Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes, UK

A wonderful place to stay, once we got there.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: It is easily accessible by public transportation. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The swimming pool and breakfast buffet were wonderful.
Cons: They could provide an airport shuttle service and it would be nice to have a sauna option for people who are uncomfortable with mixed gender nudity.
Location: They are located near the historic town of Spandau, which has a nice little Christmas market and various historic attractions such as the Zitadelle.
We booked this hotel because it was close to an event we planned to attend, because it had a large swimming pool and because on the website they offered an airport shuttle services. After we booked the nonrefundable package we contacted the hotel and were advised that they DO NOT offer an airport shuttle service. They did give us directions on how to use the public transport system from Schonefeld Airport. These directions were incorrect because one of the stations we had to travel through was closed. Fortunately we checked with the information desk at the airport and they gave us good directions to the hotel. The hotel itself was wonderfully clean and comfortable. The staff there were friendly and attentive and quite responsive to our requests. The hotel includes a spa with the warm, 25-meter pool. We loved the pool and jacuzzi and used them several times over our three-night stay. There was a sauna which required mixed gender nudity. Not everyone is comfortable with that and I do wish there had been a sauna option for people who prefer to keep their bathing suits on. The room was large and well-kept with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Tea/coffee service and a small refrigerator were included. The food provided by room service was quite tasty as well. We had the breakfast buffet included in our package and it was quite satisfying. They provided a good selection of cheeses, meats, eggs, breads, juices and cereals and other food. We would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Excellent Spa Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: 24 hour reception and most of the facilities were open from 7:00-23:00 hours.
Location: Out of the centre of Berlin but the area of Spandau had good shops and some nice restaurants. Good bus/train service longest had to wait 8 minutes.
Hotel was not in a central position which meant a lot of travelling but Public transport in Berlin is Excellent. Staff at the hotel were helpful and answered all queries efficiently. I cannot comment on the food as did not dine at the hotel at all as was mostly out sightseeing. Extremely reasonable price for the facilities available. Was on one of the flight paths to the airport but when you were inside you could not hear the planes. The shower in the room was good and had plenty of power which is unusual as normally that is the ne thing that lets hotels down. Swimming pool was pleasant, good changing facilities and there is a robe, slippers and extra towels in the room if you want to make use of either this facility or the sauna. Word of warning no clothing allowed in the sauna.
1 out of 5
by Mark from LONDON

Hotel Spa out of order - informed upon arrival

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly, upon arrival to this hotel, the swimming pool, hot tub and steam room were undergoing maintenance. Normally, this wouldn't have been an issue save for the fact the entire choice of this hotel was based on being able to use the spa facilities. This was only mentioned at reception. No free upgrade was offer in lieu of the unavailable facilities. Overall, this was a disappointing stay and not worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Day trip to Berlin from Hamburg

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We would have rated better if we hadn't encountered several problems. 1. We got a parking ticket on hotel property in the first ten minutes of arrival with several other vehicles (everyone got a 10€ ticket). We were then instructed to park in the hotel parking garage which costs, you guessed it, 10€ overnight! 2. We ate at Kochkunst which was overall ok. We asked for gluten free bread and were told they would have to turn the ovens back on to warm it and it would take 20 minutes, this being too long apparently. We waited over 30 minutes for the entrées so it would have been fine. 3. Before booking we were told we could use the hotel facilities on checkout day until we left. When I inquired at the front desk for the cards to access the spa they tried to charge me 30€. The receptionist stated that there weren't any managers available. Finally, we were at breakfast, which is very good, and asked for our gluten free bread for my wife. We were told it would be warmed and served at the table. 40 minutes later we asked again and were told they didn't have any more. I asked if the manager was available and he was, which was in direct contradiction to what reception told me earlier that morning. Christian Heßler was very polite and apologetic and handled the situation pristinely. We were credited for the parking and given access to the facilities that day for as long as we liked. If it weren't for him, our stay would have been quite dismal. Many thanks to him!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Very good

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Good location, easy to get about as the public transport system was excellent. Rooms did not have air conditioning, ok for most of the years climate..... Hotel in the flight path, but no night flights a bonus! Excellent service, facilities, location. Very comfortable and relaxing environment. Would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England.

Perfect for a city break with a difference.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The spa and the staff especially Frederrick. (He was very helpful)
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is good for shopping as leisurely walks along the river. Lots of pavement cafe nearby. Also the train station is only a twenty minute walk.
This hotel maybe around a twenty minute train ride from the centre of Berlin, but it has so much to offer. The staff are friendly, have a good knowledge of the area and speak very good English. The spa is excellent. The pool is about twenty five metres long so you can do some proper swimming if you wish. The sauna is a must as is the jacuzzi. I hope to return one day.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Portsmouth

Amazing Spa and Gym... Location 6/10

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel by the river. Room was clean and made to a high standard and wifi was good. Brilliant hotel facilities as it was attached to a spa with 2 swimming pools and a very large gym with a lot of different equiptment. Didn't try the breakfast as it wasn't included in our stay - but I can imagine it was done to a high standard like the rest of the hotel and facilities CONS. It is near the airport so can be very loud. No air conditioning so our room got very hot. (And when we opened doors could hear planes loudly) Location - it was about an hour away from Berlin city centre although transport links were good and regular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NewYork, NY

Great gym on a lake

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Quiet neighborhood that's a 15 minute walk to old town Spandau. It is part fitness club - best gym I've ever seen in a hotel.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

Tegel Airport

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very close to Berlin airport , next to a lake . You can have a nice walk by the lake and canals
4 out of 5
by Sergei from Poznan

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Reasonable price, taking in mind SPA, free for hotel guests. Roof sauna and terrace are really relaxing experience after working day. Breakfast was good. Neighbourhood is just city landscape, nothing remarkable and pretty noisy, mostly because of planes flying over hotel from airport nearby. Free parking is just 'virtually' free - it is packed all the time, so that you need either hunt on released place or use paid parking. In general stay was OK, but without above mentioned issues it would be much better.