Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The hotel is in need of a revamp

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The staff were warm, welcoming and always helpful.
Cons: The room was "tired", well overdue for re-decoration and re-furnishing. be sure you are fit if you are planning to stay on 5th floor.
Location: set in the main shopping street, so lots of designer shopping options. Transport links very good and close to lots of good places to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Old, somewhat decrepit hotel in a nice area

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The sheets and bathroom were clean. The staff were polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was pretty good.
Cons: Get an elevator that goes all the way up to the top floor. Replace the broken furniture in the room. Fix the buckled floors. Get an adjustable heater.
Location: The hotel is on the famous Kurfürstendamm, with fancy shops nearby as well as restaurants, bars, and stores. Also close to the U-bahn and bus stops.
The business model of this hotel appears to be to provide economical prices for a rundown hotel in a nice area. The hotel lobby is actually on the second floor (which they call 1 in Germany). Most everything in this building is old and in need of repair or replacement. The elevator only goes up to the 5th floor and my room was on the 6th floor (5 in Germany). I had to get off on the 5th floor, walk down a long, narrow, winding hallway with buckled floors to a narrow twisting stairway to get to my floor. The room itself was hot with a heater that had no controls for the guest. The furniture was old and scratched. My room had a chair with an armrest that had been repaired with duct tape (I'm not kidding!). The desk area had an edge that was coming apart and nails were sticking out. Nonetheless, the staff were polite and helpful, the bathroom was fairly new, the sheets were clean, the breakfast buffet was decent, and the price was low for this area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: sound proofing.
The walls were paper thin, facilities were so so .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basic hotel located in the center

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Central location, basic comfort and breakfast. too expensive for what it offers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Excellent breakfast

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Very good location for visiting Berlin. Excellent breakfast. Efficient and friendly staff.
Cons: A bit more ventilation for the rooms in the roof!
Location: Lots of good restaurants nearby. On a bus route with very frequent service to Tegel airport one way and the centre of Berlin the other.
We booked an economy room which was fine, however the weather was very hot during our stay so our room which was at the top of the building got very warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong kong

Value for money

Posted Jul 31, 2015
A very basic hotel in an old building, but everything is working well. The location is very nice, stops for the bus to and from airport and u-bahn station is just few walks away. But if you are booking the cheapest room, be prepared that your room might be on the 5th floor, which has no elevator access and poorer wifi signal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Old city hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Location: Restaurant Mandagoras is nearby and we had the most delicious meal there.
This hotel had a very nice staff but the rooms had no AC, and the shower had a tilt window above it so if you were over 4ft tall you could not stand up in the shower. We had to kneel to take a shower. Not the most fun. Also no elevator to the 5th floor. Had to get off on 4th and walk down 3 different corridors to get to the "secret" 5th floor staircase which was a steep spiral. If you are older or handicapped this is not the hotel for you. On the positive side, the room was clean and breakfast buffet (included) was surprising plentiful and delicious. Plenty of meats, sausage, eggs, rolls, cereal, yougurt, cheeses, veggies, coffee and tea, and juice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No airconditioning with 39ºC (100ºF) heat, no fans

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
When we arrived the temperature was 39ºC (100ºF) and there was no airco, when we asked at least for a fan, we were told that they had none. When we checked out the next day to move to a hotel with airco they pretended to collect the whole stay for four nights, fortunately we had paid cash only for the first night. The rooms are very old, the safe was loose, anybody could just take the whole safe and make off with it and furthermore, it was operated by a copy of the master key for all safes, which obviously defeats the purpose. They also charged us € 14.98 in "city tax" but gave us no official receipt, just one receipt ticket that can be bought in any stationery store, and we were told that this could not be put on the bill like any other hotel does.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location - shame about the condition

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and its location
Cons: Décor - improved on-line descriptions - to not be described as 3 star
Location: Very convenient for the main shopping area
The good points were that the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast although just about ok it was a bit limited and tired - no fresh coffee for example - breakfast room was very small and could be very busy so little privacy - our main problem however was that when we arrived we found to our horror that although we thought we were booking into a 3 star hotel the room we were given met neither the written or on-line photo descriptions - we were provided with a very small room that was only just big enough to fit a double bed and a small side table and wardrobe - there was no armchair as the photo had suggested so for the 6 days we were there we had to use the bed as our chair - the bathroom was very dated and generally the décor was very tired throughout the hotel - carpets were threadbare, wall coverings had seen better timesand we had no view as we overlooked an inner quad that overlooked the kitchen with all its smells - in short were/are disappointed !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

nice hotel , placed in a good place.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The place in kurfusthendam strasse/
Easy to arriving from Tegel airport whit bus 109, and realy near to adenauer station. The room rate was normal ( breakfast was includet )/