Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great breakfast

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The Savoy is nice with an excellent buffet breakfast (which we got as a VIP upgrade). It is near public transportation and some sites, like the beautiful Kaiser Wilhelm church memorial. Only problem was intermittent noise, mostly from the street or nearby Delphi theatre
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but tired some new paint required!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Freshen it up with a lick of paint
Nice personal unfortunately smell of cigarettes or was it cigar? Not good if u suffers from asthma
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Felix Kaul, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative, helps us to see our product through the eyes of our guests and is highly valuable to us. The famous cigar lounge, Times Bar, with its integrated Casa del Habano Cigar shop, is a meeting point for hotel guests and locals alike and is directly adjacent to our hotel lobby. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation system and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odor. However, unfortunately sometimes the smoke gets out to our lobby and our main staircase. We are sorry for any inconvenience and currently improving the ventilation system to make sure that the smoke stays inside the bar at any time. At the moment we are working with an agency to develop a concept and to successfully conduct the Savoy Hotel into the next century. We hope you had a relaxed stay with us nevertheless! Kind regards from Berlin, Felix Kaul Savoy Berlin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Well located in Berlin

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, facilities and service.
Cons: The only shortcoming is that there could be more power outlets conveniently located on the desk for multiple device travellers.
I stayed at the Savoy while on a business trip. My first impression of the room was that it ws a little "worn"; which was true. But the bathroom was very modern and spacious, the room itself was large and comforatble; he furniture was more than adequate. In short, the room was suprisingly good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Dated and lacking essentials

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location was good - just a short walk from the station, Tiergarten, Zoo, and high-end shops. Plenty of restaurants nearby too. 40 minutes from airport
Cons: Needs updating and a/c.
Good location. Weather was very hot and lack of a/c made sleeping uncomfortable. Opened Windows but room overlooked courtyard which was noisy some nights until 2am. Bathroom shower looked good until we found that the large shower head wasn't even plumbed in! Restaurant pricey and poor menu choice, so avoided it. Staff were polite, but not overly helpful. But that seemed to be a recurring theme wherever we went as soon as they realised we were British. I wasn't surprised though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Felix Kaul, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative, helps us to see our product through the eyes of our guests and is highly valuable to us. I am glad to hear that you liked the central location of our hotel. Our Savoy Hotel was opened in 1929 and our team is constantly working to keep the hotel in a perfect condition. We are frequently shampooing our carpets, curtains and upholstery and change furnishing where necessary. Our maintenance team is adding further improvements regularly. For example some of our guestrooms are already equipped with a refurbished bathroom. At the moment we are working with an agency to develop a concept and to successfully conduct the Savoy Hotel into the next century. We hope you had a relaxed stay with us nevertheless! Kind regards from Berlin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

central hotel for everything

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: friendly staff and warm comfortable rooms
Cons: smell of smoke even though you ask for a non-smoking room
Location: close to zoo gardens cathederal and main shopping
having stayed here several times my only problem is if you stay on the second floor all rooms are badly impregnated with the smell of cigars from the smoking room this also invades the whole reception area as well a large extractor fan is desparetly needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2015 by Felix Kaul, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Savoy Hotel Berlin. I am glad to hear that you commended on the friendliness of our staff and that you liked our warm and comfortable rooms. Please allow me to comment also on your negative feedback: First, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay at our hotel. The famous cigar lounge, Times Bar, with its integrated Casa del Habano Cigar shop, is a meeting point for hotel guests and locals alike and is directly adjacent to our hotel lobby. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation system and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odor. However, unfortunately sometimes the smoke gets out to our lobby and our main staircase. We are sorry for any inconvenience and currently improving the ventilation system to make sure that the smoke stays inside the bar at any time. We fully understand your feedback and hope you had a great stay in Berlin nevertheless. Kind Regards Felix Kaul E-Marketing Manager Savoy Hotel Berlin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Lives upto reputation

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Excellent hotel. We had an amazing stay for my girlfriend's 30th birthday. Only slight blemish was the room was bang hot, the A/C didn't appear to work and we reported it to reception. Wasn't fixed during our stay though so had to have windows open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Convenient and clean

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Clean convenient and comfortable. Safe area.
Cons: Not a problem for me but I imagine the smell from their cigar bar could be a problem for some rooms.
Location: Easy access to S-Bahn or U-Bahn and thus go any place of major interest.
This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel....I was say clean comfortable and convenient.i like this position since easy to find a cafe, use the underground at zoo station or catch number100/200 bus to get to centre and importantly not at present close to rebuilding site which can be a problem in Berlin.Staff are friendly and breakfast good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Savoy Hotel Berlin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Savoy Hotel Berlin. The famous cigar lounge, Times Bar, with its integrated Casa del Habano Cigar shop, is a meeting point for hotel guests and locals alike and is directly adjacent to our hotel lobby. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation system and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odor. However, unfortunately sometimes the smoke gets out to our lobby and our main staircase. We are sorry for any inconvenience and currently improving the ventilation system to make sure that the smoke stays inside the bar at any time. We fully understand your feedback and hope you had a great stay in Berlin nevertheless. Kind Regards Felix Kaul E-Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern California

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Locations in Charlottenberg, historical elegance, and good dining.
Cons: The rooms need a facelift. Furniture and casework is old.
Location: Great restaurants, shopping, easy access to the Tiergarten. Mostly quiet
This is a lovely hotel in a great neighborhood, great restaurants and shopping, with easy access to central Berlin. We rented bikes from the hotel and rode there almost daily through the Tiergarten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Clean and tidy Mostly quiet and comfortable Food good and plentiful The smoking room causes a stench in the lobby Near all the central attractions and zoo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Lovely character and great service location is perfect for exploring Berlin