Get an overview of this hotelNear Museum Island

In historic center

Conveniently situated in Berlin's Mitte (central) district, this hotel is about 0.6 miles (1 kilometer) from Pergamon Museum on Museum Island and the Checkpoint Charlie Museum. The Brandenburg Gate is 1.2 miles (2 kilometers) away. A subway station is steps away.

Riverside dining

The restaurant features a summer patio by the River Spree. A spacious wellness center offers a fitness room. Free Internet access.

Satellite TV, minibars

Guestrooms at this Berlin hotel include living areas, TV, stocked minibars, and free wireless Internet access. Spacious bathrooms come with hair dryers and bathtubs.

Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst is in Berlin's historic core, with easy access to shopping, cultural attractions, restaurants, and businesses. A U-Bahn rapid-transit subway station is just outside the hotel.

At the hotel, Cana serves delicious oriental cuisine. In warm weather, guests can dine on a patio by the River Spree. A wellness center includes a fitness center.

Other amenities include a bar/lounge, a breakfast room, room service (limited hours), a 24-hour business and a 24-hour front desk. Limited parking nearby is possible for a surcharge.

  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Bar/lounge 
  • Breakfast available (surcharge) 
  • Coffee/tea in common areas 
  • Free newspapers in lobby 
  • 24-hour fitness facilities 
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service 
  • Elevator/lift 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Computer station 
  • Luggage storage 
  • Total number of rooms - 144 
  • Number of floors - 7 
  • Parking (limited spaces) 
  • Restaurant 
  • Self parking (surcharge) 
  • Offsite parking reservations required 
  • Free grocery shopping service 
  • Year Built 1998 
  • 24-hour business center 
  • Sauna 
  • Steam room 
  • Tours/ticket assistance 
  • Laundry facilities 
  • Multilingual staff 
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk 
  • Shopping on site 
  • Number of buildings/towers - 1 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Free Wi-Fi  
  • Laundry facilities  
  • Refrigerator  
  • Cribs/infant beds (complimentary)  

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge), Parking (limited spaces), Offsite parking reservations required

Room Amenities

  • Premium bedding 
  • Phone 
  • Refrigerator 
  • Coffee/tea maker 
  • Minibar (stocked, free items) 
  • Private bathroom 
  • Hair dryer 
  • Shower/tub combination 
  • In-room safe 
  • Desk 
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available 
  • Electric kettle 
  • Free bottled water 
  • Blackout drapes/curtains 
  • Satellite TV service 
  • Flat-panel TV 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Room service (limited hours) 
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available 
  • Free cribs/infant beds 
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge) 
  • Heating 

Where to Eat

Cana - Authentic Arab cuisine. Seasonal outdoor dining. Open for lunch and dinner.

Verona - Italian restaurant open daily for lunch and dinner.

Room service available during limited hours.

Additional dining options include the following nearby restaurants:

  • Shezan Restaurant
  • Restaurant Zur Gerichhtslaube

Nearby Things to Do

A wellness center includes a steam bath, sauna, and fitness facility.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby 

Spa Services

Hotel features sauna and steam bath.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-in time starts at 3 PM

Check-out

Check-out time is 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child 6 years old or younger stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for EUR 25 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets not allowed

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Noise-free rooms not guaranteed

Fees

A city tax is imposed by the city of Berlin. Business travelers with proof of business-related travel are exempt from this tax. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.
We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Fee for buffet breakfast: EUR 18 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: EUR 19 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Rollaway bed fee: EUR 25 per night
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

  • Derag Livinghotel Großer
  • Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst
  • Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst Berlin
  • Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst Hotel
  • Derag Livinghotel Großer Kurfürst Hotel Berlin
  • Großer Kurfürst

We should mention

One child 6 years old or younger stays free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Globe, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

Complimentary Internet for 1 hour

Hotel guests are entitled to 1 hour of complimentary wireless Internet use per day

Additional Internet usage is available for a surcharge.

National Rating

Hotelstars Union assigns an official star rating for properties in Germany. This property is rated 4 stars.


Sorry, we seem to have had an issue loading our review content. Try again?
Learn more.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

5 out of 5
by
Posted Dec 8, 2016
We had amazing time in this hotel and it was close to the center and had a metro right beside the hotel!! Defently come again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for your wonderful review to your stay! We are very happy and thankful for your kind words and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards from Berlin, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Great location

5 out of 5
by
Posted Dec 4, 2016
A great hotel in theperfect location for exploring Berlin, staff are really helpful and pleasant , oh! And the free beer and water helps
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, thank you so much for the great rating and review you left our hotel after your stay with us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forwar to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Decent value-for-money offer

3 out of 5
by
Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Hotel left a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on my birthday, very sweet of them. Hotel staff very helpful.
Cons: Couldn't seem to control heating, and it was a bit too warm at night. Opening the window helped a little, but not much.
Location: U2 stop just 30 seconds from hotel, most awesome. Walking distance to Museum Island, Nikolaiviertel, and Alexanderplatz.
Not too sure about hygiene - pillows still had one or two strands of hair when I checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, thank you for rating our hotel. We are always eager to improve ourselves; so we can only learn from feedback like yours. We are sorry for the strands of hair on your pillows. We would have been happy to change the sheets for your, of course. Please always talk to our staff at the Front Office. We will help you as best as we can and make you feel comfortable. Also the heating can be controlled from our staff at the Front Office. We hope you will come back to stay with us again. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

good location

4 out of 5
by from glasgow
Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: good coffee shop and supermarket next door uban station
handy for all public transport clean with free minibar
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for the great rating and review! We are happy you liked your stay with us and hope you will come back soon again. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Crap rooms

1 out of 5
by
Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Underground nearby is good. Expedia thinks this is too short, so let me repeat: the underground nearby is good.
Cons: I wrote a review of three different rooms at 55 words, but Expedia thinks it's too long. So here is the short version: the rooms are awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for taking time to rate and review our hotel. We are very sorry you did not like our rooms. Unfortunately, we cannot see what exactly did not fit your wishes. We hope, next time we can do better. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Good location for reaching many neighborhoodd

3 out of 5
by from amsterdam
Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: clean comfortable good housekeeping
Cons: receptions policies , food quality and prices
Location: central to interesting areas, but dull streed
Good clean hotel comfortable beds and most of staff friendly. location near U and nearby many diverse neighborhoods but not itself nearby so many nice things.. Staff usually friendly and nice - one night receptionist a bit grumpy at late hours but not all can keep smile at 3 am. When I needed a doctor I was not given a telephone number of a doctor for my partner, I was told to come back in morning and the doctor would come to hotel or I could go to first aid at Hospital. The client was not king as I needed only to call a doctor not have a house visit !! I instead looked up a doctor in neighborhood myself via a simple ap. and called the doctor instead of again bothering reception and using the hotels special service which i didnt need nor wished to pay for. Indian Restaurant has tasty food but the quality of lambs meat and shrimp was clearly from the freezer. Pity . Buffet breakfast 18 euro per person is crazy, we ate in Kreuzberg for 14 euro two people wonderful breakfast . Further the bikes to rent are wonderful Idea but I really dont appreciate a 23 hour curfew when the next day at 8 I need a bike again . stupid policy. All in all good hotel, but the negatives need improvement and the hotel was a bit ' Dull " as well for the prices it charges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for your very detailled feedback that helps us to understand, learn and improve. We would really like to beg your pardon for the behaviour of one of our colleagues at night. Of course we are more than happy to help you whenever we can. Here we made a mistake. Also it is possible to rent bikes for more than just one day. If you would like to rent a bike for two days and pay for them, of course there is no need to give them back at night and rent them again the next morning. We are very sorry for all the misunderstandings and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you of our service. Kind regards from Berlin, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

5 out of 5
by from Florida
Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: quite, spacious, clean, and reasonably priced
Cons: nothing
Location: convenient location, easy commute (metro station is just outside), and there are several restaurants right within 50 meters.
Enjoyed the spacious room, had nice dinners at restaurants close by, and everybody working there is very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for the perfect rating you gave our hotel and all of your heart-warming words. We are pleased to hear you found everything to your wishes and hope to see you back soon! Kind regards Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Outstanding! Great room, location, staff

5 out of 5
by from Canada
Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Comfort, location, service
Location: Museum Island, Märkishes Museum, Alexanderplatz, Kreuzberg, etc
What a wonderful surprise! Our stay was better in every way than I imagined it would be, given the terrific deal I got on the room. This is a luxurious hotel, where they really put thought and effort into making your stay enjoyable. We had a beautiful, quiet room facing the river Spree, there was fast & free wifi, the bathroom was gorgeous and spacious (with bidet), and the lofty inner atrium made everything feel even more elegant and roomy. The complimentary beer and water in the fridge were a friendly, welcoming touch. The staff were exceptionally friendly and professional--and very helpful. Also, the location can't be beat, and we were walking distance from world-class attractions as well as colourful local favourites. And if you want to go further afield, the U-Bahn (subway) is right around the corner. Thank you, Grosser Kurfürst Hotel! We'll certainly be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear Maryanne, we are overwhelmed by your review and would like to thank you from all our heart. We are happy to hear you enjoyed every bit of your stay in our hotel and expecially thank you for all of your praises regarding our staff. Really looking forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Has no air conditioning so very hot in the rooms

3 out of 5
by from Boston MA
Posted Jul 17, 2016
This could be a great hotel if it had air conditioning. The days I was there were hot and the rooms were not comfortable for sleeping. Opening the windows helped but then there was lots of street noise. Oddly they do have AC in the lobby but not on the guest floors. The positive include good sized rooms, free water and beer in the mini bar, a Corby trouser press, laundry machines in the basement. But all those good items are negated when the rooms at 25 C or more without the window open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for taking your time to rate and review our hotel. We are sorry if you had stressful nights due to the noise from the streets. If you are interested in it you could talk to our reservation system and book a room facing the riverside. These rooms are a lot more quiet at night. There is just a very small extra fee for booking these kind of rooms. We hope, you will be coming back again to stay with us so we can improve our first impression on you. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
Was this review helpful to you?

Great location next to the underground

5 out of 5
by
Posted Mar 16, 2016
All in all we had an excellent stay at the hotel, the only thing that let it down was the receptionist at check in who was quite rude and unhelpful. Apart from that the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Jessica Neumann - Front Office
Dear Guest, thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are so sorry for this bad check in. We have allready talkt to our Front of House Manager and with all the staff from the reception. We would be pleasend to welcome you for a second time in our hotel. With kind regards from berlin
Was this review helpful to you?