Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great value family hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast selection. Short walk from a main train and underground station, ideal for travelling in and around the city. Perfect for a short break in Berlin!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal for a short break in Berlin

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, cracking price, decent location.
Location: Well connected to all parts of Berlin.
The Citylight Hotel is incredible value for money. The facilities are much better than you might expect at the price. OK, it is designed partly with school parties in mind but the rooms, breakfast room and lobby were bang on. The breakfast was a really good selection and the staff were really very welcoming and helpful. The location was a new district to me (I know Berlin reasonably well) and although it certainly isn't one of Berlin's most fashionable neighbourhoods, seemed perfectly safe. There was a decent local shopping centre by the train station (less then 5 minutes amble from the hotel) and the connections into different bits of town were excellent with 2 direct lines to the city centre as well as being on mainline trains and the ring S Bahn. Will stay there again without hesitation. No idea about eating or drinking out in the evening because we went out in Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg and Wedding - all of which very easy to get to on public transport.
5 out of 5
by Dale

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

A great upmarket youth hostel! And great value!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is rather like a very upmarket youth hostel, either very young people or older people on a budget. There was little noise from outside, but inside there was a certain amount of noise in the corridors - thin walls? A minor irritation was that my room was too warm even after turning down the radiators. Good points: excellent breakfast, convenient location - but the last section to the hotel could be a bit dark and scary for women after dark. In short: excellent value for money, highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
I would definetly go back to city light. Location is very central. The staff are so helpful and friendly. It has all the basic amenities. It is simple , but daily cleaning could be a bit more thorough. We stayed for 8 nights and it started to feel familiar ! The breakfast is great to start your day. However the wifi connection was very poor and unreliable. There was no TV access and they had one remote control for the entire place. And since there was only one staff at the desk in the evening ; they could not come to get the TV working. But again we are not big TV watchers.
5 out of 5
by Adrianne

Great for Kids

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast bar and breakfast area were great. Nice kids play area in breakfast area my kids enjoyed. My kids also really liked the bunk beds, our room had two sets of bunk beds so my two older kids were very happy not to have to fight for top bunk. Pack and play provided for my baby by hotel was nice and clean and already set up. Hotel was nice walking distance to metro and decent mall for shopping. I'd stay here again if we went back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect

Posted Feb 9, 2017
This is a great Central hotel. Easy to get to from the airport on the s ban approx 45 mins. Only 5 minute walk from the station. Room was clean and comfortable. Hospitality tray with tea and coffee, nice large shower and toiletries. Breakfast was included in our rate and was brilliant. All types of meats, cheeses, bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt. Would defiantly return and for longer
4 out of 5
by Nurul Asyikin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel-Aviv

OK hotel, near the S+U bahn station and shopping.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Location: Near the S+U bahn station, and shopping mall. It is opposite to a rock climbing center. No attractions in walking distance.
The hotel is OK, but that's about it. I cannot say that I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, but on the other hand I do not have anything bad to say either. The rooms are very basic (but clean), the beds were way too soft to my liking, and the bathroom is also very basic. I got a feeling as if it is more of a youth hostel than hotel, because some of the beds in my room were bunk beds. 3 out of the 4 nights of my stay the food served for breakfast was very basic: Hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereal, breads, some vegetables (tomatoes were bad, mushy/soft), yogurt and fruit. When I told them that my baby daughter does not like the hard boiled egg, and asked them if they can make her an omelette, they told me that it is not possible. On the last day of the stay they did serve scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages in addition to the hard boiled eggs, cheeses and cold cuts, so I do not understand why it was not possible to make the omelette for my baby. The furnishings in the dining room (that is more like a mess hall) is very basic, and is not suitable for small children because the chairs cannot be pulled up close to the table, so my young daughters had to sit on the edge of the chair in order for them to be close to the table. You are required to take your dishes off the table at the end of your meal, empty the scraps into a bin near the kitchen, and put the plates on a cart, and the cutlery in container on the cart. This adds to the mess hall vibe you get.