Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Ebookers
A nice clean hotel, very quiet, with a good breakfast. Friendly staff. Two (at least) underground stations nearby, and at Checkpoint Charlie all the tourist buses stop. And not expensive at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Aasim from chicago

no frills place

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in an old building, rooms have no real amenities and comforts (no AC, small fan, worn carpets)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did the job: no luxuries & no complaints!

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Lebensquelle was the bare minimum done well. Clean room/ensuite bathroom, adequately comfortable bed, free wifi at acceptable speed, polite though minimal service. Free breakfast buffet was not luxurious but plenty of choice and did the job. Building is old-fashioned but functional and adequately maintained. No hotel bar, restaurant etc, no complimentary shampoos etc in the bathroom. This is not a place to stay if you're looking for holiday comforts, but for a one-night business stay the location was ideal and it had all I needed. People were helpful, allowed me to check in an hour early and held my luggage after checkout until I left for the airport. No problems speaking English. There's a decent pizza place just next to it, if you're stuck for dinner - people also very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was OK, but staff were unfriendly in general and not very willing to help.
4 out of 5
by Blair from Texas

Simple but affordable hotel close to bus/train

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great hotel for our needs... we needed to stay in one hotel room with our 2 teenage kids (paying for 2 hotel rooms would be too expensive) WITHOUT breaking the bank. That is a very hard thing to do in Berlin... So while this was a very simple hotel - nothing fancy... it was just what we needed. THe room was HUGE. We were not a far walk from a bus stop and 2 different U Bahn stations making it very easy to sight see. Our room was on the 5th floor and we needed to take a slow elevator in a neighboring building to the room... so that was not ideal. Again, for the price we paid, it was acceptable.
2 out of 5
by Jenny from Wokingham

Pretty awful hotel, but in a convenient location

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We survived, it didn't cost the earth, and it was conveniently located in the centre of the city, which is why it got a 2 star review. But we certainly wouldn't stay here again. The staff weren't welcoming at all - some were downright rude. Their standard answer to questions seemed to be "It's not my hotel, how should I know?" Our hotel room was missing a curtain, and it was missing the extra bed we'd requested and had confirmed. They both got sorted out, but not without hassle. Breakfast was a pretty depressing affair - even the fruit salad was dried up and shrivelled. How can anyone get a fruit salad wrong? They ran out of scrambled egg, and when I asked if any more would be coming, the waitress screwed up her face and pointed to the clock (she didn't seem to speak either German or English). I took this to mean that "as it's ten to ten, and as our breakfast is served until ten o'clock, we're not making any more scrambled eggs". Thanks.
4 out of 5
by ralph from Edmonton Alberta

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Five nights. Convenient location Not too far a walk to Checkpoint Charlie, or Gendarmen Markt, or Spital Markt Ubahn stop. On 4th floor i.e. 5 th floor for North Americans but there is an elevator. Ask for a room away from the elevator - a school group was there and made a lot of noise in hall to/from elevator. Great breakfast, cheap pizza style restaurant next door. Good value for Berlin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love this hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
This is probably the cutest hotel I have ever stayed at. Our room is so unique and pretty. The location is very close to the Eiffel Tower and the train (skytrain?). When I almost missed breakfast I ran downstairs and the lady at the front told me she would bring it to our room. It was delicious too! I can't say enough good things about this place. The only downside is that the elevator is extremely small and because we have giant suitcases the room felt a little small. But we expected that with European hotels. I would highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by Jorge from Santiago-Chile

Old style with space

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Is an east Berlin building: ample room, big bed, desk, clean bathroom and decent breakfast, with attentive service. No phone or safe in the room but excellent wifi (except in the evening), try the rooms with window to the park (414 to 417).