local shopping area is a bit dodgy. Convenient to metro system and bus (direct bus to Tegel Airport).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you will join us again at the ABION Hotel Berlin Kind regards Gunnar Gust General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Needs some upgrades

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent
Cons: Upgrades/refurbishment of rooms in the west wing
Location: Beautiful location. Great views along the River Spree. The S-Bahn station is typically easily accessible but was under repair during our stay.
I booked this hotel for it's location, amenities, and overall reviews on Expedia. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay of 3 nights. When were arrived the staff were very efficient and friendly - no complaints with check in and the initial impression of the hotel - the location along the Spree is gorgeous. We were placed in a room in the west part of the hotel - much different from what we were expecting based on the pictures on both the website and Expedia. When we entered our room we found it to be dirty with used towels, glasses, and personal effects left in the bathroom. After returning to the reception we were personally taken up to another room in the same location of the hotel. This room was clean but in need of upgrades - the carpets were old, there were screws exposed in the wall, the shower head was puttied together and leaking, and the toilet paper holder fell off the wall while being used. I am understanding of what a "standard" or "discount" room entails, however this was beyond and not worth the money spent. While I appreciate the efficiency of the front desk staff, I would have at the very least appreciated an upgrade or a free breakfast voucher or something for our troubles with the first room and impressions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the misunderstandings. We will check our standards immediatelly and hope you will give us a second cance wihle your next berlin visit. Kind regards Gunnar Gust General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Just a bit far from the major sights

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The room was quite large, toasty warm with loads of wardrobe space.
Cons: It's a bit far out
Location: It costs around 10 euros to get near the Brandenburg gate in a taxi. There is a nice pub/restaurant very close by which serves great food.
Had a great time at this hotel, we didn't use many of the facilities but the hotel is clean and the staff are all very friendly. It's quite a walk to the main tourist attractions but overall we were happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Placitas, New Mexico USA

Excellent location and friendly staff

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff and view from the room.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: If you get tired of German fare, check out Om for Thai food.
We spent four nights in a river view room and were extremely pleased with all accommodations. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The rooms was spacious, comfortable and completely quiet, given the location facing the Spree. Many good restaurants in the immediate location and easy access to all parts of the city via the U or S Bahn.We highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thnak you for your feedback. Hope to host you again very soon Kind regards Gunnar Gust General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Good hotel on river and close to S bahn

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Very enjoyable stay. Excellent staff but long wait when Reception staffed only by one staff. Room comfortable but twin beds pushed together was inconvenient. Beds moved apart and should be secured and with mattress topper covering join. We enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon Kind regards Gunnar Gust General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US but also used to NL

Good location, value for money .. and bikes

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: location, internet, breakfast
Location: with agreeable weather you are close to the river and can sit there and have a drink. you can bike to downtown in less than half an hour
Perfect location between Siemens for work and downtown, bikes were for rent and with the good weather I could use them for joy the basics of the room were OK, including good wifi small details like an apple to take away
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Questionable service

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: location on the river and walking path.
Cons: Whatever it takes to correct the problem described in "experience".
Location: Not enough time spent to make good assessment of access to Berlin attractions. However, subway station close by.
I booked on Expedia 2 rooms in the same booking. Check in time was 14:00. We arrived at 14:20, only one room was available. The second was supposed to be ready at 14:35. We did not get it till 15:30. On top of it or rather first of all the second room was located in completely different building - to get from one room to the other one had to take an elevator down to the basement, walk to a different elevator bank and take an elevator back to another room. When I pointed out to the staff I booked two rooms in the same booking they kept saying they were full.... and what does it have to do with having two rooms at least on the same floor of the same building?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Great customer service! We arrived earlier than regular checkin time but lady at the front desk still checked to see if a room was available for us and got us a room way earlier than expected. Amazing! Got to rest and drop things off before exploring the city for the day. A map of the city with main attraction sites was available at the front desk. The subway was also very close by and easy to use for access to and from the airport. Overall great location and would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

The bank of the Spree River

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Excellent room and comfort.
Cons: The TV device is too old and doesn't work well. The bar and restaurant would be better options in menu.
Location: Spree River, some good restaurants. 3 miles of the Berlin downtown.
Excellent Hotel. Exceeded my expectations. Great room, great beds and great bathroom. Beautiful landscape of the Spree River and good localization.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
Dear gust, thank you for your feedback. I am hapy about that in all ways.We changed the TV in all rooms mid juli into 40" screens Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Gunnar Gust General Manager