Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only for short stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We had problems with noise, the rooms don't have enough isolation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Close to train station

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Loved how close I was to The Sbahn and a lovely Wee bakery that did amazing Getman breakfasts. The staff where lovely. And spoke English. Luckily for me. Rooms a bit outs Dated and I had to carry my suitcase up 12 flights of stairs but it wasn't that taxing. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Misleading photos, misleading title. It's a hostel not a hotel but it's described as a hotel. It was fine but a bit in the ropey side. OK in a pinch but don't get your hopes up
5 out of 5
by Gerd from Vancouver, Canada

Good value

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Only 2 day stay
2 out of 5
by Matthew from London

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed - tiny room for 2 people, no facilities, no lift to the 5th floor, no wifi. Billed as a GDR themed hotel but there is actually very little of this type of decoration, not enough to make the hotel interesting. It feels like there was a very very poor hotel here and they went for the GDR theme to try to cover it - small cheap improvements would make a big difference, get a stronger WIFI router and put a kettle/tee/coffee in the rooms! For 70 euros a night I expected a lot better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

My room was infested with fleas. Nasty.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Cons: CLEANING CLEANING CLEANING!
Location: No very close from anything.
My room was infested with fleas. It made me miserable for days with so many bits and the need clean my stuff numerous times. I emailed the Hotel about my situation and they didn't even answered me back. Just unacceptable and completely unprofessional. And for the price that you pay, they don't even clean the room while you are there. Its was a completely traumatizing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun, clean, cheap and close to transportations

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Highly recommend. Ostbanhoff station and east side gallery just steps away..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Quiet hostel near Ostbahnhof stop

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Location: Near Ostbahnhof station, a decent size bahn station where there are food shops and regular shops. Very close to East Berlin
I liked this hostel. It only has a few rooms so it is quiet compared to other bigger sized hostels. I was on the top floor, the 6th floor, and there is no elevator so I had to carry my luggage all the way up and down. My room and own private bathroom were spacious. It is clean and the staff were friendly to me when I asked questions. I like the location because it is a short walk from Ostbahnhof stop and it is close enough to East Berlin, but away enough from the crowd so you can sleep at night. Overall, it was a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would be nice enough, if it weren't for the bed bu

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
This place had an interesting retro decor, that lives up to the DDR theme that they are going for. The room was pleasant enough for a Hostel. The room smelled like it had been smoked in every day for years, despite the no smoking signs everywhere. I was letting that slide until I found out that my room had bed bugs! I had lots of bites. The mattress was infested, and I killed a full grown adult as it was crawling around on me. The room had almost all of the things you can look for when hunting for bed bugs infestation. It was all there. I understand that these things happen, even in the nicest hotels, and would not be leaving a scathing review if the situation had been appropriately handled. But in addition to the infested mattress, the staff seemed unconcerned. Which makes me think this is a regular problem, and that there is no protocol for dealing with it. The woman at the desk did not bat an eye at the dead bed bug I showed her. She offered me another room, in a tone that suggested I was being unreasonable. There was no apology, no offer of refund for the two nights I had already been there, no offer to pay for laundry, no offer of plastic bags to quarantine things. They didn't want to come look at the room to see where the bugs were. Those are all bad signs, and I left for another hotel minutes thereafter. I did get refunded for the nights that I would not be staying there, but had already paid for, so at least there is that.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from England

Hostel Often - Berlin

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hostel in an ideal location. A fee minutes walk from the train station and East Side gallery. Night time was very quiet. The only thing that could have been improve was the leaky shower basin. Fantastic value for money otherwise.