Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hamilton princess

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: they own a private beach and the jittney takes you there with no additional charge. they have kayaks, paddle boards, floats, a restaurant, chairs. etc
Location: perfect location, could walk to bus stop, ferry location, shops, restaurants and grocery stores.
the entire staff were so nice and helpful.beautiful hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Beautiful hotel with lots of conveniences

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This was our first trip to Bermuda and we were not disappointed! The Hamilton Princess is gorgeous and had so many conveniences. Shuttle to the private beach throughout the day was key for family. On weekend nights the Beach Club stays open late so you can enjoy dinner and music. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review and photos! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a great location close to town

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Great Service, cleanliness, location to shops/restaurants
Cons: need a larger area for lounge chairs by the pool. Very expensive to eat here.
Location: Shopping. Restaurants: Pickled Onion, Red, Barracuda. Ferry is walking distance.
Hotel was very nice. The only negative is that the pool gets very crowded and almost impossible to find chairs. The private beach is nice and a 20 minute free shuttle ride away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us again for your next trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Staff nice, hotel condition not so much

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: That section of rooms needs to be upgraded.
We were put in Room 038. Initially, we found the door to the room unlocked. Turns out you really had to push/pull to get it closed completely. The bathroom door didn't close completely and we resolved that by pushing a small towel under the door once it was closed to keep it that way. My daughter wound up complaining about her back hurting from the bed. A fairly common lament in hotels until a cleaning lady said that a couple of springs were broken in the mattress and they were replacing it after we checked out. The walls between rooms are also fairly thin. Truthfully, I should have complained initially but we had unpacked and I didn't want to move to another room and repeat the experience with unpredictable results. Another sobering experience was late on the first night we wanted to get some milk and a couple of diet cokes. It was around 11pm and there are no vending machines. I was told by the front desk to go into the bar area and they would take care of me. They did but want to guess the price of two cans of diet coke and a glass of milk -- $17 dollars, REALLY !! The actual staff was very nice and considerate but the hotel room was not worth the money. I won't stay there again nor will I recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you had said something upon arrival so we could have put you and your family in a more comfortable room. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - great private beach club

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I have nothing negative to say about this hotel aside from they should have much more seating at the adult pool with so much wasted space and more chairs at the infinity pool. Also it's ridiculous you can have access from pool to gym where there is a door to enter but your key card won't work to let you in which makes no sense, they def need to change that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience of the key card not working for the gate by the pool. We will work hard to fix the problem you experienced. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Windsor, NJ

Hotel next to the shopping in Hamilton

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Next to the shops and restaurants of Hamilton
Comfortable stay. The beach though 20 minutes away was beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PC200 Boston

Nice hotel but bad housekeeping & pricy.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Overall nice hotel but expensive for what you get. Rooms are comfortable but bad housekeeping service. Liked the pool. Poor check in. Didn't get room until after 5pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had while checking in and the inconvenience of your room not being ready but are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Beautiful pool and marina view. Wish it was closer to the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Private Beach
Cons: Service was very disappointing
There was sand in the bed between the linens upon arrival. Room service was very disappointing and staff disorganized.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Love this hotel - the refurbishments over the past few years are amazing - new pool, new spa, new marina. Hotel staff are excellent - the whole island has really embraced the Americas' Cup experience and has ensured the excellent level of attention and service has continued.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.