Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
We had amazing time in this hotel and it was close to the center and had a metro right beside the hotel!! Defently come again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for your wonderful review to your stay! We are very happy and thankful for your kind words and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards from Berlin, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
A great hotel in theperfect location for exploring Berlin, staff are really helpful and pleasant , oh! And the free beer and water helps
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for the great rating and review you left our hotel after your stay with us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forwar to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value-for-money offer

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Hotel left a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on my birthday, very sweet of them. Hotel staff very helpful.
Cons: Couldn't seem to control heating, and it was a bit too warm at night. Opening the window helped a little, but not much.
Location: U2 stop just 30 seconds from hotel, most awesome. Walking distance to Museum Island, Nikolaiviertel, and Alexanderplatz.
Not too sure about hygiene - pillows still had one or two strands of hair when I checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for rating our hotel. We are always eager to improve ourselves; so we can only learn from feedback like yours. We are sorry for the strands of hair on your pillows. We would have been happy to change the sheets for your, of course. Please always talk to our staff at the Front Office. We will help you as best as we can and make you feel comfortable. Also the heating can be controlled from our staff at the Front Office. We hope you will come back to stay with us again. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

good location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: good coffee shop and supermarket next door uban station
handy for all public transport clean with free minibar
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for the great rating and review! We are happy you liked your stay with us and hope you will come back soon again. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crap rooms

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Underground nearby is good. Expedia thinks this is too short, so let me repeat: the underground nearby is good.
Cons: I wrote a review of three different rooms at 55 words, but Expedia thinks it's too long. So here is the short version: the rooms are awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for taking time to rate and review our hotel. We are very sorry you did not like our rooms. Unfortunately, we cannot see what exactly did not fit your wishes. We hope, next time we can do better. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Good location for reaching many neighborhoodd

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: clean comfortable good housekeeping
Cons: receptions policies , food quality and prices
Location: central to interesting areas, but dull streed
Good clean hotel comfortable beds and most of staff friendly. location near U and nearby many diverse neighborhoods but not itself nearby so many nice things.. Staff usually friendly and nice - one night receptionist a bit grumpy at late hours but not all can keep smile at 3 am. When I needed a doctor I was not given a telephone number of a doctor for my partner, I was told to come back in morning and the doctor would come to hotel or I could go to first aid at Hospital. The client was not king as I needed only to call a doctor not have a house visit !! I instead looked up a doctor in neighborhood myself via a simple ap. and called the doctor instead of again bothering reception and using the hotels special service which i didnt need nor wished to pay for. Indian Restaurant has tasty food but the quality of lambs meat and shrimp was clearly from the freezer. Pity . Buffet breakfast 18 euro per person is crazy, we ate in Kreuzberg for 14 euro two people wonderful breakfast . Further the bikes to rent are wonderful Idea but I really dont appreciate a 23 hour curfew when the next day at 8 I need a bike again . stupid policy. All in all good hotel, but the negatives need improvement and the hotel was a bit ' Dull " as well for the prices it charges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for your very detailled feedback that helps us to understand, learn and improve. We would really like to beg your pardon for the behaviour of one of our colleagues at night. Of course we are more than happy to help you whenever we can. Here we made a mistake. Also it is possible to rent bikes for more than just one day. If you would like to rent a bike for two days and pay for them, of course there is no need to give them back at night and rent them again the next morning. We are very sorry for all the misunderstandings and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you of our service. Kind regards from Berlin, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: quite, spacious, clean, and reasonably priced
Cons: nothing
Location: convenient location, easy commute (metro station is just outside), and there are several restaurants right within 50 meters.
Enjoyed the spacious room, had nice dinners at restaurants close by, and everybody working there is very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for the perfect rating you gave our hotel and all of your heart-warming words. We are pleased to hear you found everything to your wishes and hope to see you back soon! Kind regards Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Outstanding! Great room, location, staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Comfort, location, service
Location: Museum Island, Märkishes Museum, Alexanderplatz, Kreuzberg, etc
What a wonderful surprise! Our stay was better in every way than I imagined it would be, given the terrific deal I got on the room. This is a luxurious hotel, where they really put thought and effort into making your stay enjoyable. We had a beautiful, quiet room facing the river Spree, there was fast & free wifi, the bathroom was gorgeous and spacious (with bidet), and the lofty inner atrium made everything feel even more elegant and roomy. The complimentary beer and water in the fridge were a friendly, welcoming touch. The staff were exceptionally friendly and professional--and very helpful. Also, the location can't be beat, and we were walking distance from world-class attractions as well as colourful local favourites. And if you want to go further afield, the U-Bahn (subway) is right around the corner. Thank you, Grosser Kurfürst Hotel! We'll certainly be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear Maryanne, we are overwhelmed by your review and would like to thank you from all our heart. We are happy to hear you enjoyed every bit of your stay in our hotel and expecially thank you for all of your praises regarding our staff. Really looking forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Has no air conditioning so very hot in the rooms

Posted Jul 17, 2016
This could be a great hotel if it had air conditioning. The days I was there were hot and the rooms were not comfortable for sleeping. Opening the windows helped but then there was lots of street noise. Oddly they do have AC in the lobby but not on the guest floors. The positive include good sized rooms, free water and beer in the mini bar, a Corby trouser press, laundry machines in the basement. But all those good items are negated when the rooms at 25 C or more without the window open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Derag Livinghotels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we kindly thank you for taking your time to rate and review our hotel. We are sorry if you had stressful nights due to the noise from the streets. If you are interested in it you could talk to our reservation system and book a room facing the riverside. These rooms are a lot more quiet at night. There is just a very small extra fee for booking these kind of rooms. We hope, you will be coming back again to stay with us so we can improve our first impression on you. Kind regards, Melanie Koball / Shiftleader Front Office
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location next to the underground

Posted Mar 16, 2016
All in all we had an excellent stay at the hotel, the only thing that let it down was the receptionist at check in who was quite rude and unhelpful. Apart from that the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Jessica Neumann - Front Office, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are so sorry for this bad check in. We have allready talkt to our Front of House Manager and with all the staff from the reception. We would be pleasend to welcome you for a second time in our hotel. With kind regards from berlin