Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Very quaint, but very small rooms. No elevator. Fantastic restaurant and beautiful lobby.
5 out of 5
by maria from Westhampton, NY

A classy hotel. Very impressed.

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful! Clean. They left delicious chocolate chip cookies in our room. They were the most delicious cookies I gave had! Really I mean it. The hotel is very classy. A delight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor FL

Quaint hotel with lots of old fashioned comfort

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: It was quaint and comfy. The restaurant was fantastic with great food and our waiter was funny and smart. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Update the equipment in the business center for business travelers. This is a nice hotel, very different than typical hotels I stay in for business.
Location: About 1/2 hour from Newark airport. We stayed there as it was close for the business meeting. Not sure what's nearby but the town looked quaint.
This is a beautiful hotel with nice old fashioned personality, an excellent staff and a fabulous restaurant on site. My colleagues and I stayed here for business nearby. It is more of a wedding hotel but they were very accommodating. Their business center is small but they didn't charge us to print a document with their old (think slow) printer so that was nice that they didn't charge. The facility is beautiful in an old fashioned way and the staff were super helpful. There is no elevator to the upper floors so that's nice to know if steps are a problem. I was fine with that but others might have issues. I really liked the quaintness of this hotel and would stay there again if I go back to this area for business. It looks like they do a lot of weddings here and I would think this would be a very nice location for a wedding! There were families staying there while we were there and it was quiet and a cozy almost homelike setting in the rooms.
5 out of 5
by Maria from Miami, fl

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We were stayed for the weekend for a family members wedding. The service and the food was excellent. The rooms are spacious and they provide you with complimentary cookies and fresh fruit every night. Local small shops and restaurants nearby with good food as well. Although time didn't a lot for venturing to far, It's situated in a very small town and not much to do in the immediate area.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Troy, Virginia

Awesome Inn, Awesome Staff, Awesome Location!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
This was a single evening stay on our way to an event in New York for the weekend. We selected the Inn based on past experience with the town. The Inn is historic and as such it has some of the associated things one would expect such as smaller rooms and stairs rather than elevators. To us this added to the experience rather than detract. The room was exceptionally clean and furnished well. We were at the road front and while there is some traffic and train noise we enjoyed hearing it as it was part of the experience and did not detract in the least bit. The staff at the hotel was awesome. Even though we stayed only the one night they allowed us to leave our vehicle in the private lot while we took the train to New York for 2 days. They did not have to do this but it was greatly appreciated. The breakfast at the hotel was terrific they only thing we noted was that we ordered too much! The meals were large and the food cooked just right. Our waiter was attentive and polite. Overall we could not have asked for a better all around experience and we will definitely stay at the Bernards Inn in the future.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin from Washington DC

Fantastic Historic Inn

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
I loved this place. Close to a lot of things, beautiful rooms and great service.
5 out of 5
by Salvatore from Brooklyn , NY

Transformed in gracious time

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Classy touches- silk bathrobe, fresh fruit delivered gratis to room, tasteful Decor, lovely "old world" setting with oil paintings, hallway seating.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Inn in the Center of Bernardsville

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Charm, staff, convenience.
Cons: An elevator. Although this would take away from the charm, it would sure help.
Location: Downtown Bernardsville.
Very charming. Great staff. Nice restaurant and bar off of the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Charming older Inn

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: We liked the history of the Inn and the old world charm. The bar and the restaurant were excellent.
Location: The Inn is in the center of Bernardsville. They provide a helpful list of things to enjoy in the surrounding area.
This is a charming older Inn with an interesting history. The lobby, bar, restaurant and outside patio are pleasant and welcoming. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was small but comfortable. We will return when visiting our daughters and their families in the area.