Ratings based on 4,927 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, a short walk to a main area.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Omar's customer service.
Our flight was cancelled, the day before we were due to leave, which caused us a lot of unnecessary stress. The guest services man, Omar, was extremely helpful. He spent two hours on the phone to our airline at 23.00pm trying to reschedule us another flight. Omar then changed our transfer times to the airport. We were very grateful that a member of staff really took the time to sort out our problem. Omar gave us five star treatment, he reassured us and even telephoned me personally the following day to make sure we had arrived home safely! This is exactly what customer service is all about. Gold star for Omar. We cannot thank him enough. He is a great asset to Hotel Berlin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Fabulous place to stay in Berlin - Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your great 5 star review on Expedia. We are pleased to read, that you felt comfortable in staying with us and that you enjoyed your trip to Berlin. Therefore, we hope, that we welcoming you again soon. All the best and many greetings from Berlin,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Good size rooms and nice to have a fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review and your open words. It is nice to read, that you felt comfortable in staying with us and that you enjoyed your trip to Berlin. We hope, that we can welcoming you again soon. All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice hotel. Central location.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Clean, affordable, close to shopping district and restaurants. Accommodating staff. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for your nice review on Expedia. It is nice to read, that you enjoyed your stay at the "Hotel Berlin, Berlin". We hope, that we welcoming you back soon. All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nv

Decent hotel great for walking or biking

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Your basic hotel room for a low price. If you're looking for a place to lay your head and that's it, this place is it. It's not close to many tourist attractions, in fact it's about 30 min walk to the nearest. They do have rental bikes at 12€ a day to help with the distance. The Berlin Zoo is right down the street. Food at the hotel can be expensive. On the bright side however there is a Lidl right down the road if you want to shop for food to save a little money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your rating on this site. It is nice to read that you have been comfortable with us. The hotel offers the ideal starting point for a sightseeing tour through west berlin. If you have any questions or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have also received your advice on pricing at the bar and will discuss this internally. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the hotel. Best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton, UK

Great hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This is a great hotel, it is right in the heart of Berlin and is a perfect base to explore this great City. The hotel itself was super busy, there was a men's handball competition going on nearby and it seemed all the teams were staying there! But the hotel coped with it so easily & the only place that was noticeabley busy was breakfast in the morning whatever time really. Again though the hotel seemed completely geared up for it so it was no issue whatsoever. We had a superior room at a ridiculously good rate through expedia and it was fantastic. It was clean, had a free safe, great tv (except barely anything English) great bathroom and shower, just couldn't fault the hotel or staff. One small gripe was the price of food & drink etc but no worse than any other big hotel in a major European City I guess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Martin, thank you for your great review on Expedia. We are very pleased to read, that you felt comfortable in staying with us and that you enjoyed your trip to Berlin. This positive lines are a great motivation for all of us. We hope, that we welcoming you again soon. All the best,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Disappointing room

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Clean sheets and towels. Large breakfast area.
Location: The bus and train station are nearby. There aren't many restaurants around.
I booked a superior oom with a king bed, thinking that it'd be more convenient and spacious as we have a toddler. But it was no different than a standard room, with almost no living area and two twin beds. Let alone there was no extra pillow, there were actually no pillows, we had only 2 cushions, which are definitely not comfortable. When informed, no action taken. This shouldn't be a VIP+ hotel as they're not offering anything special. The breakfast was OK, but you may find limited stuff for your kids. Housekeeping was also inefficient. We found our garbage on the floor after they clean the room. They never refilled the toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Simay, Thank you for your review and your open words. We apologize for the inconvenience at your stay and the bad impressions that you took on the way back home. You are right, this is absolutely not our standard we favor. Therefore, we have note your feedback and send it on all relevant departments to discuss it internally. We hope, that we get a seconde chance from you, to show you, that we can do it better. All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large Hotel in a convenient location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Very little
Location: Close to the centre of Berlin with Shops located fairly close and not to far from the main sites.
The hotel is conveniently located with a good range of facilities. It is ideal for a short break and easy to get to from Tegel Airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review on this portal. We are pleased to read, that you felt comfortable in staying with us and that we are the perfekt starting point for your Berlin trip. We hope, that we welcoming you again soon. All the best,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Average hotel with good price

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: price
Cons: more bed options
Location: old part of germany
Most annoying thing is that within the reasonable price range all beds are twin beds!! you and your couple have to sleep on different beds with annoying space in the middle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear K, Thank you for your review on this site. We apologize for the inconvenience at your stay. Our rooms are equipped with different beds. If you want a king size bed, you can tell us with your booking and we write it down in our system. At your next stay, we can have look, that you get a room with a king size bed. We hope, that we welcoming you again. Many greetings from Berlin,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, rooms.
Cons: More tea and coffee in rooms. Bottle of water in rooms on day of arrival.
Location: Handy for sightseeing bus stop, good location for shops and restaurants.
Really enjoyed our stay, special mention for staff at reception who made us really welcome. Thank you for the room upgrade it was much appreciated. Thanks also to bar staff who were also very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Stefanie , Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your great 5 star review on Expedia. We are pleased to read, that you felt comfortable in staying with us and that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin. Nevertheless, we have note your feedback and send it on the relevant departments. We hope,that we welcoming you again soon. All the best,