Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by William

Passing through Bernardsville

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
We were in Bernardsville to see family and needed a place to stay. This place has a great vibe and my wife really appreciated the traditional furnishings and the historic building. The location is very convenient as well
4 out of 5
by David

Great hotel. Don't miss the restaurant.

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
The inn itself is a beautiful, old small town hotel with a very accomodating staff and an unbelievable restaurant. My only complaint is for the hotel vampires who need a dark room to sleep in. The windows use wood blinds so bring your eye shades of you are one of us.
4 out of 5
by michael

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable but somewhat expensive and no elevator to third floor which they call the second floor. No coffee or tea station in the room or room service necessitating a trip up and downstairs to get our own.
5 out of 5
by David

Best hotel in the area

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful, well appointed, comfortable inn. The room was lovely and charming and the restaurant is superb. I suppose my only nitpick is the bathroom is a little small.
4 out of 5
by Raymond

The Bernard's Inn Summer sojourn.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice two night stay for a couple, rooms are old as you might suspect, built in 1907 with just 20 rooms. The hotel has an old world feel, very nice restaurant and bar with very good service for the most part. Yes, I would consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was excellent, and it is a beautiful property.
5 out of 5
by jean


Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
We were delighted with everthing....what a beautiful Inn!!
2 out of 5
by Alex

Need new beds!!

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
We traveled to the area and thought we'd try the Inn. Quite a bit more expensive than the other hotels in the area, but we wanted to eat there and try something different. The room was ok, everything was very dated. The TV was hard to operate, the carpet floor was a bit dirty, but the kicker was the bed mattress. It was so old and used, it basically curved up on each side and had a huge dip in the middle. My wife being 6 months pregnant wasn't happy. So the concierge did move us to the next room over where the mattress was a bit better but still uncomfortable and old. We know this is more of a boutique, antique style hotel, but for $325 per night you'd think they could update the basic comforts like a bed and still keep the charm. Needless to say we stayed the following night down the road for half the price and it was great. I would recommend the restaurant but not to stay there.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Quite adequate."

Posted Apr 7, 2017
There is a welcoming, unaffected quality of American service that most people don't get to experience unless they belong to a private club or stay at hotels that cost about the same. Only spent a night there because neighbouring hotels were full, but the Bernard Inn made what I had anticipated to be a boring business trip to NJ a pleasantly memorable experience. If you need to be refreshed an "on" for a meeting in the area, you would be at a disadvantage if you did not stay here.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The hotel in and of itself is beautiful and the staff makes your stay even better. They go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and memorable.