Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very clean room. They cleaned it everyday for us. It's on a quiet street which was nice since we slept with the window open. The room itself is pretty small and the bed was super hard but that didn't bother us too much. The hotel staff doesn't stay past 9pm, but they give you a code to get in and out of the main door and also a number to call if you need them. It's right next to a tram stop. The only negative is that the entrance is down an alleyway with a door closed at the front of the alleyway at night and a door at the back. It was a little sketchy walking through it at night as the lighting wasn't great and the alleyway was shut off to the main road by a door, but we had no issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

New favourite hotel in Berlin!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
It's everything I'm looking for in a great location :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth WA

Close to public transport

Posted May 12, 2016
Suitable for what we wanted and very close to public transport, centrally located. Being set back off the main road made it nice & quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Malden

Great simple but cosy hotel in a great location.

Posted May 5, 2016
This was a fab hotel. Great staff, clean nicely decorated room and overall great stay. Located in Prenzlauer area, near loads of great restaurants and bars. A cosy area. Also was very easy to get in to central Berlin. Tram is very easy or a good long walk for the energetic. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in an excellent location

Posted Apr 5, 2016
We arrived at the Old Town Hotel after an early flight, luckily the friendly staff were able to help us out and let us in to a room early. The location is great - a tram stop that takes you straight to the centre of town about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Bad wi-fi and very cold room

Posted Feb 19, 2016
If you're looking for convenience, this hotel is right in front of an M train that will take you to Alexandraplatz in 5 minutes, so there's that. But I had a number of major issues that I would never have expected from a hotel at such a price: - Terrible wifi. I really needed decent wi-fi while staying here, and their wi-fi was so poor and intermittent that I had to leave the hotel and find a cafe open past 6pm to sit down and type away emails. - The room was reaaaally cold. It was around 0 C during my stay in Berlin, so I'd expect my room to shelter me from the outside cold. No such luck. I needed to wear extra layers in the room itself. - This wasn't an issue for me, but I'll mention it for those that might be turned off by it: my room was on the 5th floor and there are no elevators. All in all, a serious let-down considering the price. Might as well have booked a hostel instead for the same kind of experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Best place to stay in Berlin

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: The sign on the street doesn't do them justice
I have been to Berlin to several times over many years and can honestly say that Old Town Hotel is the best accommodation I have found in the city and would highly recommend staying there. The location is excellent; 5 minutes on the tram to Alexanderplatz where you can get the S or U bahn to pretty much anywhere in the city. Also within walking distance of Volkspark Freidrichshain and the many bars and restaurants of Prenzlauer Berg. My room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet - the hotel is located in the gartenhaus, so no noise from the street. The wood floors, big windows and unfussily stylish decor are nice reminders that you're in Berlin. Breakfast was excellent and well worth the little bit extra. Last but not least, all of the staff members I spoke to were fantastic. They get it just right and deserve credit for being good at their jobs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel across the street from the tram stop

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: As above.
Cons: On elevator was a problem as we had so much luggage.. . But we put this in storage so we didn't have to lug it up 5 flights of stairs.
This is a great localation with chinese and bakeries right next door for meals, and a tram stop directly across the road that takes you 3 stops to Alexandra platz ( I think it was called) which is the central hub. The hotel is positioned right back off the street. - so amazingly enough there is no street noise. We would definately stay again there on our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hotel, not far from Alexanderplatz

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: How clean it is, the good service.
The hotel is basic but really clean, the sevice is good, and even though you are around 2 km from Alexanderplatz, you have a tram stop only 40 mts from the Hotel, so moving is not a issue at all. You have several places to eat or have breakfast in 2 blocks around the place. It is really recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The hotel is on a busy road but as it's set back from it quite a bit, you don't hear any traffic noise and it's very peaceful. The location is great - just around the corner from the many cafes, restaurants, boutiques and parks of Prenzlauer Berg - perfect for escaping the tourist hordes at the end of each day's sightseeing. Lovely big park to run/walk in a block to the south. Tram stop across the road - about 5mins to Alexanderplatz. Room was nice and comfortable, very clean and serviced daily. Great breakfast. Staff very friendly, with a lot of helpful info upon arrival. Will stay here again next time.