Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo/ Athens

Nice cosy hotel in the heart of the gay district

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Very friendly hotel staff, and helpful to the max, as much as they can. One can walk anywhere, wether shopping, bars, or even sight seeing. Public transportation are reachable, and parking spaces can easily being found in case one decides to rent a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Nice hotel, great location for a gay Berlin visit

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: A light refreshment of the facility, as the building is old.
Location: Just next to all the best gay locations in town - bars (Tom's, Hafen, Jaxx, Heile Welt), shops (Bruno's), restaurants and more.
Nice staff, the room was very comfortable and clean. I was offered a room with a balcony so I could smoke freely. The location is perfect for your gay visit to Berlin - just steps away from the best gay bars, clubs and shops. Just a short walk from the U train station - conveniently connecting you to all parts of the city. The hotel itself is located in a mixed building containing offices, so you get a large set of keys. The building is old but I liked it. The elevator is very slow. The room was specious enough, with a double bed and a sofa. The shower was clean, with daily supply of soap, towels, shampoo etc. Two bottles of water (still and sparkling) were provided on a daily basis which was a very nice touch. Overall - I really enjoyed my stay there and if the rate is right - I would definitely consider coming back for my next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Great location but smoke in room and homophobic

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: This property has a business model problem. The main customers for the hotel are middle aged gay men, but the bar is a twins only bar.
First trip to Berlin. Chose Toms to be close to gay bars and close to city. Top pluses: 1. Location is great for both sightseeing and going out at night. Romeo and Romeo cafe across the street is a MUST - loads of gay men and makes you feel welcome. 3. Great place to be for New Years. 4. Room was quiet and clean. Top negatives: 1. Rooms are above a smoking permitted sex cinema which means as the evening wears on, you room becomes more and more smokey. Each night Room 13 felt like at least 4 people had smoked cigarettes in there. 2. Others described the bouncer at Toms bar as racist. We also got rejected and we're white. Felt very ageist and homophobic - mainly as the middle aged bouncer looks you up and down (in a creepy way) then tells you it's a private party. 3. All rooms up a flight of stairs. If mobility challenged could be a deal breaker.
5 out of 5
by vig

good

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
nice and kind reception
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Apartment in the center of the gay district

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome location at the center of the gay district. Bars, clubs, shopping, dining, as well as public transportation within easy walking distance. Helpful staff. Modern furniture (IKEA bed), little kitchenette, tiny bath. Couple of minor issues in the bath, like a broken light, wires where a vanity lamp should be, and the shower head leaked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room, very unpleasant staY.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing Berlin was amazing, just would not stay in these conditions again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for price and location

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
I definitely recommend this hotel. Reception is open from 10am to 10pm and very friendly. The entrance is separate from reception so you can come and go with guests at your convenience. This hotel is located in the heart of the gay area. Close to everything, including the Underground. Below is a gay bar and many other Gay bars in the area. The room was modern and clean with two lockers with keys for valuables. A small refrigerator would have made the room almost perfect. The bathroom was newly redone, modern and spacious. The walls to the hotel are quite thin so I could hear others in the hotel, but that is not a problem for me. I stayed on the street side and I enjoyed hearing the hustle and bustle outside my window. There is no restaurant and no room service, but for a late night bite the hotel is only a short walk from many food vendors down the street at most hours. The complimentary bottles of water were a nice touch. The free WIFI worked great! When I go back to Berlin, I will be staying here!! Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Floors were creaky, beds ok, facilities ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent location but be warned!

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Toms is an excellent location, but be warned it can be noisy as two bars were directly underneath (though I was mostly in them!) Room was great as I had the only balcony, but was slightly tired and grimey in places, though main parts were clean. I would stay here again, but will try others first.