Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Traditional hotel close to amenities

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Replace the carpets. Respect requests for specific requests.
Location: Very close to the San Souci parks and palaces.
Positives. Very close to the San Souci parks and palaces as well as bars and restaurants. Easy 15 minute walk to Charlottenhof train station to get to Berlin and Schonefeld. Staff and breakfast were superb. Size of the rooms were generous. Negatives. Rooms a little outdated, carpets need to be replaced as they have that 'old carpet smell'. I'm annoyed that they denied my request for a quiet room (booked months in advance) but instead, probably had the noisiest room available with the street noise of people, delivery vehicles and the bells at 6am of the church nearby. Would have given a higher score if they respected my request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Potsdam University

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location, large room
Cons: Room interior could be more modern, quality of bed mattresses could be better, wellness and spa facilities need renovation and more modern style
Location: Great location, city centre and park sanssouci, great restaurants only within 1min walk
Nice and professional run Hotel. Benefits from great location with excellent restaurants just nearby. Nice staff. Free Wifi is very poor. Rooms are big but need more modern interior. Wellness and Spa area needs more modern style.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Norman Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thanks for the review of your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. Especially your comments and suggestions are very important to us. This will help us, to identify vulnerabilities and to improve the service quality of our house. We think it is right that you say us, what you think. Therefore thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit us again, that we can show you a better quality. With best wishes and kindly regards from Potsdam, Norman Mark – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botley Southampton

Beautiful location and area

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff. Easy access to central Berlin.
Location: The "original" Brandenburg gate - individual shops and restaurants in a pedestrianised road- the Sansoucci Gardens and Palaces - The Dutch quarter.
Pleasant Hotel in a good location - staff extremely helpful and charming and nothing was too much trouble. Don't know if it helped that I can speak German. The breakfast was very comprehensive and of a high quality - including the gluten free cereal and rolls. The beds were of a good quality if not a little hard for my own personal preference. We ended up here by accident , but am so glad that we did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam, Hotel Management
Dear HelnenM, thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon. Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam, Norman Mark – General Manager
5 out of 5
by Helen R

Old World charm

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel with old-world charm. Gracious staff. The location is excellent, between the Sans Souci Palace park and the old town. Easy to get to by city bus from the train station. Nice lunchtime special in the hotel's restaurant for 7.50 Euros. Wifi was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Steigenberger Potsdam, Hotel Management
Dear Helen R., thank your for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted, that you have enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our hotel and would be pleased, if you visit us again soon. Meanwhile we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Norman Mark - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Time for a renovation is NOW not in 2018

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Upkeep, cleanliness and overall appearance
I was looking forward to my stay at the Steigenberger Potsdam due to the reputation of the company and previous experiences in other cities, however this stay was a let down on so many levels, especially when it comes to cleanliness and comforts. The bathroom was in really bad shape, with way to much wear, mold and dirt for a 4 star property. The hallway carpet and hallway in general was really run down. The lovely front desk staff made up for some. However when told renovations are coming in 2018/19, that may be a little late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Norman Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with us. We are very sorry, that you were disapointed with your recent stay with us. We will evaluate the critical points you mentioned with the responsible department. We would be glad to get a second chance. With best regards, Norman Mark - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Friendly staff, big room, great breakfast, central

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Nothing was too much trouble, easy to reach from train station on tram 91, quiet and central to parks, shops, restaurants. Very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon. Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam, Norman Mark – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester England

Lovely character hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The room was spotlessly clean, and very pleasant. The hotel has lovely individual feel to it and is the the prefect location close to everything in Potsdam
Cons: Bathroom may be a little dated, but this was not a problem for us
Location: Easy to get into Berlin on the train, lovely town and 5 mins from Park sans succi
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Steigenberger Potsdam, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, thanks for the review of your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are very pleased, that you have enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our hotel and would be pleased, if you visit again our hotel. With best wishes and kindly regards from Potsdam, Norman Mark – General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Liebe Gäste, schön, dass Sie sich in Potsdam und unserem Haus wohlgefühlt haben und mit Ihrer Bewertung weitergeben. Hierfür unseren herzlichen Dank an Sie verbunden mit dem Wunsch, Sie bald wieder im Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen aus Potsdam, Ihr Gastgeber Norman Mark – General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will definitely return

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
My stay in the hotel was absolutely pleasant. The staff are very helpful. The room is well decorated and elegant and the bed is comfy. We enjoyed the tasty breakfast in the courtyard very much. Sauna is another great highlight and we had a great time. Already looking forward to staying in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon. Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam, Norman Mark – General Manager
4 out of 5
by Paola

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Liebe Paola, schön, dass Sie sich in Potsdam und unserem Haus wohlgefühlt haben und mit Ihrer Bewertung weitergeben. Hierfür unseren herzlichen Dank an Sie verbunden mit dem Wunsch, Sie bald wieder im Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen aus Potsdam, Ihr Gastgeber Norman Mark – General Manager