Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romania

Great for the first-timers

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
I left my country to visit Berlin by myself. It was a fantastic experience and I don't regret that I went alone. It was really easy for me to get there from the SXF "flughafen" and once I got to the hostel, I felt really welcome by the staff. Rooms are really OK, bathrooms too. I walked over 50km in 3 days, but that's only because I love doing the sightseeing this way, most of the attractions are really close. If you're not a fan of long walk, the friedrichstrasse station is really close. I loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle, england

Perfectly placed, central hostel in Mitte

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Very easy transportation from both airports TXL & SXF, right next to oranienburgerstraße s-bahn station and the great bars and eateries in the area, a couple of stations away from the main ring of the transport system on one side, and alexanderplatz on the other. There's a bit of a H2G2 theme throughout the hostel, brilliantly thought out artwork all over the place. Our room had a shower and a sink this time, they were well placed and the sink unit doubles up as a modesty screen to stop you getting the full frontal from your roommate. The option of communal showers in the corridors is there, and they are well maintained and kept very clean. That's right folks, people have respect for each other and the facilities they use here :) double plus good No beer or cooking in the rooms - fantastic idea, their bar downstairs is very competitively priced (though could do with a schwartzbier ;) ) and for the most parts the residents are pretty friendly - and the lounge is very comfortable. Very eclectic mix of music depending on who's on the bar/counter, heard everything from litfiba to pink floyd to new age mixes. Our room was above the bar/reception and was so well insulated that we couldn't hear anything from the bar after the tough decision to go and crash out was made. The pizza/pasta place on the corner is top notch food wise, and the silberfisch bar is across the road (legendary). This is an absolutely awesome place and I will definitely be back next year
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Your Heart of Gold Hostel, Hotel Management
Dear Damien, thank you for your very positive review. We are over the moon that you recognized our theme from the Hitchhiker's Guide!! We are looking forward to seeing you next year, maybe we will even have Schwarzbier in our sortiment by then ;) Best wishes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hostel

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hostel was catered towards student travellers, so we were worried the rooms would be quite noisy at night. The common areas did get a little noisy, but generally after 11pm it was quiet. The rooms were clean and there are lockers provided to keep your belongings safe. The communal bathrooms were quite clean, however, it depended on who lived in the hostel at the time (we were lucky as everyone seemed to keep the common areas clean).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We hope to see you next time again :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
I've never stayed in a hostel before and I don't think I will again. Although I was not suspicious of anyone in my room. I still did not like having to lock up my stuff.
4 out of 5
by Emma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The only real positive things about this hostel that it is in the centre of Berlin, has good transport links and serves cheap beer. The beds are of poor quality and do not all have access to a plug or light. There are not enough toilets/bathrooms for the huge number of beds the hostel has. The staff are generally rude and disinterested. The hostel is regularly frequented by large groups of very young (18-19 year old) travellers who just want to get drunk and party. The hostel has no interest in organise any activities or trying to foster a communal atmosphere. This hostel is not ideal for solo travellers and is at best average to mediocre.
4 out of 5
by Samantha from Midland, MI, US

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was near many metro stations which made transport easy. Felt off the beaten path but full of life and people!
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels