Ratings based on 1,912 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everyone was friendly - helpful - and pleasant.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: What's not to like?!
Location: Go to hike, relax, snorkel, swim, eat - everyone we met was smiling!
We had a magnificent view of the ocean. The linens - pillows - robes - were luxurious. Food was very good. Staff was extremely accommodating - when our plane was cancelled they kept us in our same room an additional day and gave us great service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Beautiful beaches!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros and cons to every vacation! Bermuda is BEAUTIFUL, SAFE, AND CLEAN! You can't go wrong with the scenery. Our cab driver from the airport to the hotel was RUDE! Told me I needed to think before I asked questions and when I inquired which beach we just passed he said I didn't need to know since I wouldn't remember. Everyone else we encountered was nice and seemed proud of their island. When checking into the hotel they didn't orient us at all. The hotel is nice but lacks atmosphere. Their is no music at the pools or entertainment any where. Bermuda is the most EXPENSIVE island I have EVER been too. A simple lunch of burgers for 4 and 2 drinks=$265.00. Ouch. It was beautiful and glad I went but probably wouldn't go back due to cost. Cruising their would perhaps be a more affordable way to visit Bermuda because it was beautiful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, New Jersey

Beautiful hotel and setting

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: More supportive pillows and less expensive meal alternatives
Location: The location is in a beautiful section of Bermuda. The front desk sells bus tokens and we took the bus to town, transferred and went to the aquarium.
We had a wonderful stay . The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The trolley at the hotel took us to the beach and down the hill to take a bus to the aquarium. Only 2 recommendations: more comfortable pillows that have more support. The mattress was great. Also, the food is very expensive. We wish there was more variety and less expensive alternatives. We understand that the majority of the food has to be imported and custom taxes are applied. The beach is beautiful and towels and chairs were provided. We had dinner at the Waterlot Inn and the meal was one of the best I ever have eaten. I will definitely return to the Fairmont Southhampton in the future. Thank-you Expedia for coordinating our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Sue C, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing feedback on your visit to Fairmont Southampton. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The shuttles made the trip to the beach easy. Of course it would have been nice not to need a shuttle and had the beach closer.
Cons: Check in is late. We waited until 4pm and our room was still not ready until 4:30. It was nice they comp'ed us drinks at the bar.
Location: Very close to beautiful Horseshoe Bay.
Fairmont is a great hotel with a friendly, helpful staff. There is a wide range of good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Sue C, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. Our team is delighted to receive your positive comments and we certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Fairmont Southampton. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location for visiting Bermuda

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The location, the availability of shopping and scuba diving and the beach.
Cons: It would be great if one of the restaurants was adult only. Kids spoiled a nice dinner in the Gastro pub
Location: Private beach, SCUBA insite, great shops in hotel adn the Dock yard is 30 mintues away
This was our second trip to Bermuda and we had stayed in St. George. That is a great place but makes the visiting of the rest of the Island a little more difficult (but the island is only an hour from end to end!). The Fairmont is central and has many in house features such as pool, spa, several restaurants and private beaches. The SCUBA shop is on site and dive sites are 15 minutes off shore. There are shuttles to bus stops which service the Dock yard and other areas of the island as well as a complimentary ferry to Hamilton. The island and the hotel are on the pricey side but well worth it for a great stay. The staff were very welcoming and always addressed you by name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Sue C, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to Fairmont Southampton and we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Please know that your review has been shared with our colleagues who certainly appreciate receiving your comments and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful property, excellent service

Posted Sep 29, 2016
It's pricey (17% gratuity added to everything), but you do get what you pay for...excellent service (every staff member greets you), nice pools and beach club, lots of different restaurant options around the resort offering different experiences so you dont need to leave the resort). Complimentary ferry service to Hamilton was great: we spent a few hours there then took a paid ($4.50) ferry to Dockyard (also very scenic), spent some time there and then took the No. 7 bus back to the resort. My only recommendation is that they play better music as most travelers there are looking for an island vibe. You could barely hear the music at the beach club bar (even when sitting at the bar!), so not inviting for drinks. Also, a happy hour special around 4-5 would have been nice and def kept guests there longer. They could def take some lessons on beachside entertainment from the bar that is situated adjacent to the beach club in Horseshoe Bay (they played nice reggae and soca music and also had a live steel pan music player). Otherwise, the resort is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of paradise

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Call the exterminator
Location: We took the Hidden Gems of Bermuda tour which was very pleasant.
Loved the staff, loved the shuttle bus constantly running to and from the beach. The many places to eat in the hotel were good if somewhat overpriced. We saw a large water bug in our room, which was not pleasant. Otherwise, this is a lovely place to spend a vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Anna B. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback. Good to hear that you had a nice experience at our resort in island-paradise. Apologies that you found a pest in your room - bugs are a common phenomenon due to the subtropical climate in Bermuda. They often come in when balcony doors are left open. Our housekeeping teams are trained to identify & eliminate pests, and we value keeping our rooms at a high standard, with a full bill of cleanliness from the Bermuda Department of Health. Kind regards Anna B. Marketing & Sales Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewYork

So relaxing, just what we needed

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Everything was convenient , we never left the property
Checked in right away and spent our first afternoon at the beach. We were spoiled staying on the gold floor. Enjoyed all the extras but the rest of the resort was fantastic. We can't say enough about the staff especially Kim and Imani, they were friendly and very helpful. We hope to come back next fall with our family
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear jane, Thank you for your review. We are glad you spend some good moments at the Fairmont Southampton. We will definitely pass-on the good words to Kim and Imani on Fairmont Gold. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort. Kindest regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Excellent hotel that has a great location with an excellent staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Anna B., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience. Kind regards, Anna B. Marketing & Sales Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

Better Than Expected

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything! Our room was on sale when we booked and we definitely got bang for our buck!!
Location: Hamilton is 45 minutes away (shopping and dining), the beach is right across the street, the caves are 45 minutes away.
Reviews are about 50/50 for all the hotels on the island. We had a last minute four day trip to Bermuda and my choices were this hotel, Elbow Beach and the Reefs. My husband wanted to stay at Grotto Bay (and we were glad it was booked once we visited) The Fairmont is beautiful! The staff was friendly and the walk to the beach (or you can shuttle) was minimal (a little exercise is good for you, even on vacation). We stayed on the concierge level with a sea view. No obstructions to the view as it is the highest level. The room was huge and the bathroom was great. The concierge level is the way to go if possible. It saved us a lot of money on eating out (dining is a bit disappointing as the cost to quality ratio is off) as they offer a nice breakfast and four other snacking opportunities. If we return to Bermuda, we will definitely stay here. We were also allowed a late check-out which was super. NOTE: stay away from the mopeds if you've never ridden one - I became inducted into the "road rash" club and would have rather not!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, I appreciated reading your review. Thank you for sharing. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Indeed, the concierge level Fairmont Gold offers a great product. Not only we serve food at four different moments of the day but also differentiates itself with the extra pampered service that is provided. Thank you again for the great review and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on the island. Regards.