Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good wifi throughout and very friendly/good service from staff. When rooms were cleaned tea/coffee facilities not replenished and new clean cups not provided. Also the hotel bar was not open late.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warning - Hotel only has single beds.

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Myself and my wife both in our mid 30s traveled from the UK. We had booked four nights. We booked through Hotels.com as the hotel advertised the option of a double bed. I made a specific request for a double and also specifically asked that we did not want two singles pushed together. On arrival to our room there was two single beds of course! I immediately phoned reception, explained our request made at the booking stage from weeks ago and requested a room with a double bed. I was told every room in the hotel has single beds only. And I mean single beds! All single bed linen, two separate single duvets etc. Some rooms I was told are even unsuitable to push the single beds together, with wooden units in between the beds. The first night the lock on our room door failed to function meaning the door was open to anybody that wanted to let themselves into our room!.. Not very reassuring and unsafe. We were forced to change rooms without any assistance offered with our baggage. At checkout I explained to Fau, the lady behind the desk of our dissatisfaction with our stay and to explain how any guest could get a double bed when in fact the hotel does not possess any double beds, and all rooms have single beds? She looked at me in silence, knowing the hotel misrepresents the rooms. You are selling rooms that do not exist, this is false advertising I proclaimed. No response other than a smile from Fau. No offer of compensation, or even an apology. Zero customer service offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE! STAFF ARE SO RUDE

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a joke, do not stay here or book. They left my wife in tears because their attitudes were so bad and the staff is so rude on our honeymoon! No consideration for their customers at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.. You're better off staying at the Palace Hotel about 5 mins away which completely looked after us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Yours sincerely Evelyn Schönherr – Knaak General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Quiet hotel in a central location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The central location, food located at the hotel, near shops, cleanliness and neat outdoor seating. Free Wi-Fi access with good connection.
Cons: The room was comfortable but the bed was very hard and the pillows were way too soft so I had some trouble sleeping.
Location: Central spot in West Berlin - easy access to buses and metro.
I stayed at the Golden Tulip since the conference I was attending was being held there. The hotel was in a very good location, quiet, clean, within walking distance of restaurants, the KaDeVe, S&U stops and a very central bus line. Staff was nice, room was a good size especially for Europe :).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by K.Unger, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review! Next time we can offer you different types of pillows for relaxing sleeping. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central on leafy side street

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Great experience here. Excellent hotel restaurant with leafy terrace and engaged friendly service. Comfortable crisp clean large bed sitting room with fresh air open windows. Felt welcome and at home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

disgrace to call 4 star

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
expected more, room was so small and was two mattresses pushed together, that's all the hotel have
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denbigh uk

Brill hotel

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Liked everything
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Great location
Lovely hotel, check inn was efficient, room very nice and spacious. Very clean, breakfast set us up for the day. Within easy reach of all tourist views. Bus stop across road from hotel. 1st class stay.
4 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by gagandeep

Clean... but internet was not working

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Internet was not working and despite my complaint... it was not fixed in the two days I was there. Also, the room has a smoke detector right on top of the bed and this detector has a small amber light. At night, this was pretty annoying as I like pitch dark while sleeping. The curtains were thin and morning light could easily wake you up.