Ratings based on 1,880 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel very good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Very close to S-Bahn and U-Bahn stations. Very nice restaurants near by. Cons: Slow internet service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Central location close to public transport links.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, good heating.
Cons: Proper beds for guests, better service from hotel staff.
Location: Lots of good restaurants in the same street and two bakeries which serve breakfasts cheaper than the hotel. Good travel links.
This hotel is in an ideal location for tourists. We took the X9 bus from Tegel airport and the bus dropped us close to the hotel 15 minutes later. The U bahn and S bahn stations are within a few minutes walk too. We booked a room for three people but we only had two proper beds, the third bed was made up from a very hard sofa also in the room. It was impossible to sleep on the sofa as it only had a sheet over it, no mattress or padding. We reported this to the hotel reception and housekeeping but it took two days for them to offer a couple of quilts to be used as padding. In guess the tip here is to book the room for extra people in the hope that you all get a proper bed. The shower also ran very hot or very cold depending on other rooms using the hot water supply - shower aerobics in the morning isn't much fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good hotel for short break

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Position, room and accessibility
Cons: Sofa bed
Location: Turn left and good coffee shop with free Wifi, lovely bakery on corner. Turn right past Greek restaurant, across gardens to shops and restaurants.
Novum Gates fitted the bill for us. We had a family room for 4. The room was spacious, light and airy. Only slight down side was the sofa bed, for my daughter, was a bit uncomfortable. The room was tidied and towels changed if necessary daily, and the reception staff were very helpful, including printing off our return boarding passes! The position of the hotel is in a wide, quiet, leafy street with a fair selection of coffee shops and restaurants close by. A short walk away, past the Greek restaurant, you hit a much busier, livelier shopping and restaurant area where we thoroughly enjoyed sourcing where we were going to eat! The hotel is also very close to the U-ground and not very far from the zoo S-ground making for easy access to all the usual tourist attractions. Having had reservations about the position of the hotel we were more than happy with our choice and would happily recommend or use it again.
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Great value hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful spacious room Lovely area Staff very friendly and helpful Great value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dawson City, Yukon, Canada

Great Value

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Good service, sparkling clean room, reasonable price , fine food in the neighbourhood. Just came in from Canada so my jetlag caused me to oversleep checkout time by half an hour . No problem, just a smile and an invite to return.
4 out of 5
by Rahmon Opeyemi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gary

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a really nice location, tube station nearby with direct route into city.... fantastic experience making Berlin a really beautiful place to visit
3 out of 5
by Steven

Basic-cheap

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived to the hotel just after 2pm but still had to wait 30minutes for our room to be ready even though website states 2pm check in. They guy that check us in was very rude & not friendly unlike the rest of the staff. The room was basic. It was cheap so i guess you get what you pay for for. I alway check to see if hotel have a hairdryer in rooms so i do not need to bring one. But the 1 in this hotel was such poor quality. Ive used stronger hand driers. Location was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location in West Berlin is excellent

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location and the standard of accommodation for the price
Cons: I thought the staff generally showed a disinterest in guests.
We were happy with the rooms and the general standard of accommodation. The location is excellent being in an area with plenty of bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Theresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels