Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Avoid

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Hotel needs renovation. Old and tacky. Bad toilets, no exhaust, WCs are old dry flush type. And stained. Clean linen. Springs feelable through mattress. Even the neon sign of the hotel does not work. Day staff at reception needs serious improvement in etiquette towards paying customers. Avoid this property.Spent four nights there and wouldn't repeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Great location, close to Kudamm.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Guest lift could be upgraded. A couple of reception staff would benefit with some customer service training.
Location: Great location, close to restaurants, shopping and public transport.
Hotel location is great, close to major Berlin's boulevard Kudamm, and public transport. Although not ultra modern, the hotel is clean, and facilities are adequate to the price they charge. The hotel would benefit if a couple of front desk staff had more friendly approach to their customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salford uk

Good location on the u barn

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better bedding
Location: On the U barn 2 blocks away
Good location very near the u barn Small hotel good bath room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Everything we needed in a quiet location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Simplicity.
Cons: Outdoors, the lighted signs were only half turned on (ironically, Lichtburg means "fortress of light"). We had to get along with only one room key.
Location: On a quiet street, two blocks from Adenauerplatz, where bus lines and subway lines are both available, along with dining possibilities and shopping.
A German friend recommended this hotel, and my grandson and I stayed here for 7 nights. It was a small double bed room, but the German practice of having two separate mattresses with separate duvets made it workable for two 180-pound guys. Furnishings are Spartan, but no complaints-- I paid less than the last time I stayed in a Motel 6. Adjustable bedside lamps on nightstands with two drawers each-- many European rooms have no drawers at all where your tidies can be out of sight. Staff members were helpful and friendly. Windows can be opened for fresh air. Clean linens, reliable plumbing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Fantastic Location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
To name the good things : Amazing location. 2 blocks from Kudam. Lots of PT choices. Good prices. Nice breakfast for extra purchase.
2 out of 5
by Arthur

Should have been better

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Noisy place, no hot water in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

Standard hotel.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We spent very little time in the hotel and our room, but that is to he expected for a city break. The room had everything we needed, expect maybe a kettle. The walls seemed thin and we were able to hear some noise in the corridor/surrounding room but this didn't stop us sleeping. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out which was very helpful! The hotel is also close to two stations which can easily get you to many of the main sites with some changes. I think I got this hotel at a reduced rate due to a special offer on the day of booking. At the full price Ido think it would have been worth the price but at the price I paid I was very happy. Also, there a lovely cafe next door to the hotel that sells good hot drinks and lots of tasty pastries. Great for a quick snack before exploring!
4 out of 5
by GERALDINE

Convenient and clean

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Bed much too big for the room. Very cramped and not even room for a second bedside locker and lamp. Apart from that everything was fine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice and clean

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Nice hotel convenient location close to subway trains. Helpful stuff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and as good as the price

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was so small, that the closet doors hit the room door or the bed. The room door was so ”good” that when we were close to it, we felt the wind. The walls are so thin that we could hear the neighbors. The elevator only got to 5'th floor in a 7 floors hotel. The bed was a bit crooked, and flushing the toilet was loud as machine gun. Checkout hours seems to be really the hour when the cleaning lady gets on the floor, she started knocking on the door more than an hour before the checkout time. She didn't take "not yet" for an answer as she insisted a few minutes later. The front desk lady was bored to death, saying even a "Hello" was too much for her, staring at a blank computer was much more interesting. Only when we checked out, she remembered to yell, after we got out, asking if we drank the "complementary" 4 euro bottle of water. Her colleagues weren't much more interested either. On the positive side, good neighborhood, good daily cleaning, great Wi-Fi for Berlin area and pretty good price too.