Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Great location, and the room was comfortable!
Cons: The hall smelled like smoke but it was't too bad
Location: Brandenburg gate was about 15 min walk, the Berlin memorial is also pretty close by.
The hotel room was a little small but we didn't mind at all because everything was walking distance, the only downside is that the hallway smelled like smoke which didn't really bug us because our room did't smell bad. The hotel staff was good, and overall it was a great deal for the awesome location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine if you're on a budget

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This place is basic. Very old building. The rooms are on the second floor with no lift. My room was clean but it's like living in a dark communist apartment. Bare bones. Dim light. Dark maroon colors. The neighborhood is quiet but the walls are paper thin. Not joking. I could hear the guy next door snoring, typing on his laptop, talking on the phone. Beware if you're a light sleeper. Front desk is not staffed 24x7 so be sure to arrive during regular hours otherwise email them in advance to arrange check in. Bottom line: if you're on a budget like I was, it's a fine room for $60/night. Location is worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total let down

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at the hotel at 2.00 pm and found it all locked up. We buzzed the bell with no luck. We then phoned the three telephone numbers on the sign, once again with no answer. As the hotel is part of an apartment block we buzzed the bells to enquire if the hotel was open. A guy in one of the flats let us in to the foyer where we found the reception, once again all locked up. A member of our party went across the street to a hostel who had 2 double rooms en suite for 3 days so we checked in there. A bit later the owner of the hotel phoned me and said they were now open and we could now check in. I explained we had now got rooms elsewhere as we couldn't wait any longer, as we had waited almost an hour for it to open. He said he was on the 3rd floor and didn't hear the bell or the telephones. I then received an email from the hotel asking what time would our arrival be, which was sent at 12.40 pm that day. Don't waste your time booking this hotel. The reception should have been open, as it stated on the door it was open from 8.30 until 4.00 on a Sunday. All in all I found them totally unprofessional and unreliable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location easy to come and go

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Well located hotel in central berlin with great transport links to all over berlin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Ok.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
If you want a decent and clean hotel (not a fancy one), then you can book Hotel Novalis. The location is central and very well connect to every part of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for the price paid.

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
It's family owned hotel. It's close to the metro station. The owner was warm and helpful. But the office closes most of the time when we were there, especially at night. With only one set of keys for three people who have different schedule agenda, it was very hard to coordinate the access to the hotel since there was no way to reach out to the people inside when the office is closed. My daughter stayed outside for the whole night since her phone died and couldn't communicate with us. It was scary and unfortunate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Best quality for its price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, easy, central

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Orbitz
I personally loved it there! I stayed six nights and it was so easy to get anywhere in Berlin from this location. Every day my room was perfectly cleaned and the wifi worked great for me. I know that some people might be put off by having one key for the front door at night, another key for the second floor door, and a third key for the room door since there is no staff on location after a certain hour but I was not. It always worked out fine for me, and I felt totally secure. Also, the room might be a little dated and modest, but it was clean every day and totally comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Abbie from Brighton

Good Location

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at Hotel Novalis for 2 nights with my boyfriend in December. The location was great as its located in northern Mitte which is walking distance to lots of main attractions in the city and for myself this was the best thing about it considering it is a very reasonable price. The hotel itself was alright, pretty basic and wifi didnt always work, but if youre not looking for anything too fancy then this is a good option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Location difficult to find, especially at evening

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: break fast was good, but not for free. Not far from U6 subway, although it is not easy to find this hotel from subway station.
Cons: For the price (not incl. breakfast) it does not have basic conditions such as room phone,soap and shampoo, front desk service during the night
Location: nearby U6 subway, can walk to museum island and market etc.
Difficult to find, very basic, no room phone, no one at front desk during night. No soap or shampoo, except some small sample bags of liquid soap. The last night we came back, there's no toilet paper and no one at desk to ask. Had to leave next morning and it is too late to go out to buy toilet paper... can not believe it. Also I thought they should change sheets after 3 nights, but we stayed 4 nights, no change.