Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Comfortable and unique hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016
I read all of the other reviews before I stayed here, and so I'm not surprised a bit that my stay at Mittendrin was fantastic. Sabine is delightful and dedicated. She makes every effort to make you comfortable and tend to your needs. I booked the smallest room, but since she had someone else wanting that room for a longer stay, she bumped me up to a nicer room at no cost. She gives free coffee and water, which few hotels do, and she will even do a load of laundry for you for 10 euros, which I desperately needed after already being a week and a half in Germany. Sabine also gives good tourist advice. Her shopping recommendations are for more high end places, but since she is a Berliner, she also has good advice for food and shopping at more moderate prices. Also, though she says her English is not great compared to her German, I had no problem at all talking with her. Aside from Sabine being the sole host (and a fantastically kind and social one), Mittendrin is unique in that you're staying in a Berlin flat rather than a proper hotel. This means that you will occupy one of only four rooms, you will share a bathroom, and you will share a breakfast table with other occupants. It also means that you get a hint at what living in Berlin is like. I came in quite late a few nights, and the creaky wooden floors made me fear that I'd wake my neighbors, but other than this, I had no stress while staying at Mittendrin. This hotel is close to food, shopping, and transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Mn

The Mittendrin is DELIGHTFUL!

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location. It is very clean and tidy and the property shows pride of ownership.
Cons: Absolutely nothing! The Mittendrin has earned my highest praise.
Location: It is close to the Kurfustendamm, and many other attractions. Hop on Hop off buses are nearby as well as a U-bahn station less than a block away.
Our stay at the Mittendrin was delightful. The hotel is located in the city center with many major attractions within easy walking distance. Sabine is the ultimate hostess. She was a great resource in helping us to get to the best sights to see. She also directed us to wonderful restaurants. She serves a remarkable breakfast with great attention to her guests' preferences. I have never rated a hotel as "5" prior to the Mittendrin but this place has clearly earned a "5". I highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Fantastic hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2016
We had a superb stay at mittendrin. The room was stunning, with fresh fruit, flowers and truffles every day. Breakfast was out of this world and filled us up all day. Sabine was a wonderful hostess, offering plenty of tips about what to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide,AUSTRALIA

Charming Boutique Hotel in West Berlin

Posted Nov 8, 2014
I recently stayed at the Mittendrin with my partner for 7 nights whilst attending a conference in Berlin. Whilst described as a Bed and Breakfast, the Mittendren is a most charming and luxuriously appointed boutique hotel offering just4 rooms in a quiet but well located Kurfurstendamm. We had booked a (Classico) room which was spacious , very comfortable and tastefully decorated-but, it was the personal touch of the hostess (Sabine) which makes this hotel so appealing.( Whether it was organising transport to my conference/personalized tourist information /restaurant bookings- Sabine was a gem). The Mittendren is well located-only minutes from the Ka de We (Berlin"s amazing Department store and a foodies heaven ),close to underground and above ground train stations and great restaurants.For the Conference/Business traveller the Mittendren offers a very appealing alternative to the usual hotel venues. The breakfasts are delicious here. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Central location great boutique hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
A point of difference is the wonderful hostess Sabine who runs this hotel with panache and aplomb. Her warm and caring personality to her guests makes you feel welcome and at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful and wonderful

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The location and how it felt more like a home than a hotel.
Location: Close to Kufürstendamm which is renowned for its shopping. Close to Zoologischer Garten station with access to U and S bahn.
I loved staying at the Mittendrin. It had more of a bed and breakfast feel as Sabine owns and runs the Mittendrin. Helpful, friendly and with excellent English, she is a wonderful host and wants to make sure you get the best from your stay in Berlin. As I am a girl who likes her food, breakfast was not a disappointment. A continental style feast with a great choice. I had a single room and shared a bathroom, but had no issue with that as I was only sharing with one other person. The Mittendrin is a few minutes walk from the Zoologischer Garten and access to the S and U Bahns. Take Sabine's advice if you are there for a few days and get a Welcome to Berlin travel ticket (make sure you ask for Potsdam as well if you intend to go there). As well as travel, you get some pretty good discounts on a variety of things including some restaurants. I would highly recommend the Mittendrin as a place to stay and if I ever find myself in Berlin again, I will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Franie from NY

Loving Care

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: In the center of town. Ultra clean and comfortable. Every possible need met!
Sabine was wonderful and made the time in Berlin a special experience. The hotel is spotless and comfortable, the breakfast is a feast and Sabine was caring, giving and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy from Chicago

Great Hostess and location

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms were very spacious and the bathroom was perfect. Beds were so comfortable. Music available with CDs, adaptors for E-devices!
Cons: nothing
Location: Great location to shopping, restaurants, transportation all within walking distance! Museums are a short ride by taxi or bus!
Sabine is the ideal hostess for any out of town or country traveler. Her information is on the money for any traveler who is looking for things to see, do or eat! Our breakfast each morning was filled with fresh breads, cheeses, salads and juices that were purchased each morning by our wonderful hostess, Sabine! Conversations were filled with things to do, events happening in the city, restaurants to try later in the evening, we all felt like part of an extended family talking about our experiences! I cannot say enough about this wonderful hostess who went beyond in her efforts to assist me in locating my luggage from the airlines. Sabine called the airlines several times each day asking for my luggage! She gave me essentials so I did not waste an afternoon in this exciting city! We left for our next city 4 days later and she was able to assist the airlines in forwarding my luggage - what a fantastic hostess!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Etwas ganz Besonderes!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Das Hotel liegt im Westteil der Stadt. Nur wenige Schritte vom Ku'damm entfernt und etwa 5 Minuten zur nächsten U-Bahn Haltestelle.
Anders als man es von anderen Hotels kennt, sind die Zimmer sehr gemütlich, sehr persönlich eingerichtet. Ganz besonders besticht dieses Hotel jedoch durch seine Besitzerin. Ihr Geist, ihre Gastlichkeit empfangen den Gast bereits bei der Ankunft und das zieht sich durch den gesamten Aufenthalt. Sabine Knoll geht individuell auf ihre Gäste ein und versteht es dennoch auch beim gemeinsamen Frühstück die anwesenden Gäste miteinander ins Gespräch zu bringen. Die guten Gespräche, als auch das beeindruckende Frühstück verleiten einen länger am Frühstückstisch zu sitzen, als zunächst geplant. Ich habe mich in den 3 Tagen meines Aufenthaltes sehr wohl gefühlt und neue Eindrücke gewonnen. Herzlichen Dank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Persönliche Note mitten in Berlin

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Gastfreundschaft wird hier groß geschrieben. Bereits beim Willkommensdrink haben wir viele Informationen über die Stadt erhalten. Das Frühstück wird morgens gemeinsam mit der Gastgeberin und den anderen Gästen eingenommen und man fühlt sich wie in einer Familie. Die Zimmer sind wundervoll eingerichtet und jedes ist auf eine andere Art äußerst charmant. U-Bahn erreicht man in Kürze. Leckere Restaurants direkt in der Nähe. Wir kommen gerne wieder.