Ratings based on 1,207 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hot tub doesn't work

Posted May 15, 2017
The hot tub doesn't work ..............................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Gay hotel suitable for any adults

Posted May 10, 2017
Although the hotel presented itself as a 'gay hotel', I did not feel unwelcome when I stayed there with my wife. The only problem was that the clothes hanger was set too high for my wife to reach that I had to do it for her every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm Springs, Ca

Great hotel, great location

Posted May 5, 2017
Great hotel with outstanding amenities that is very well located for all that Berlin has to offer. Great staff, well designed comfortable rooms, a goid morning breakfast make this place my favorite when in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice location, spacious rooms and bathrooms.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Staff comes with unpleasant attitude. I expected them to be much more friendly/cooperative than this
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay at the hotel was not to your liking. First of all I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff. I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time. Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
It was fab u lous Berlin's best kept secret , in the center of the old town ,2mins walk to the subway & KaDeWe at Wittenbergplatz .the hotel was brilliant, king size bed gorgeous. Jacuzzi bath ,fantastic shower we just loved it , just across the street is the Old timer pub were everyone is made very welcome. Can't wait to go back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Juan Carlos Utrilla; General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sally, We appreciate your feedback and your time in giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your landmark hotel in Berlín. We hope you visit us again soon. Yours sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Awesome staff

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The hotel is awesome. The staff is incredibly friendly and the masseuse is very good and professional. I was incredibly sick when I got there and when I left so I didn't actually leave my room except for the massage, but the entire staff took great care of me. From the bartender who helped me pick out dinner at Juniper to the awesome front desk guy who welcomed me and got me my room key quickly, I couldn't be happier. BTW, upgrade to the junior suite,,,,sooo worth it with the huge tub, shower and round windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Juan Carlos Utrilla, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your awesome feedback, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects. Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable room, excellent breakfast at the The Juniper with good service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects. Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels. Kind Regards, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlin
5 out of 5
by Ronald

Great place for Gay Men

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
I had a one day stay in Berlin to catch my return flight to the USA. The Axel was an excellent place to stay with fantastic staff and very clean facilities. I could not have found a better place to stay. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ronald, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects. Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels. Kind Regards, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Solid hotel in good location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I had a three night stay at the Axel Hotel and would recommend it to others. It has a great location - both nearby gay nightlife and just a block away from a metro station with multiple lines that can get you most anywhere in Berlin fairly quickly. The staff wasn't the friendliest I've experienced, but were super responsive about an erroneous charge on my credit card and fixed it immediately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Juan Carlos Utrilla, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects. Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

No sauna / spa facilities open despite being adver

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Arrived to spend 3 nights here, went to go to the spa and sauna and it was locked! Spoke to the Receptionist who advised it was closed, he tried stating we were advised of this. This was not the case!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Juan Carlos Utrilla, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is an information in the hotel description on most frequent used online platforms and of course on our website about our wellness and fitness area being closed due to reconstruction. I am sorry that this information was not transferred from the online partner you have booked with! Hope to see you soon to enjoy our new spa and fitness facilities in Axel Hotel Berlin! Kind regards,