Ratings based on 995 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Quirky hotel. Not your usual decor but a pleasant experience
3 out of 5
by Gertrude

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and charming

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Unique and charming feel - a walk into the 19th century. Small, personable, with a great little bar and restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel with charm

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was good value for money and excellently placed near Potsdamer Platz and many sights were within robust walking distance. It also had excellent transport links to the airports with trains, buses and UBahn nearby. There was plenty of modestly priced eating nearby and two excellent, cheap restaurants serving German specialities practically next door. Our room was very large with a 4 poster bed, Chaise, 2 armchairs desk etc. However it was to the front which was noisy. We thought of asking to move to the back but enjoyed the fading elegance of the room so much that we decided to put up with the traffic noise. We got used to it. The hotel fittings are not modern but it had a certain fading elegance and all the essentials worked very well, our room also had tea and coffee making facilites. The staff were very efficient and helpful. We thought the Altberlin excellent value for money and not the usual sterility of modern chains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This could be a great value hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Wotif
This place is charming. Well located to most of Berlin's attractions and reasonable rates. Unfortunately, I concur with earlier comments, to the effect that reception staff are at best indifferent and one is downright rude. Such a shame.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frustrating

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The receptionist of the afternoon is so rude, that it is unbelievable. The hotel cannot be sold as "has elevator" because you still have a high staircase to climb with the luggage. The WiFe is rare and they tell you, we know there is a problem. If you need WiFi don't go. Hard to recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveneint, clean and freindly hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
A very pleasant family run hotel. A very sympathetic and practical upgrade of a historic building. Room very comfortable and quiet. Buffet breakfast excellent. Well placed for access to many Berlin city highlights and attractions, and lots of public transport options. Staff excellent. Overall Hotels.com value excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ramsgate, Kent

Shabby chic or in need of modernisation

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Large airy rooms
Cons: Charm
Location: 15 minutes walk or a five minute bus ride away from Potzdammer Platz connecting you to wherever.
A bit off the beaten track in an "improving" area but buses stop right outside so just five minutes from Potzdammer Platz itself. A lap dancing club opposite adds(?) to the charm. Rooms are all different but largely generous and high ceiling end; our bathroom was a shower room only and compact but adequate; brass/iron bed was very comfortable and possessed fairy lights! Reasonably quiet considering it is on a main road. Depending on your point of view, charming or decrepit; I loved it. The staff all speak English and are very obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than your normal modern box room hotels..

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Helpful friendly staff, nice little lounge and bar.
Cons: Bit noisy one morning at 6 a.m. but maybe not hotel's fault?
Location: Bus stop into central Berlin right outside the door, or 10 mins walk to the Sony Center
This nice little hotel is 10-15 mins walk from Potsdamer Platz. It has an older charm, not your run-of-the-mill modern boxroom. We booked a regular room and ended up with a small suite. Comfortable, spacious, clean and warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel with Potential but not so great

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The Hotel has potential however the upkeep is poor. The staff attitude needs severe adjustment, Germany or not when a guest ask a question the reception staff should not roll their eyes at them, it's plain rude in every corner of the planet. The room had a crack between the celing and the wall. The minifridge to at least cool water did not work, the bathroom shower was clogged, the curtain dirty and the toilet almost underneath the sink. Not to mentioned the room is located on a busy street and the room had a bus stop in front of it. The room was warm so we try to open the window to get air but the noise from the party people was infallible. The tip of the iceberg was when one night we decide to eat at the hotel restaurant and the staff proceed to tell us ot was closed for private guests. Nevermind I'm a guest or the other guests, apparently we don't matter if we spent money to stay in your hotel. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.