Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Hotel is friendly, charming and perfectly located near the S-Bahn and surrounded by great restaurants, shopping, bank, trams and a fun neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Good place to stay in Berlin

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: friendly service excellent breakfast
Location: plenty of cafes and bars
only a short break but very enjoyable, hotel facilities excellent would definitely stay here again next time I travel to Germany.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of town

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Location: Location is terrible, nothing interesting nearby and front door is next to all the trams........
This hotel is very nice....however....it is a ways out of the middle of town where all the sights are....and our room happened to be on the first floor, with windows opening to where all the trams hang out....and NO A/C. Also, the receptionist was not particularly friendly. If none of these things bother you....the hotel is very nice!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2010
We found the hotel to be very nice and comfortable. It was in an area with a large number of restaurants and was a few minutes walk to a large shopping area. Around the corner was a train station so in poor weather or for long journeys there was that convenience. The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was good, both in terms of the food served and the surroundings. Again the staff was excellent. The hotel is located near Musum Island and and the cathedral and is within about a 20 min walk to Brandenburg Gate; so the location is excellent. All in all, Berlin is a great place to visit and this hotel certainly contribtes to that feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve & Chris from London

Great budget hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2009
We were very happy with this hotel. Clean, comfortable and convenient. The room was small, with the double bed against the wall, but as we were out and about all day, we were not bothered about this. My only other my point would be that the room was too hot, even when the radiator was shut off, but the window opened ok so this was not a big issue. We'd definitley use it again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you want to save money on hotel breakfast, there is a simple cafe at the station (2 minutes walk) or head down the Spandauer Strasse past the station and you will find several cafes there and on Unter Den Linden (5 minutes walk).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Great location for museums

Posted Nov 9, 2009
Hotel Hackescher Markt is in a great location to see al teh major sights of Berlin. It is exceptionally well-placed to get to Museum Island. The hotel rooms are fairly basic, and could do with some additional comforts. Front rooms are noisy because of all the trams outside in early morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location

Posted May 31, 2009
Hotel Hackescher Markt is a great location, convenient to metro line and to the central sights. We stayed on the courtyard side and it was nice and quiet. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable hotel in an excellent area with plenty of superb restaurants in easy walking distan

Posted Mar 21, 2009
We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and Trip Advisor and we couldn't have been more delighted. It's true the standard rooms are a little small, but how much do you really need on a short city break? We feel it really isn't worth paying extra for facilities you won't use. The hotel is clean and the staff are most helpful and genuinely friendly. Location-wise it is superb. Very close to the S-Bahn station, with many restaurants and bars on a couple of minutes walk away. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and found several places nearby, all friendly and very reasonable. Don't miss the market outside the station on Thursday and Saturday! We will certainly book this hotel again on future visits and we would be very happy to recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RB from Washington, DC

Simple, Great, Clean, Central, Great Staff, Great Value.

Posted Feb 18, 2009
I had just everything I needed in the room and even if it was small, it was very clean, everything worked perfectly and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Nov 24, 2008
I stayed here for two nights on business. The room was very comfortable if a little small and the room and hotal in general was very clean and importantly very peaceful. This was lucky as England were playing football in Berlin on one of the nights. The breakfast buffet was of a good standard and everyone spoke perfect English. Check in and out was very simple. Only thing I'd suggest is that the Wi-Fi should be free and not an additional 13EUR per 24hrs. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Alexanderplatz and there are some great cafes, bars and restaurants in the local area. If you like shopping then you'll like this area. Local trams, taxis and trains are all right by the hotel.