Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Ubahn, small rooms, friendly staff ,clean

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The hotel is close to Ubahn, friendly staff, 24hr desk. The rooms are a bit small . entire hotel is non smoking .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2016 by Sibylle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks a lot for the review. Our rooms start small and expand with price. Next time spend a little bit more and give it a try. A smokers corner is in a cosy corner close to reception in open air with central heating on the wall. Sorry that you did not find it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Very clean, and easy parking.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Easy walking distance for supermarket.
The lift broke down, but was ok again shortly after. The breakfast could be better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2016 by Sibylle, Hotel Management
Sorry that you did not like the breakfast. What was wrong? Details help us to understand where we should improve. Please come again and tell us. Or find out, that our breakfast can also be delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Charming hotel with character close to metro

Posted May 21, 2015
I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay at the Hotel Brandies Berlin. It had old world charm with modern amenities. Room was spacious and comfortable. It had character and felt unique. I enjoyed using an old school key rather than a key card. The elevator was an experience all its own and was a pleasing step back in time. The wifi worked great and I was able to easily stream content from Netflix with no issues. Breakfast was very good though seating was a bit limited in prime morning hours. The location isn't right in the heart of the Berlin attractions but it's in a nice area and is a 1 minute walk to the metro station. The public transportation in Berlin is fantastic so that's a plus for the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2016 by Sibylle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your phantastic overwhelming comment. We are very pleased and hope you will once come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

stayed one night would go back again 5*

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: comfortable spacious room greta bed greta breakfast
Cons: heating in room
Location: easy access to city form U2 15 yards outside hotel
Stayed one nigth cold time of year room wasnt all that warm i asked for extra blankets not a problem excellent big room well furnished really comfortable bed and great breakfast staff very attentive and friendly will go back again for certain best hotel for a long while
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you soon again in Hotel Brandies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Rochester Kent uk

very clean

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Cons: The lift
it was very clean and well situated for my purpose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Lovely 1910 Hotel.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Age and very funky elevator that was silent.
Cons: Room lighting was hard on eyes. Incandescent lamps should be changed from clear to frosted. Lamp shades would help.
Location: Very central and close to nice park.
Loved the creaky floors and 100 year old elevator. Neat and clean. Great balcony over main street. Excellent breakfast for a reasonable cost. Would come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great old place, creaky floors

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: How easy it was to hire bike and visit all the sights. Really spacious rooms. There is also a laundromat nearby!
Cons: The floorboards
Fantastic area, hire bikes from hotel, lovely staff, great breakfast. Only thing that was a problem was the creaky floors in the room. We couldn't even talk to each other if one was moving around, it was really loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich gb

excellent location and brilliant breakfasts

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: everything mentioned above
Cons: Just great as it was
Location: Next to underground and then easy access to city sites. Also within walking distance of city site seeing bus route.
Superb location next to underground station. Fantastic old lift and spacious bedrooms. Very good continental breakfasts and staff were very helpful. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

5 star Brandies

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere, the feeling that this hotel belonged in Berlin with its courtyard garden and old fashioned lift, it's closeness to the tube.
Cons: The weather! The first two days were cloudy and cold, the last day blue skies (still cold though).
Location: Good local shopping, restaurants, try Lindenwertin nearby for excellent food, beer and very helpful staff, Schloss Ch, the tube direct to the city
For a weekend break in Berlin designed to go Christmas "Marketing" and sightseeing we needed a simple base close to public transport and at a reasonable cost. There were five of us, two couples and a single, and to our joy the Hotel Brandies far exceeded our modest expectations. The welcome and attitude of the receptionist and all the staff was friendly and relaxed, the rooms were clean and reasonably sized, no problems with draughts or noise and the breakfast was good, varied and plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

5 star Brandies

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere, the feeling that this hotel belonged in Berlin with its courtyard garden and old fashioned lift, it's closeness to the tube.
Cons: The weather! The first two days were cloudy and cold, the last day blue skies (still cold though).
Location: Good local shopping, restaurants, try Lindenwertin nearby for excellent food, beer and very helpful staff, Schloss Ch, the tube direct to the city
For a weekend break in Berlin designed to go Christmas "Marketing" and sightseeing we needed a simple base close to public transport and at a reasonable cost. There were five of us, two couples and a single, and to our joy the Hotel Brandies far exceeded our modest expectations. The welcome and attitude of the receptionist and all the staff was friendly and relaxed, the rooms were clean and reasonably sized, no problems with draughts or noise and the breakfast was good, varied and plentiful.