Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NoVA, USA

Nice hotel in downtown Bern

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. I had problems connecting to the hotel wi-fi, but a young hotel staff fixed it.
Location: Rose Garden, Parliament building, Zytglogge Clock, and museums
Central location to Zurich, and other Switzerland cities. Less than 1 hour train ride to Interlaken and access to Bernese Overland for the Alps hiking (weather may be different in Bern and up the mountain). It's a better Best Western hotel than some I stayed in US. Hotel Card allows free bus-ride. Central location to Zurich, and other Switzerland cities. Einstein Museum is worth a visit. Rosengarten and bear park are two of many places worth the walk/climb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel was the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning but close to centre of Bern

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Close to centre of Bern ....... but then Bern is not exactly very large.
Cons: For a Best Western, I would have expected air con to be standard across the brand. One other expected item missing ....... no in-room safe !!!!??
Not impressed :( For a Best Western this hotel is old but cute however it lacks air conditioning and in-room safe which is a surprise for the brand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Andrea , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your highly appreciated Feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our Hotel. We do have in room safe, it is located in the cupboard. The key for the safe can be collected at the reception. We hope, to convince you at another stay in our Hotel. We are looking Forward to it. Best regards, Andrea Marbacher Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
This is a nice hotel facility with a great location in Bern. It is a few short blocks from the train station - a fairly easy walk, even pulling suitcases, over mostly smooth and level streets. It is also located within only a block or two of many of the interesting sites in Bern and there are numerous restaurants nearby. The rooms are comfortable, but not extravagant. Be forewarned, though, that like many hotels in Switzerland, the rooms are not air conditioned, but fans are provided. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We were warmly welcomed to the hotel and I was surprised at how quickly the staff seemed to remember us and our room number. We arrived before the posted check in time and they were able to provide us our room right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney ,Australia

Good hotel in the middle of Bern.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing that comes to mind.
Location: Convenient to the old historic part of Bern.
I arrived early ,before the official check in time and the very friendly and professional check in clerk allocated me to a room ready for immediate occupancy and also took great care to explain the hotel facilities and arrangements for parking. My room was comfortable and clean and I enjoyed my one night stay at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a great variety of good quality food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

good place for short business stay

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Location is great, parking is nearby.
Cons: neighborhood is noisy but you cant improve that, so proximity to attractions compensates disturbance caused by noise.
Location: great location, just in the center of all attractions.
great location but very noisy neighborhood. close proximity to shops and restaurants. would definitely recommend for short business stay. overall is ok, clean room , comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jane

Real shame about the noise

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was 'fine'. We were out and about for the time we were in Bern so we were using it just as a place to sleep.... unfortunately as the room was so hot we had to open the window but noise from the bar downstairs was so loud we couldn't sleep!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united states

Great location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Excellent location! Rooms showing age. Furnishings adequate but not plush or high quality.
5 out of 5
by babio5 from Australia

Central Bern

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, great service, room good.