Ratings based on 2,666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: le style discret et serviable, propre (sauf odeur de tabac)
Cons: devinez !
mériterait la meilleure note si une odeur de tabac froid n'avait gâché notre arrivée Personnel impeccable, souriant et serviable (perte de nos bagages par Air Berlin!...)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel, but low on amenities

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very cost-effective for me, and incredibly convenient for all the places I wanted to visit/see, and the staff was nice, and friendly.
Cons: In-room direct lighting should be improved, and could be, easily. But unless air conditioning is added, I would never stay there April-October.
Location: The original gay village, the zoo, ku'damm, and most of Tiergarten are all in walking distance, but I walked all the way to the Fernsehturm in 1 hour.
This hotel was well-situated for my holiday plans, and very, very convenient for transit. Also, I was able to score a great rate, but don't know if I would stay there again, given the same circumstances. There was no air conditioning in my room, and with September temperatures between 25-32°C, my east-facing room was almost unbearable. The best the front desk could do was loan me a small fan - which did help - but never made the room comfortable. Adding to the issue, was there was no bar fridge, ice bucket or ice machine, for cold drinks you bring in to alleviate the situation. A lesser concern was inadequate lighting; reading in the room was difficult.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

ただただ古い

Posted Sep 12, 2016
高い時期に予約してしまったのか、一泊約12,000円でまさかこんなに古くて居心地の悪いホテルだとは夢にも思いませんでした。染み付いた異様な匂いと、室内の傷や汚れが本当に酷くてホテルに居たくなく、ギリギリまで外で時間を過ごし、とにかく寝るだけにしました。 もう一度ベルリンに行って他のホテルを探したいくらい、この値段でこの質はガッカリ、後悔の何物でもありませんでした。 良い所は従業員の方は皆感じがよく、場所も良いです。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

East German Charm without any kitsch value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Just about everything else.
Location: The location is great, but there are other hotels, including a much fresher looking discount hotel right next door with comparable rates.
Everything about our stay (except for the good location) was a disappointment. We booked for 8 room nights and tried to cancel one a month in advance and were refused--should have been our first warning. "Free" wifi is for ONE device, and expires after 24 hours, meaning we had to get new codes from front desk regularly. If you want more than one device, you have to pay up. (And it's slow to boot.) Keys are old-school keys with a huge, clunky key chain that proudly brandishes name of hotel and your room number (which is a huge security feature). And the lock mechanism didn't work well to boot. Our room looked nothing like the photos. The doors were scratched from old door handles, everything looked both dated and heavily used, and our rooms heated up like an oven first thing in the morning. Lastly, if you stay out late, rather than walking in through the lobby, you are asked to walk around to the back of the hotel through a dark, unlit alley to the back entrance--another example of horrid security failures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by sorat, Hotel Management
We are so sorry you did not feel comfy at all. Well, it`s not only the location which leads to the variety of good guest reviews, it is also our service-minded , really hospitable team and the lovely charme of a traditional hotel. We are still using “old-school” keys, and normally guests bring them to our receptionists in case of leaving the hotel. It is for your own safety to enter the hotel backside late at night. It`s the only way how we can make sure that guests only will enter the property. As you can see in the description we do not have AC, but in hot periods there are some fans available at the reception. Many parts of our hotel are already renovated, e.g. public areas, lobby, bar and our comfort rooms – and we continue step by step. The rate you booked was a special discounted offer which was non refundable, that was displayed in your reservation process. So no need to be disappointed, it is just the policy of the rate you have chosen! Just one tip: whenever you feel not comfortable enough, it would be pretty much better to contact our team immediately. That`s the only way to give us the chance to improve your stay. Now it`s too late, and there`s nothing more to say than sorry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 浦添市

交通の便がよい、清潔なホテル、スタッフが親切、朝食もおいしい

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: 交通の便がよく、部屋は広く、清潔で、掃除も行き届いていること。スタッフも親切です。バスタブも付いています。
Cons: カーテンが短く、夜の街灯が差し込んできました。 冷蔵庫(ミニバー)はあった方がよい。ビールやワインやチーズを買い置きして、食を楽しみたい。 通りに面した部屋がうるさかったです。三重窓くらいにした方がよいのではないでしょうか。
Location: 交通至便です。バス停はホテルから等距離に2つあり、合わせて5路線のバスがひっきりなしに通っています。地下鉄駅(Wittenbergplatz)は、ベルリンの地下鉄が9路線しかない中、4路線の駅となっています。近くにはKDW(有名デパート)、クーダム通り、ウィルヘルム教会、Zooの動物園があります。
バス停も地下鉄の駅も近く、ドイツ最高のデパートKDWも近く、よい場所にあります。 バスタブのある広い部屋をあてがってもらいました。清潔な部屋です。毎日の掃除も行き届いていました。 今年も昨年に続き、同じ時期に、ほぼ同じ部屋をあてがってもらい2週間宿泊しました。 昨年と比較して気づいたことを書きます。 1.通りに面した側でした。交通量が増えたのでしょうか、今年は夜中もうるさくなっていました。 2.今年は暑かったので、部屋の中も暑かったです。ドイツらしくエアコンがない分そうでした。 従いまして、来年、同じ時期に、また同じ部屋に泊まるかと言えば、泊まらないと思います。 しかし、通りに面しない側の部屋で静かで、禁煙で、バスタブがあるというのであれば、泊まると思います。暑さ対策は、ホテルの前にあるBAUHAUSさんから安価な扇風機を買って対策したいと思います。 --
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bari

ottima posizione vicinissimo alla metro

Posted Sep 4, 2016
La cosa migliore è la posizione a due passi dalla metro. Personale gentile e disponibile. Camera non all'altezza: arredi vecchi e brutti, moquette vecchia e macchiata, bagno vecchio ma comunque pulito, non c'è ne frigo bar nè aria condizionata. TV senza canali italiani 👎🏻
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gut gelegenes komfortables Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Besonders gut ist die Lage am Wittenbergplatz. Das Hotel war als Ausgangspunkt für einen Besuch in Berlin perfekt.
Cons: Eine Klimatisation wäre sehr angenehm, an heißen Tagen war es sehr warm im Zimmer. Auch eine kleiner Kühlschrank würde die Unterkunft noch verbessern.
Location: Am Wittenbergplatz in Berlin. Man kann sehr gut einkaufen gehen. Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind zu Fuß erreichbar.
Freundlicher Empfang. Das Zimmer war gut zu erreichen, komfortabel ausgestattet. Liebenswürdiges kompetentes Personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by sorat, Hotel Management
Stimmt, wir sind mitten drin und dennoch durch die Seitenstrassen-Lage recht ruhig gelegen! Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben - auch ohne Klimaanlage. An der Rezeption sind übrigens einige Ventilatoren verfügbar, die, wenn es ganz heiß ist, für ein wenig Abkühlung sorgen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Teppich ist teils dreckig in den Ecken sowie teile vom Bettrahmen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by sorat, Hotel Management
Danke für`s Bescheidsagen! Wir kümmern uns drum und freuen uns sehr, dass dies Ihre Urlaubsfreude nicht allzu sehr getrübt hat!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly hotel in central Berlin

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Clean, helpful, great location
High-quality hotel near Wittenbergplatz station. Room clean, staff friendly and helpful, well decorated, good breakfast, free WiFi, nice lounge area. Close to shops and other amenities. Has a late night cocktail bar, but didn't try it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Sorat, Hotel Management
Thank you for have been our guests and for your positive evaluation. The well-being and satisfaction of our guests is our major aim and your feedback is very important for us. We would be very glad to welcome you soon again to our hotel. kind regards, the team of the SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mooi hotel, perfecte locatie voor een stedentrip!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Elke dag schone handdoeken en geleegde prullenbak. Zeer vriendelijk personeel en schone kamer. Wij hadden wel een kamer aan de straat kant, hierdoor soms wat lawaai, maar de locatie was zo goed centraal dat dit niet uitmaakte.