Ratings based on 2,055 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointed

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, food in the various restaurants around the hotel is good. If you don't enjoy the hotel private beach, other cool beaches close by.
Cons: Wish I had been told ahead of time if holding of a convention is expected to negatively affect / degrade the experience of other guests.
Location: Every stretch of Bermuda, from St George to Southampton, is worth visiting. Either rent bikes, or hire a friendly taxi driver.
My wife and I visit Bermuda regularly and were looking forward to a lazy stay for a change - 4 days at this hotel. We were frankly disappointed. On our first day on the hotel private beach, we could hardly swim because the water was full of sea weeds. While Horseshoe Beach, 100 yards away, was completely clean, the hotel staff did not attend to it until late in the afternoon. On the second day, contractors were pruning the palm trees - which is ok if you don't mind non-stop chainsaw. The last two days were totally spoiled by the presence of a large seminar/convention at the hotel : access to the beach reserved to the seminar attendants in the late afternoon (but with a band apparently testing sound / rehearsing all afternoon), and, as a bonus, a loud party dinner in the garden just under our windows late into the night. I am honestly not picky, pretty patient and understanding in general (and this may very well have been bad luck), but I have stayed in a lot of top-tier hotels and this is the only time I accumulated that many frustrations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear JB, Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. However, I am sorry you encountered issues with your stay. You can be certain those were already addressed as we understood especially those situations at the beach created issues. In regards to the issue you had with the group, again please accept my apologies. I can understand how you might have felt. This is not the usual situation as we normally provide great experiences to our individual guests as well. Again, we appreciate the feedback and are working to make sure these situations do not repeat themselves so we can welcome you again in Bermuda with a much more positive overall outcome. Sincerely, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel - convenient location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Very nice hotel in a good location. We happened to be there during America's Cup and found the location very accessible. Great pool, restaurants, and gym. Great shuttle service. Small private beach but right next door to Horseshoe Beach. Not sure how you could research and avoid it, but the cruise ships were in town at the end of our stay and Horseshoe beach was mobbed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Cons: Offsite transportation - unorganized.
We had an awesome visit for the America's Cup in Bermuda and stayed at the Fairmont Southampton which is an amazing facility with great amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us during America's Cup. I will definitely look into the offsite transportation and see how we can improve. Again, thank you for the feedback. Warm regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

The staff and food were both amazing

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The restaurants. The Rum Cellar was fantastic. A great find on the premises!
Cons: My only complaint was that the lobby floor was freezing! Otherwise, no improvements necessary.
We had a wonderful time in Bermuda; especially at the Fairmont Southampton. The staff were extremely friendly, personable, and helpful. The food and service we had at each of the restaurants was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear LD, What a great comment. Nothing to improve except for the temperature on the lobby floor. That is a great compliment... I will personally look into this issue right away! More seriously, we definitely appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Super Relaxing Vacation

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The shuttles to the beach are great and the ferry to Hamilton doubles as an enjoyable harbor cruise. The Turtle golf course is fun and challenging.
Location: The south shore beaches are very close, Port Royal golf course is very close, there are numerous restaurants and it is easy to go to Hamilton be ferry
We recently stayed for 10 days in May, we had a great vacation. The staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating, including dealing with special requests for a mattress (one of us has a bad back) which was dealt with personally by Stephan the assistant manager of the hotel, to special food requests in Jasmine restaurant which were seen to personally by Suresh the manager (the rest of the waiters were great as well). The food at breakfast was very good and the menu at Jasmine was very tasty with a lot of variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Right at Horseshoe Bay. Unbelievable restaurants

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Just a quick 21st anniversary weekend. Place was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Jimmy Keys, Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. Congratulations on your 21st anniversary. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of those celebrations. We are glad you had a good time. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you and your wife again soon. Warm regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Great facilities, restaurants, and staff. Comfortable clean rooms, and shuttle services
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the review. We appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed our resort. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future! Warm regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tyngsboro, Ma

Great hotel overlooking the Bermuda cup races!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: Nothing could be improved. It was perfect!
Excellent service, cleanliness and perfect getaway for a long weekend. So pleased we are going back. Went to Fairmont over Memorial Day weekend. We'll do it every year from now on!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thanks for the great review. This is great to hear. I am glad you enjoyed the Fairmont Southampton and your experience in Bermuda. We are happy to become your annual experience. See you next year! Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but Not worth the money

Posted Jun 4, 2017
When I checked in I was offerrred a up graded room for a additional $75 a night. I decided to take this upgrade however wish I did not. The room I was given was dirty , the view was. I've however not worth the extra money. I just was not impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel. My expectations were high but felt disappointed about what I got. It is a nice hotel just not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dayton, ohio

AMAZING

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Loved all the beaches nearby and the laid back atmosphere.
We were Hawaii people and were sold on Bermuda. The Southampton Fairmont was a WOW for us, loved the amenities. Keep it up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck, Thank you for the great comment. We are glad you liked it so much that we sold you Bermuda! We look forward to welcome you again soon on the island. Sincerely, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton