Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England.

Perfect small hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The staff were great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Overall it was an excellent stay.
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants in the this area of east Berlin.
Spent a few days in my favourite part of the city and stayed in this hotel for the first time. It was perfect and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Amazing value!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
I booked 2 nights on the day I was looking for a hotel, very last minute but I got lucky and got a pretty good deal at Hotel Zarenhof. I booked my stay at 11:30 am and arrived at the hotel around 2pm. The room was ready and I checked in with no problems. When I saw the room I was extremely pleased with the space! I was staying in an AirBnB that's around the same price but only a quarter of the size! If I had known better I would have just stayed at this hotel from the very beginning. The room is very clean, the bathroom is small but it has everything you need. Water pressure is powerful. The bed is ok, slightly too hard for me but I still slept fine. No mini fridge in the room, that's probably my only complaint. Definitely enjoyed my stay here (especially compared to my airbnb in Berlin before this), it's a very solid basic hotel that's clean and comfy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

good travel links

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Hotel was fine. The rooms are not soundproofed as advertised - on three occasions I was woken up by people talking loudly in the corridor at 12-2am and opening/closing doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Handy for bars & restaurants

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Great value hotel in good location. Excellent choice of bars & restaurants within a 5 min walk and easy access to public transport to take you anywhere within the city The free wifi was a little annoying as I had to keep on entering passwords but it wasn't really a big deal Good choice at the breakfast buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel to base out of for sightseeing

Posted Nov 13, 2016
I stayed here for 4 nights in a double bed room. The room is clean, quiet and well-appointed, and quite spacious. Staff English was excellent. The wifi was adequate. I didn't try the breakfast. The location is good, it's just a block away from Frankfurter Tor metro station, which will get you to Alexanderplatz, and from there you can catch a train or metro to anywhere in the city. The neighbourhood is quite nice and there are plenty of nearby options for eating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Adventureous

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Nice sized room , comfortable bed, very nice. Athroom. We loved "his" and "her" comforter.
Cons: No coffee maker in room.
Location: Close to train and Metto for inner city. Liked East Side Gallery. Many local restaurants close by.
Out of city, working class, young families, easy transit to city and various local multi national restaurants. The hotel had good breakfast at reasonable price. Recommend " In Time cafe" best Black Russian drunk in town. Staff at hotel very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, nice clean room but outdated.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed 2 days at the hotel, the staff were very friendly , helpful and efficient. The room had all the amenities but the furniture and decor is outdated, needs freshening up and modernized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good value

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, well-located. Good bang for the buck.
Cons: I was pretty happy there. I also wasn't in the room much-- too much to explore outside.
Location: Close to Frankfurter Tor U-bahn, and many many restaurants on Simon Dach Strasse. Close also to a large outdoor gallery/cultural space.
Comfortable and affordable hotel in the heart of Friedrichshain, one of the most interesting neighbourhoods in Berlin, in the former East.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel and staff are excellent, the neighbourhood is fun and has great restaurants and bars. Overall, a good experience but it was a shame about the noisy building work next to the hotel that started at 07.00 on weekday mornings.