Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastisk beliggenhed, meget slidte værelser.

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastisk beliggenhed, meget slidte værelser. Morgenmaden blev serveret ved poolkanten, men der var alt for lidt. Flere gæster fik slet ikke noget.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario,canada

Do not stay at Surfside cottages

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We booked at Surfside for 8 nights and left after three. The cottages are run down, outdated, nails sticking out on railing, peeling paint and mold. No beach at all, pool dirty and place is falling apart. The only reason we stayed 3 nights is due to a long weekend and booked solid everywhere else. I advise that you stay elsewhere and not waste $.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Paradise at a value price

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. South shore is the best in Bermuda. Quiet. Nice clean room. Exceptional price for what you get. Pool was perfect.
Cons: Some painting, maintenance issues, but largely cosmetic stuff. Grounds were well kept-up.
Location: Close to everything. Snorkeling is good at their beach, better in other places but a nice short walk for a morning, or evening swim.
We have been coming to Bermuda for 35 years. We have stayed in a variety of hotels. This was our third stay at the Surf Side. We came for our honeymoon in 1980, stayed here again in 1985 and again this past week. We were pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us from the room we paid for to a private cottage right on the water (when I say that, we are at the top of the cliffs above the beach). The view astonishing, it was quiet and the room nice. Understand that Bermuda is paradise. We don't stay in the room much, but this cottage had a private kitchen, so we went to the Modern Mart and bought groceries, and thus cooked some quick meals in the room, which saved money and allowed us to enjoy the lovely scenery. When we stayed in the 80's the place was pristeen. Since then, the maintenance is lacking. You will see peeling paint, handrails in deterioration, and some open electrical boxes, but overall a good value on the south shore beaches, which is where you want to be. We'll be staying here again, I'm sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stafford

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2015
This place blew us away when we saw the views and private beach!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why go anywhere else?

Posted Aug 21, 2015
We have been coming back to Surf Side for several years now. Gorgeous views from the room, nobody bothers you, and it's just a short walk to the most idyllic beach you have ever seen. Fully functioning kitchenette means you can eat your meals quietly and peacefully on the balcony looking out onto the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor condition

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
The best thing about the hotel is it's location and access to a private beach (and a pool, if you care). However, the hotel itself is fairly run down, probably not remodeled for over 10 years. The TV was at ver 10 years old, the A/C is a wall unit that blows directly against the bed, so couldn't really leave running at night, coffee maker was pretty aged as well. There is no additional amenities, such as a restaurant or breakfast bar/cafe on the premises. The bed was sold as kind, but was really two adjoined twins and was too short for me (6'3"). You can walk to the nearest gas station for snack but there really isn't a proper restaurant place nearby unless you hop on the bus or taxi. The staff was friendly and helpful when needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

central location. good for the cost.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Central access, Laundry, and kitchen facilities. Staff.
Hotel requires small updates to room and in room amenities.
4 out of 5
by Janet

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable, clean, neat,great view. Needed to follow up just a few times with housekeeping to just get the basic toiletries, i.e. soap. Management should make available shower soap, not just hand-soap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Surfside...we look forward to having you back as our guest!
5 out of 5
by Denis R from Orlando, FL

Bermuda so beautiful!

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Bermuda is beautiful! We enjoyed our stay and friends gave us a royal tour of the island. We slept very well in our villa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
So glad you had such a great stay at Surfside and enjoyed all the beauty of Bermuda! We look forward to seeing you back soon again as our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good, everything else bad

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Kitchen, rooms are big. Service with a smile.
Cons: Replace furniture, TV, and seal off doors to keep bugs out. Overall maintenance everywhere.
Location: Great location central to many things. Gas station has lots of good options if you want to cook a bit your own, and the Swizzle Inn 2 is a close walk.
Location is great - close to beach, ideal central location on the island. However, the room itself was outdated. No bed skirt, king bed is really two twins. Biggest problem was realized on the last night when I couldn't sleep - numerous bugs find their way into the room at night. Saw many centipedes hanging out on the floor and had an ant fall on me from the ceiling while I was trying to fall asleep. We had what looked to be a broken umbrella out on our patio. Generally a "roughing it" kind of place, best for those people who will spend the rest of their stay around the island. Pool is small and not particularly well kept up. Having a kitchen is nice, though. Biggest part of my complaint is that this is clearly a hotel that thrived 10 years ago but has not been kept up, unfortunately. Also, TV is an old tiny tube TV, and our phone stayed broken for our stay.