Ratings based on 1,847 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Excellent location

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Many amenties to choose from and the service was always exceptional.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be improved.
Location: The hotel is very close to Horseshoe Bay and the hotel has their own beach cabana/restaurant/tennis courts adjacent to Horseshoe bay.
Great location if you want to be close to the beach and sightseeing /shopping at the dockyards. A good number of restaurants nearby or on the property. Enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff at the Fairmont has never disappointed us with their kind and hospitable service. Would highly recommend this hotel if your stay involves a number of activities located in the west end of the island as well as Hamilton. There is a hotel ferry service which can transfer you to the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Short walk to the beach, the chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas, and staff that served food and drinks on the beach. Good cocktails at Jasmine.
Cons: Service attitude, designated areas for adults only, and updating the property. Looks like it was last decorated in the '80s.
The hotel itself is outdated and should be remodeled / refurnished. Not up to par with other Fairmont properties. I found the staff, on average, to be unfriendly, unhelpful, or just plain rude. For example, I wouldn't expect the beach towel lady at a 4.5 star hotel to be snippy when I asked for 2 towels, instead of the 1 towel she offered. I got the feeling that employees are unhappy here and take it out on the guests, whether intentionally or unintentionally. Perhaps new management is needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mattituck,N.Y.

Most Perfect Vacation Location and Experience

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The staff was so attentive to your every desire. Everyone kept asking is there was anything to make the stay more pleasant.Food was great. Clean rooms
Cons: Not a single thing unless someone can control the possibility of a chance shower.
Location: Located atop one of the highest spots on the island next to the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse you have a panoramic view of the island.Beach,swim, scuba dive.
This was a family vacation and everything was so wonderful. Warmly welcomed and our room was on the 4th floor with a view of the Gibbs Lighthouse and the Golf Course. This hotel has just had an upgrade to make it so pleasant. I made contact with the concierge service several times to ask about restaurants and connections to near by attractions. The staff could not have been nicer and so informative. I played two rounds of golf on the property. My suggestion is to bring a few sleeves of balls with you. I managed to loose three balls in the shrubs.The par 3 is challenging. The hotel provides a shuttle service all day delivering you to the beach or to golf or to the local bus service on the island. The hotel also provides a free ferry service to the city of Hamilton which is a wonderful place to visit. Hamilton is the hub for bus service across the island. The private beach is clean and has free towels and chairs and umbrellas available. There is a dive company working from this area if interested. Food may be purchased here and there are changing rooms also.There are several restaurants you should investigate prior to arriving depending on your tastes. Make your reservations when you arrive as they fill up quickly. Tipping is not an issue as where ever we went the tip was included in the billing at the hotel or in town. Food and wine can be expensive so we purchased both while in Hamilton. This is a first class hotel and you will be treated with great respect while here. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax nova scotia canada

Very nice and great beach so close

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Great stay food great, view great over all experience excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way over price for what you get!

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Cons: The food at breakfast.
Location: Beach is a ten minute walk or you can wait for the shuttle.
The food here wasn't very good, breakfast was terrible and way over priced! The Bacci Italian restaurant was very good and service was wonderful and was the only restaurant worth going to on the property. Nothing special about the beach or pool. Not much to do at the hotel. If you stay here definitely rent a scooter so you can go to other parts of the island to eat and tour.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch

Posted Apr 26, 2016
We booked a room with an ocean view but were given an obstructed bay view instead. When we asked to change they gave us a better bay view but still not an ocean view. They said we would have to pay more to get that type of room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little far out, but hotel restaurants very good.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Complete services and close to beach.
Cons: Enjoyed the hotel.
Location: Location away from city but very close to beach/ocean. Most Bermuda attractions were not nearby but easily accessible on public bus service and taxi.
Hotel was great and Bermuda public bus service great and accommodating to tourists. Cabs courteous but expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016
We were there for a wedding so we did not spend that much time at the hotel. We did enjoy breakfast there, and enjoy the staff in the bar lobby. The maid who cleaned our room was very friendly as all of the staff. We did not get a chance to go to the beach, but heard many wonderful things about the area there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Great place to stay whether for one day or more!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Was in Bermuda for work and had to stay somewhere in the middle of the island for convenience. Has a free ferry to Hamilton, takes about 30 minutes, food was great, staff accommodating. I will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Southampton Fairmont

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location, natural beauty and friendly staff
Cons: Facility is becoming stale and lacks new investment for a high priced facility
Beautiful historic property with attentive staff, and great facility. The property is clean and well kept up but has become dated. The lack of fresh investment is evident especially in the shops and restaurants. Avoid the Gastro Pub!