Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent hotel north of all the action.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
1st of all we loved this hotel because it was very quiet. We hardly saw anyone anywhere except for breakfast or the hotel lobby staff. No maid vacuuming your door at 5am. 2nd love the location of this hotel. It's about 5-6 blocks north of the Spree River the main street around the corner literally takes you down into the city center (where all the history and shopping is). You can see the Bode Museum as you cross a bridge, From there Museum Island is a few blocks to the left. Or you can walk a few blocks to the right and get to the famous Brandenbuger Tor. If you walk north of the hotel, you can get to the Berlin Wall memorial . So lots to do. Room was a lot spacier then pics depicted on the website so that was a nice surprise. The only drawback I see was that we didn't have a fridge in our room - but there are lots of restaurants in the area so go eat or bring back a cold drink from the many shops around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and comfort are at the top of the list. We also liked purchasing our transportation passes at the front desk.
Cons: Please remove the shag carpets from the rooms! Smoke came into our smoke-free room from the smokers in the outside courtyard.
This hotel is within walking distance to many of the main sights in Berlin. As well, it is close to public transportation options. There are many restaurants and shops in the immediate neighbourhood. It is located on a quiet side street and was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right at Mitte center

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The room is well maintained and comfortable, comfortable beds. Bathroom is modern and roomy. Shower only, though.
Cons: There is no fridge or kitchenette in the room. That might be helpful for some. However there are plenty of eateries around, many Asian.
Stayed four days at the hotel. A nice place to come back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
It was my first time to Berlin and I was traveling alone and the location was great. So close to the S-bahn, U-Bahn and Tram. The hotel staff spoke English & were really helpful with directions. I got the smallest room since I was alone, but it was so comfortable and perfect for a single traveler.
5 out of 5
by Christian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
It is a simple hotel, just gives the bare necessities. Breakfast expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Jennifer Seeckt, Hotel Management
Thanks for your honest feedback! I am very sorry you thought the breakfast was too expensive. Maybe you would like just a coffee to go and an apple (for free at the reception desk) next time? All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in excellent location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, clean and comfortable
Cons: Tea/Coffee facilities in room would be nice
Location: Lots of places to eat and good for walking
Great base for walking about to all central sightseeing points or catching the hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Jennifer Seeckt, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the great location of our CALMA Berlin Mitte. Your´re absolutely right the central location near museums, restaurants etc. is just perfect for a city trip. And your idea of Tea/Coffee maker in room is interesting. So thanks for that! We hope to welcome you soon again? All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very central

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The room was big enough for 2 people, clean and very well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

No frills central hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: More lighting in the hallway.
Location: It is very close to the berlin wall memorial.
You really can't see it in the photos, but the hotel is in an old building. It felt a bit creepy walking on the hallways and the room you can tell is refurbished but old. Nevertheless, the bed is comfortable enough that I had a really pleasant sleep. Also you can smell the curry from the Indian restaurant across the hotel. If you mind the smell, keep your windows closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Jennifer Seeckt, Hotel Management
Thanks for your honest feedback. You´re right that our hotel is an old building with a special architecture. We renovated the complete hotel in 2013 but the old house makes this special atmosphere. And yes Berlin Mitte is full of curry smells, party people, 24h opening bars, metro stations etc. So as you did close the window by night :-). All the best for you and greetings from Berlin,
5 out of 5
by Esther

Convenient and spacious hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely bright, airy room, great bathroom with powerful shower, helpful reception staff. Easy walking distance to key attractions and sites