Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel and especially the room smelled extremely like smoke. Even after having the window open for hours there was still a very u pleasant smell that sermed to come from inside the building. Would not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by Andy from New York

Tiny Room, Shabby Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Interesting location across from East Side Gallery (remnant of Berlin Wall). Our room faced the other side -- a sanitation facility.
Cons: Better information about the room assigned. Higher priority for Expedia members.
Location: Close to transportation.
Tiny room, shower did not work well. Hotel was shabby. Other rooms looked nicer (we peeked inside). I should have contacted Expedia immediately upon arrival to find something better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mario from Dubrovnik, Croatia

Great value

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Over all a decent hotel. However, very good price. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynne from Hertfordshire, UK

simple comfort.

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Pros: convenience
Cons: size of bed
Location: very convenient to Kreuzberg and Frederichain
Bed in single room was small, but otherwise all was ok. Lifts do not give access directly to the floor of the bedroom, so not good for anyone with limited mobility. Pleasant staff, and convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from england

good 2* accomadation

Posted Sep 26, 2011
the staff were very friendly with an excellent command of english. the hotel was easy to find, right next to the metro line and offered a very ggod breakfast. it also has a restuarant menu and 24hr food. the room was on the small side and could do with a bit of redecoration (cigarette burns on carpet, sealant on shower a little discoloured etc) but overall a good room for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location budget hotel

Posted May 1, 2011
Very convenient for transport links to the centre and a lot going on in the local area. Good value for the price, very good breakfast. Only niggle was that the wifi did not work in my room (on the 3rd floor) but could get on to it ok downstairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Cheap travel in Berlin

Posted Mar 23, 2011
Overall the hotel was decent. It was cheap, so I didn't expect much. The lock on my door broke the second night and some guy that didn't speak English was sent to help me. He said they couldn't fix it until the morning and if I wanted to go in and out I would have to find him to open my door! Evenutally the front receptionist offered to switch me rooms, but I was so tired by that time. I knew I wasn't leaving my room for the night, so I just dealt with it. Not that big of a deal, but it was a pain in the butt since I had been sightseeing for over 10 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Nice Hotel near the East Side Gallery

Posted Oct 20, 2010
This is a nice hotel directly across from the East Side Gallery where a remaining length of the Wall is covered with commemorative artwork. It is an inexpensive hotel but very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is terrific with a variety of choices depending on your tastes and mood. I had a couple dinners there as well which were good and quite reasonably priced. My room was a single and, as such, was quite small: a bed, a desk, and a large shelved closet. The bathroom also was small, but adequate. The accommodations were pretty much what I'd expected: a good place to crash at the end of days exploring Berlin. Within a couple blocks is an underground station as well as an S-train (above ground) stop. If you're on a limited budget, I don't see how you could do better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

East side hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2010
The hotel wasn't too bad. It isn't prepared to go out of its way for you very much. The night staff was very friendly. Be aware that paying for a triple room will only get you a double room plus a cot. I'm not sure where they cot would fit, seeing as the rooms are small in the first place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Top hotel for the price

Posted Sep 11, 2009
Really friendly service, good bar (with typically twisted German art on the wall- excellent)and decent breakfast. Not five star luxury, and a bit down at heel perhaps, but an excellent choice for its price bracket.