Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario,canada

Do not stay at Surfside cottages

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We booked at Surfside for 8 nights and left after three. The cottages are run down, outdated, nails sticking out on railing, peeling paint and mold. No beach at all, pool dirty and place is falling apart. The only reason we stayed 3 nights is due to a long weekend and booked solid everywhere else. I advise that you stay elsewhere and not waste $.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Paradise at a value price

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. South shore is the best in Bermuda. Quiet. Nice clean room. Exceptional price for what you get. Pool was perfect.
Cons: Some painting, maintenance issues, but largely cosmetic stuff. Grounds were well kept-up.
Location: Close to everything. Snorkeling is good at their beach, better in other places but a nice short walk for a morning, or evening swim.
We have been coming to Bermuda for 35 years. We have stayed in a variety of hotels. This was our third stay at the Surf Side. We came for our honeymoon in 1980, stayed here again in 1985 and again this past week. We were pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us from the room we paid for to a private cottage right on the water (when I say that, we are at the top of the cliffs above the beach). The view astonishing, it was quiet and the room nice. Understand that Bermuda is paradise. We don't stay in the room much, but this cottage had a private kitchen, so we went to the Modern Mart and bought groceries, and thus cooked some quick meals in the room, which saved money and allowed us to enjoy the lovely scenery. When we stayed in the 80's the place was pristeen. Since then, the maintenance is lacking. You will see peeling paint, handrails in deterioration, and some open electrical boxes, but overall a good value on the south shore beaches, which is where you want to be. We'll be staying here again, I'm sure.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stafford

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2015
This place blew us away when we saw the views and private beach!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why go anywhere else?

Posted Aug 21, 2015
We have been coming back to Surf Side for several years now. Gorgeous views from the room, nobody bothers you, and it's just a short walk to the most idyllic beach you have ever seen. Fully functioning kitchenette means you can eat your meals quietly and peacefully on the balcony looking out onto the ocean.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

central location. good for the cost.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Central access, Laundry, and kitchen facilities. Staff.
Hotel requires small updates to room and in room amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good, everything else bad

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Kitchen, rooms are big. Service with a smile.
Cons: Replace furniture, TV, and seal off doors to keep bugs out. Overall maintenance everywhere.
Location: Great location central to many things. Gas station has lots of good options if you want to cook a bit your own, and the Swizzle Inn 2 is a close walk.
Location is great - close to beach, ideal central location on the island. However, the room itself was outdated. No bed skirt, king bed is really two twins. Biggest problem was realized on the last night when I couldn't sleep - numerous bugs find their way into the room at night. Saw many centipedes hanging out on the floor and had an ant fall on me from the ceiling while I was trying to fall asleep. We had what looked to be a broken umbrella out on our patio. Generally a "roughing it" kind of place, best for those people who will spend the rest of their stay around the island. Pool is small and not particularly well kept up. Having a kitchen is nice, though. Biggest part of my complaint is that this is clearly a hotel that thrived 10 years ago but has not been kept up, unfortunately. Also, TV is an old tiny tube TV, and our phone stayed broken for our stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Exceptional ocean view from deck

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: View and spacious rooms
Cons: In need of renovations but cannot match the ocean view
Location: Good location, convenience store and nice Restaurent walking distance
Very satisfied overall....the view is really one of the best, something out of a movie at a much cheaper rate than other hotels, likely because it is older.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville

Lost in the 1970s

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Great location a bit of a struggle to get down to beach because of hurricane damage.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Not really. On bus route conveniently but staff ignorant as to time buses ran?
Poor maintenance chipping paint "king" bed only two twin pushed together. Long past its Conde Nast glory days. Disappointing to say the least. Walking back up drive from bus stop on main road dangerous after dark. No lights, fork in road uneven surface. Split in road has Spanish Bayonet palms planted in between.
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Steven from Chicago

A firm 3 stars overall.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a dated hotel, but it's cottage style is very common in Florida hotels of similar age. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you. But if you can handle a 1980s style cottage hotel, with a 5 star view, this might be for you.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Great Location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The Surf Side is a charming hotel. The staff is very nice and its wonderful to have a private beach. It's a beautiful location.
Cons: Its a shame they closed the restaurant. Also, some small points of maintenance would be good. Out door wouldn't open all the way.
Location: It has a private beach, which comes and goes with water conditions. Its close to a few restaurants and not too far, by taxi or scooter, from Hamilton
We had a great time. It's a pretty hotel with good service but by no means a luxury hotel.