Ratings based on 2,711 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

great hotel, perfect location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: perfect location, staff, clean and comfortable room
Cons: everything was great
Location: ku-dam street, zoolischer garten main station and park.
the hotel location is perfect, on the ku-dam main street in the middle of west berlin area, a tram station is just across the street. the room is very big, and clean as well, the staff eas very nice and helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The original Kempinski hotel, still very fine in a perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly well appointed hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
We stayed three nights. Check in and check out were quick and friendly. We were offered an upgrade but stuck with the most basic rooms which were clean, comfy and quite big enough as we were out all day. Excellent pool, sauna etc. Right by an underground station so transport was very convenient. Nothing to fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa was wonderful!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: spa and pool
Cons: noise in rooms
I was there for a restful visit to Berlin. Spa was great, and spa staff was excellent. Room was comfortable, but walls were very thin so you could hear people next door and people in the hallways. This was listed as a VIP hotel, however they did not have any upgrades available and did not offer anything in exchange so this was disappointing as I always try to book at the VIP hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Solid and excellent staff

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Pretty well everything.
Location: Zoo, Kaiser Wilhelm Church
This hotel was everything I required for a short West Berlin conference. Sure, it's a wee bit shaggy now, but I saw maintenance being undertaken while I stayed there - people are paying attention! And I have to say that every engagement with a staff member was pleasing - it shares this in common with big brother, the Bristol. It's a class act- and the swimming pool? Oi vey I loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great option in Berlin!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great location. Great service. Suite absolutely gorgeous. Excellent for business purposes. Rates a bit expensive but it is totally worth it. I would recommend this hotel, nice restaurant and room service menu with plenty variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Near Cambridge

Luxury hotel in excellent location in Berlin

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Room comfort, surroundings, breakfast
Cons: Shower in bathroom was poor
Location: On Kudamm, main street in West of city; excellent transport links mean rest of city is easily accessible
5 days sightseeing and exploring in German's capital city
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fine but too old

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is great. location is good for shoppers but not if you are interested in visiting the sites.
Cons: new furnishing and carpets are badly needed - at least in the building we were in.
Location: shopping and good restaurants. Very chic part of town.
the hotel is a bit far from the historical site but a safe and wonderful location for shoppers. the rooms are very small and old. We were on the 6th floor of the middle building and the room was older with low beds and "Art Deco" furnishing. It was extra clean and the breakfasts were wonderful. There were no conditioners or body lotion in the room...very unusual for this type of a hotel. Overall, it was fine but nothing special. Except for the concierge-he was great.
5 out of 5
by INGRID

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I could not have asked for a better stay, will return hopefully many more times!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but not GOLD

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
I would stay its old but not gold, it is a very old 5 stars hotel compared to other 5 stars hotels, i was expecting to recieve a DHL package, i asked the receptionist guy he said nothing arrived although he did not check !!! At the end it came out the package was delivered 4 hours ago, very tiny gym smaller than a bathroom , pool is not so bad but also small ,i think they need to train their receptionists (all) on the way they talk with the customers, positevely speaking, they have a nice area for tea at the lobby, room was old but neat and tidy at the same time,the room service was really good and always try their best whenever you ask them for something, in conclusion, after staying more than a week at this hotel i would say they have very cheap prices to what they offer !