Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Shawn

Close to train station

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and comfortable. There is no lift, but we were only one flight up so not too bad for our luggage. They had hot water in the lobby for tea. Mini fridge in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location, otherwise very basic.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The facilities for people arriving after the reception closes. Some painting and refreshing will be welcome.
Location: Excellent for museums, shopping and travelling as it is next to metro, buses and railway stations.
The location of the hotel is excellent, next to all major museums, metro, railways and within walking distance to a number of other places in the centre. However, word of advice; do not arrive after 10pm. We knew that the reception closes at 10pm, we have contacted them, we were told that the key and instructions will be left in the bar next door. It took half an hour to find where the key was and the instructions were in german. The further complication is that the hotel is among flats approached by a locked outside door. Fortunately there was an english young man who did not work for the hotel, but he helped us. Once this problem was resolved the rest was fine. The room was basic, but we did not mind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were so helpful and made our stay very pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. The rest is problematic.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
It is located right near the Friedrichstraße S-bahn. Very old. No phone in the entire wing where we stayed. They apologize for renovation, but it'd be better to adjust the price accordingly. No kettle or even cups. The room itself is OK, it is old but large and has everything. But the bathroom was a problem. Shower goes right to the floor, no way to isolate it from the rest of the bathroom: You have water and soap everywhere The lady in the reception was friendly and helpful, but the guy who worked evening time was not nice at all.
3 out of 5
by Esther from Los Angeles

morbid charm at a central location

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
I had booked a room which was supposed to have shower and toilet in the room, but it turned out that the booked category at the hotel was a room with bathroom outside the room. When I entered the room it smelled terribly as if a elderly gentleman had used way too much perfume. I opened the balcony door and it helped, but this smell was really disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location in Berlin

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Warmest welcome I've had at a hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great location close to main and city train stations.
3 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington, England

Good hotel on the river

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The opulent decor, the view of the river, the very effective double glazing which completely damped down external traffic noise.
Cons: Air conditioning, at least in south-facing rooms? It was unusually hot during my stay but I think A/C would be quite useful during normal summers.
Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Other hotel staff also very pleasant and courteous. It was unusually hot while I was in Berlin; there was no a/c, but a very effective electric fan was provided very promptly on request. I had booked a change of rooms during my stay, and they up-graded me free of charge.
3 out of 5
by Alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels