Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

How Do You Say 'Horrible' In German?

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: The hotel needs to be fully gutted.
It seems that previous reviews of this hotel were fake altogether. When I searched for this hotel online, I did a filter for only hotels containing air conditioning. This hotel arose in the search, so I booked it. It does not have air conditioning. The receptionist even laughed and admitted that there is often confusion about whether or not they have it at the hotel. Yet, the hotel has made no effort to clarity this important issue (it was 90 degrees in Berlin both days I was there). On to other issues, the condition of the hotel is very very old, without any updates/renovations whatsoever since it's post-WWII construction. My room literally had cobwebs in certain places, which demonstrates that housekeeping doesn't truly cleaning anything. I even noticed some cobwebs in their restaurant! All furniture is old, worn and dingy. My room had a mildew smell. The shower did not work properly. The toilet made a loud horn-like sound when it flushed. The bed was uncomfortable. The wireless internet worked maybe 25% of the time. And none of these issues weren't even the worst problem I encountered. The elevator broke the 1st day I was there so all of the older guests or guests with disabilities encountered an impossible time navigating up the hotels very steep stairs. Of course, as luck would have it, I was on the top floor as well, so hauling our luggage down those steep stairs was quite harrowing. There was no fan for the sweltering nights either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: - Silent and clean room - Good breakfast - Friendly staffs Cons: - Very very poor internet connection - Slightly far away from Berlin down town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Great hotel close to S-bahn

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, close to subway
Cons: Carpets in rooms could be changed. offer free wifi in rooms.
Location: West Berlin but close to S-bahn.
We selected this hotel for the price and proximity to train-subway system. Offered free parking but DID NOT have free wifi in rooms, only in lobby and restaurant. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and they do provide a nice breakfast that's included in the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

good hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
its a nice hotel, kinda far from central berlin somewhat hidden but its only like 10mins in the metro. hotel is clean and nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Dorchester Dorset

Comfortable hotel in Berlin-Spandau

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel was comfortable. The staff were helpful, friendlyand efficient. Breakfast was varied and tasty.
Cons: It is an ideal base to explore Berlin.
Location: Berlin is easily accessible by S Bahn and U Bahn. Altstadt Spandau is within easy walking distance.
SensCity Hotel in Spandau is close to Spandau Hauptbahnhof, and has comfortable rooms, excellent staff and provides a delicious breakfast. It is an ideal base from which to explore Berlin and the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
by Nik Dorset from Dorset, UK

Comfortable Room

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
The room was comfortable. The location was further from where i had anticipated -even when locating by map ( via Google street map etc.) The reception staff were accommodating. The location was slightly desolate but Berlin is very spread out with patchy areas of "not much there" .- this can be OK at certain times i guess. This area, Spandau, is one of the city's oldest regions & fairly interesting for that. I was there for one night for a ZZ Top concert at the Zitadelle- a very interesting location , a classy setting for such an event. I was at the same location in 2009 - same reason , same band. Good Hotel, good show.
4 out of 5
by Antoinette from Homosassa

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels
Loved our stay at this hotel. It was a little out of the way, but still within walking distance of the train station. A 15 min. walk to the main station, which took you through the old city of Spandau - very nice walk. Or, a 5 min. walk to the regular train station. From there just 20 min. to the center of Berlin. Great value at the hotel. IKEA store 2 blocks away served very good, inexpensive breakfast, lunch and dinner. Just check opening times.
5 out of 5
by John H

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to conference place

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels
Only positive thing was cleanliness in the room. There were many things not meeting the minimum expectations. No bath facility, no kettle, mini bar was facility was not complimentary, staff did not know English.I would not stay in that hotel again and would not recommend to any one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Ilford.

Hotel lived up to expectations

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: The staff were very efficient. I had to check out at 5.45 am to catch my flight & there was someone at reception at that time.
Cons: Perhaps the location, not the most fashionable part of town.
Location: As per the previous paragraph.
Nothing further to add.Unfortunately haven't got time.