Ratings based on 1,608 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Richard from Evergreen

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was easy to get to by car without all the traffic and getting lost. We chose an upgraded larger room, which really made the stay enjoyable. Really tasty breakfast with lots of variety, and a carafe of hot coffee waiting on each individual breakfast table was the best! The outdoor Market a couple blocks away was amazing. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Rui from Brussels

A good choice!

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to stay when in town! Have been to this hotel a few times and it's always been a good choice. A big plus for their buffet breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Berlin Break

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: room size was good
Cons: staff need to be trained in how to be polite and helpful to its customers, and add air conditioning
Location: Location was good tram and trains are within 5 minute walk, plenty of nice eateries within a 5 minute walk, local shops within a couple of minutes,
we booked this hotel as it looked nice and was supposed to be a 4 star, we had booked a smoking room and paid for it through Expedia, got to the hotel and they wanted additional £120 and argued with us even when I had shown the booking confirmation, very rude staff, the room was ok not a 4 star room, no air conditioning, bathroom had sewage smell coming from the sink and shower drains, shower leaked, very poor TV channels only news channels in English. Breakfast was very good, lots to choose from, the staff were helpful, Bar staff rude and ignored you so we did not bother trying the restaurant and tried local eateries
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by NG, Hotel Management
Dear Lee, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Nicole Gundermann Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Johan from London

Great stay with excellent staff and brakfast

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
I went to Berlin for 2 weeks of work. I stayed the entire duration in the same hotel and I couldn't be more satified. Very good price but more importantly. Super clean, very nice personnel and a great selection for breakfast. Possibly best coffee I've had. It's a few min walk to a big S and U-bahn hub as well as a tram system so it's easy to get around. Highly recommended for family or business!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Cons: Breakfast - better coffee, pastries tasted like cardboard.
Location: Warschauerstrasse is the nearest u-bahn and s-bahn. It's about a ten minute walk from the hotel and is well connected.
Good location, in hip Friedrichshain but in a quiet corner. Very close to Berghain if you want to try your luck! Staff were friendly and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast looked good but I didn't really like the way any of it tasted. If I stayed again I wouldn't have breakfast and would just go for brunch in a nearby cafe.
5 out of 5
by Susara from New Jersey

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The problem with the reservation was immediately sorted out. We had a very nice stay there
5 out of 5
by Brett from Cambridge

Welcoming Oasis on the east side of berlin

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfasts were great and the time to have them wasn't too early. Great roof top garden with sun etc. Very welcoming and friendly staff who were so helpful when leaving for the airport i.e. booking taxi/wake-up call and prepared breakfast which I didn't even ask for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great hotel in the Friedrichshain area of Berlin.

Posted May 2, 2016
Friedrichshain is a fantastic area in Berlin. Upstalsboom hotel is a 10 min walk over the spree river into Kreutzberg. Transport links are great and Berlin is just a fantastic city :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bicester, UK

Clean, near to attractions and quiet rooms

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: All of the above
Cons: Tea making facilities in room and considering the amount of people at breakfast I think there needs to be more than ONE toaster and one that works.
Location: Ideal for Punk and Disorderly as well as the Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and other attractions as you can walk from the hotel.
Friendly staff, clean rooms and pleasant surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Harsh B.

Good for a short break

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Clean, comfortable hotel. A little out of the centre, but very good transportation in Berlin, more than compensate for this.