Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently situated hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a good value given the location. We didn't opt for the buffet breakfast on account of the bakeries and Starbucks in the area. The bed wasn't ask that comfy and the walls were pretty thin but luckily the other guests kept pretty quiet.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Out n about

Good enough

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
I actually only stayed here because all other hotels were full. It is disgusting how much the prices go up because of a convention in town. A 400 euro per week hotel went up to 1200 for the same crappie room. Anyway Castell was comfy the people nice. The area is good enough I mean if you want the Rolex store or Pravda!!!
1 out of 5
by Ibrahim from Egypt

A problem

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hi, I am having a real problem here, could not come yesterday in checking time due to personal issue, today I arrived but the hotel sold the room to another guest and refused to let me check in! Please sort this problem, I am staying in the street now and cannot go anywhere! Please get in contact with the hotel order to let me in or refund the amount to me
5 out of 5
by Flora martinez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cole from USA

great price for posh area...

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels
the hotel is older and probably in need of some improvement...but the style is consistent with older European hotels...there is no A/C and the walk from the nearest train station can be long if you are carrying/dragging bags with you (or if the weather is hot)...the area is very nice with all the top fashions shops within easy walking distance...there are numerous cafes and restaurants to choose from, but not much of a nightlife (past 10PM)...overall a great value considering the location as long as you can live without A/C or a lot of amenities that you may get with more current hotels...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catie from Sydney NSW, Australia

No frills hotel in a great location.

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: The simplicity, the dining room and the location.
Cons: No tea and coffee making facilities.
Location: Excellent location, close to transport, shops and restaurants.
This is a pokey, old fashioned, no-nonsense hotel right in the heart of Berlin. My room was clean and comfortable and had a nice outlook onto some trees and ivy. The dining room was light-filled and a decent buffet breakfast available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Rob from London, UK

Good location dated decor

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: The location
Cons: The decor and general look of the building
Location: Close to public transport links to Central Berlin and ease of getting to and from the Airport
Although the hotel is in a good location and is close to public transport links to central Berlin it is in need of updating and the decor is a "little tired" . The staff are friendly and the breakfast was ok. The room we were in was next to the reception and was could be noisy at times. The furniture in the room was very basic although the bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2011 on Hotels