Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but not a 4 star

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel is located in the city centre, close to the train station and shops. This was very convenient. We were provided with a free pass for travel in the city throughout our stay which was great. The room was spacious, the bathroom was nice but no toiletries were provided which is very unusual for a 4 star hotel. The key for the door was attached to a heavy metal keyring making it difficult to carry around so we had to leave it at the reception every day. The clock in the city centre chimed every 15 minutes throughout the night which might disturb light sleepers (like me). Overall, I feel that it is a satisfactory and functional hotel in the city centre but not sure it deserves the 4 star rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just adequate hotel with good location

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Hot food offerings on breakfast buffet were not good quality or varied in offerings. The interior of the hotel is very dated and needs refreshing.
Location: Location is in the old city center. Transportation to anywhere is excellent.
The people were very nice. The bed was very comfortable, but the temperature was control was not visible and there were only bed toppings for very cold conditions. The hotel is in need of a freshening up on the inside, it is very dated. There is no sound barrier so you hear every noise your neighbors make. Breakfast buffet was not good for the hot foods offerings. The rest of the buffet was fine. There are better choices in Bern.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carpet but nice location

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The locations is very good and don't need to walk so far for SBB Station and also the market. But the carpet seems very dirty coz me and my husband were feeling not very well of our noses in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOndon

Weekend in Bern

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Right in middle of old town with everything on your doorstep
Chose hotel as in middle of old town and 5 min walk to station, Impressive building with nicely decorated rooms. Only real drawback was 10am check-out time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Good hotel but cosier rooms

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Very well located in the city center.
This is a functional, clean hotel in a good location with friendly staff. The room could be cosier and more comfortable. Mine was tucked in a corner next to the elevators and I felt a bit like I was in the corridor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

City centre excellence

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Plenty of Bern's features are very close to the hotel along with a good selection of different types of restaurant and bar.
The hotel is perfectly positioned in Bern's old town. Ideal for walking through the old mediaeval streets yet but 8 minutes from the central station. Buses and trams pass very nearby. All staff are very friendly and courteous, especially in the breakfast room and dining area. The location in the old Volkshaus (1914) gives the hotel quite an additional attraction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Great Location and Value for Money

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Location and customer service
Location: Great shopping and variety of restaurants
Good location for restaurants and shopping. great service, Good breakfast buffet, Clean and spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location. Standard hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Staying in old town is a must when visiting Bern. The location was near lots of great restaurants and easy walking
Cons: Room was okay. And the bedding choice was not great. Pillows and blankets both
Location: Recommend a free walking tour of old town and visit bear park and the rise garden
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to train station

Posted Sep 18, 2016
As other reviewers mentioned, more of a 3 star than a 4. Pleasing stay though, room was a good size, price and location for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
We loved our stay in Bern. The room was lovely and dinner in the restaurant was the best. There was a lot of noise in the street but once we. Loved our windows we slept well.